We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow what a difference !!!!”
Review of Riverhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riverhill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Birkenhead
Certificate of Excellence
southport
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow what a difference !!!!”
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

I have visited the riverhill for years and years but hadn't been since the new chef has been there I came with my elderly parents who live local the menu was very well balanced something for everyone very reasonable in price and a jolly nice atmosphere I was very very impressed and will be back as I just booked for Christmas I wanted Christmas Day but sadly they were fully booked I also liked the bar area with the fabulous art from the local area

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lighter11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen p, General Manager at Riverhill Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear guest
If was very nice to welcome you and your family back to the hotel and for you to take the time to give us your feedback on your visit, I do remember you dining with us and your parents who were both still very witty and full of life, we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in December to enjoy our 2013 Christmas menu offer, please do inform me on your arrival as we can share a drink of winter mead together
Kind regards
Steve
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    51
    29
    7
    7
See reviews for
78
85
12
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We have eaten here a few times and stayed just this once. Its got a nice dignified feel about , quite serene. Parking is easy and on site. Evening meal was a good choice and good quality.Plenty of room for all diners no squashing up to let people past.
The room we had was clean and adequate. Breakfast was very good with quality food. Check and check out fast ,accurate and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnniepk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen p, General Manager at Riverhill Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear guest, it is always pleasing to have your guests feedback for our full experience be so positive. We are glad that you enjoyed you evening dinner, overnight stay and breakfast the following morning. We have just launched new packages on our website for staying and dining if you are looking to repeat you experience. Please do give me a call directly if this interest you. We would like to offer you a 10% discount on any of the over night packages we offer. Kind regards. Steve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We visited riverhilll on 25th July to celebrate my wife's 50th birthday. The reviews on TA influenced me to book a table. My wife's food was fine however I ordered the pork which was over cooked and dry. This was obvious just by looking at it, so not sure why it left the kitchen. I asked. The waiter to take it back and ordered chicken instead. This was also overlooked. Very disappointing experience. I assumed that Clare wasn't in the kitchen on this night, as the food wouldn't have been allowed to go out. Wouldn't go back

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrnigeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lothian
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Unfortunately, my Aunt and I had to take a trip at short notice to Merseyside for a family funeral. I checked out a few places on here and late rooms and decided to go with the Riverhill, as it was very close to where my relatives live. I was a little anxious, as I read a few negative reviews on here, and it planted a seed of doubt. I need not have worried.

I found the Riverhill to be a charming and chic boutique style hotel, with some lovely touches and a beautifully appointed twin room. Every member of staff that we engaged with, we're polite, friendly and helpful.

Due to the nature of our visit, we only got to experience the breakfast service in the restaurant. This was more than acceptable, with a great range of fresh food on offer from the buffet and a hot and tasty cooked option. The evening menus looked extremely appealing, and were reasonably priced, we have already agreed with my cousin, that we will be trying out the restaurant for an evening meal the next time we visit.

Please do not let older poor reviews cause concern. I believe that the hotel has undertaken a radical shakedown, and from what I saw and experienced, it has produced a very nice, good value experience.

Room Tip: 22 is a quiet and shady twin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HyacinthBucket064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I had an excellent stay at the hotel. the room was lovely and very clean. the food in the restaurant is excellent and really good value. The staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to anyone either for business or pleasure.
I didn't use the swimming pool or fitness centre and that's why I haven't commented on those.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alison w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

I travel with my job 6 months of the year and stay in lots of hotels and eat in lots of restaurants all over Europe I have never stayed on the Wirral but a friend had recommended the Riverhill to me

On first impression it is a small black and white building very clean and well kept reception is modern but friendly and the staff were polite but welcoming and very helpful

I dined both nights I was there and was very impressed with the choice and price exceptionally good value for money
I actually met the chef as she came out of the kitchen at the end of the night again nice touch don't see that often I had the mackerel starter with beetroot and wasabi and the pork loin main course plates were hot and very tasty on my last evening I had the tasting menu as I'm a self confessed foodie which was outstanding
This was my first visit to the Wirral but will not be the last thank you to all the staff for making my stay so enjoyable

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spencey2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

My family and I have dined here many times and previously had good food but on this visit it was awful. The monkfish was over salted, the terrine starter my wife had was something out of Gordon Ramsey's Kitchen Nightmares, it was dry and seemed out of date. My fillet steak which was supposed to be cooked Medium was Rare. We had no dessert because we were so unhappy and for the two of us paid £74.50. When I politely mentioned to the head waiter he said about the terrine that the other 30 odd people were most happy with it and about the Monkfish that it was just seasoning. My wife loves her salt and if something tastes salty to her it must be excessively salted. Sadly this has made us decide to never return to this restaurant for two main points, the attitude when I complained and also the poor quality of the food.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paul z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen p, General Manager at Riverhill Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Dear guest
I am writing in response to your recent review of our restaurant, I remember that evening I was the manager who greeted you at the front desk when you asked if we had a table available as you had just been to a restaurant in New Brighton and your wife had found it too loud to dine in, and could we accommodate you that evening which we did ,I also was the person who took your dinner order and you first asked if you could have a lamb dish but wanted it very well done and very tender, I explained that we could do that for you but it may not be as tender as you would like so your wife chose the terrine and monk fish , you had scallops, & fillet steak , , when any guest are dinning with us, our staff check them at each course to ensure that everything is ok with their meal and if not we will respond to that , I went over to you at the end of your main course to see how you were enjoying your evening so far and to clear your dish as I could see that you had finished your meal as your plates were empty , and check everything was satisfactory , it was then you expressed that you were not happy with the monk fish as it was very salty yet you had both finished your meals completely , and I did comment that we had served a lot of portions of terrine that evening and all our other guests had enjoyed it , and I was surprised at your overall comments on TripAdvisor if you had identified your dissatisfaction at any course we would have happily changed your meal.
We always like our guest to feedback to us be it positive or negative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birkenhead
3.6 mi away
The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant
3.7 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
746 reviews
3.3 mi away
Village Hotel Wirral
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
1,154 reviews
3.4 mi away
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sunlight
280 reviews
2.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza  Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverhill Hotel

Property: Riverhill Hotel
Address: 19 Talbot Road, Birkenhead CH43 2HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Birkenhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Birkenhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverhill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Wirral Peninsula in its own peaceful grounds, this Victorian House Hotel is just 2 miles from Birkenhead, 4 miles from Liverpool and offers free Wi-Fi and on-site parking. Experienced hoteliers Nick and Michele Burn have owned the property since 1988, earning a gallery of industry awards in the process (including the prestigious Merseyside Small Hotel of the Year Award). They pride themselves on cultivating a comfortable and relaxed atmosphere coupled with friendly and attentive service. The highest 3-Star AA rated hotel in the Wirral area, the Hotel offers 14 en-suite rooms all of which are decorated and furnished to a very high standard. Each room includes free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, direct dial telephone, hairdryer, and tea & coffee making facilities. For those special occasions, the Hotel also offers two luxurious four-poster rooms. The Restaurant offers a tantalising selection of culinary delights from their diverse range of ever-changing menus. With professional impeccable service, guests are free to enjoy their meal amidst the beautiful splendour of the views over-looking the pretty lawns and gardens at the front of the hotel. Afterwards, why not indulge in a coffee or liqueur in the comfort of the hotel cocktail lounge? Located on the Wirral Peninsula in Merseyside, the Hotel is just a 5 minute drive from the M53, 2 miles from Birkinhead and just 4 miles from Liverpool. With excellent transport links and free on-site parking, it is both convenient and accessible. For those flying in, Liverpool's John Lennon airport is just 13 miles away. Wirral is often referred to as 'the leisure peninsula' and with good reason. The coastline stretches for 25 miles and is perfect for a wide range of outdoor activities, from scenic coastal walks to sailing, cycling, angling and wind-surfing. Alternatively, explore the scenic beauty of the Wirral countryside whilst visiting one of its many picturesque villages or towns. For the less energetic, the Hotel is close to many other attractions such as: The Heritage Centre of Port Sunlight, The Williamson Art Gallery and Museum, The Ellesmere Port Boat Museum and Birkenhead Park. For sports fans, Liverpool is home to two of the Premiership's biggest football teams, or if golf is more your thing, practice your swing on one of the fourteen local courses, including the famous Royal Liverpool Golf Club. The cosmopolitan city of Liverpool offers a wealth of visitor's attractions, from its glorious maritime history to its world-class musical heritage. The Albert Dock, the second-most popular attraction in Great Britain, is home to the Maritime Museum, Tate Gallery, the Beatles Story, Animation World and scores of shops, bars, restaurants and cafes. If that's not enough, then the vibrant city of Chester is less than an hour's drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riverhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverhill Hotel Birkenhead, Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing