We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding and anniversary”
Review of Riverhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riverhill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Birkenhead
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We had our wedding day and evening here and have been for our anniversary meals plus birthdays and coming back again this Friday for valentines . Nothing is too much for the staff . The food is fabulous . And steve the GM is a true gent who made sure our wedding day went without a hitch and he could not do enough for us . See you all for valentines . Lisa and Stephen ;-)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bukko25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen p, General Manager at Riverhill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Hi Lisa & Stephen
thank you again for your lovely comments it is always a pleasure to be of service to you and your lovely wife , who you spoilt every chance you get on your next visit I will arrange a bigger table to allow for the many flowers you buy her , we all look forward to seeing you both over the coming months were we can be of service to you both

Kind Regards
Steve and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

My family and I stayed here for my mother in laws birthday meal. Bedrooms were comfortable albeit a little tired in places, but fully functional and complimentary snack basket. The restaurant was packed - food quality was good as was the service. A special mention for the exceptional dessert trolley. Make sure you don't miss out on the full breakfast. Staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank nickiBrockhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen p, General Manager at Riverhill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear guest
many thanks for your feed back with regard to your recent stay with us , I am pleased to learn you enjoyed your overall stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back

Steve and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

A relaxing and comfortable hotel. The riverhill was a very welcoming place. It has a great family run atmosphere. I was pleasantly sprized to find a bottle of water and basket of snacks in my room each day. Snack including chocolet and fruit. I will definitely be back when im in the area.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank alfiered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen p, General Manager at Riverhill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Guest
we were pleased learn that you had a very enjoyable stay at the hotel and we met all your requirement's and service standards , it is always great to have feed back from our guest as it helps us to ensure we meeting all your needs , we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Oxton Wirral

kind regards
Steve and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed in September and enjoyed it so much we decided to book for New Years Eve. We normally just stay at home cook for ourselves and celebrate with a few drinks. Well here we are watching the build up to midnight on the TV still having a few drinks the difference is we are full from a fantastic 5 course meal which we both thoroughly enjoyed. The staff again were exceptional. Don't miss this gem, we will be back again, in fact going to book before we leave tomorrow. Happy New Year to all but especially to all at the Riverhill

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendm1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen p, General Manager at Riverhill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Hi guys,
it was nice to welcome you back again to the hotel and to see you both looking very well.
We would like to say a happy new year to both and wish you both the best of health for 2014. We look forward to welcoming you back this year. Please do give me a call, as I said, to help with arranging your next stay.

Regards,
Steve and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Our company booked this for our business trip and was not dissappointed, excellent staff together with very good food. Polite staff and loved the bar atmosphere. Rooms were very comfortable and clean with a good feel of being made special. Plenty of free parking on site, entrance and walking areas in the hotel had scented flowers to yet again give a sense of someone putting a special feel to our stay. Keep it up all those involved and very friendly staff above all. Will recomend to our company for future stays. All the best & have a Festive Season!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank INFLIGHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen p, General Manager at Riverhill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

We appreciate you feedback guys, it was wonderful to see you let your hair down. We are glad you got into the spirit of Christmas with the rest of the guests as you'd been having a tough week training. We would like to take this opportunity to wish you a prosperous 2014 and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Regards,
Steve and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Another great Sunday Roast at The Riverhill but disappointed to hear that Claire Lara (Masterchef winner) and her husband Mark have now left. The food was as good as it has been previously. I wonder if I can get the recipe for the gravy!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Barry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen p, General Manager at Riverhill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are so glad you enjoyed you Sunday meal and that you are still satisfied with our high standards we set all our staff, from our front of house team to the kitchen. We've had a wonderful and successful Christmas here at Riverhill and that was all down to the tremendous hard work of our whole team, especially the kitchen staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in 2014.

Regards,
Steve and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I would recommend this hotel. The service was very good and nothing seemed too much trouble for the staff. I liked having a teapot in the room to enjoy a brew and it was a nice touch to provide more than the usual packet of biscuits, even a piece of fruit was in the basket.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HJJ12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen p, General Manager at Riverhill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We would always go the extra mile for all our guests and try and accommodate all their needs, be it if they require fresh milk in their room or transport. We look forward to welcoming you back in 2014.

Regards,
Steve and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birkenhead
3.6 mi away
The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant
3.7 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
823 reviews
4.4 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hillbark Hotel
Hillbark Hotel
#1 of 1 in Frankby
276 reviews
3.3 mi away
Village Hotel Wirral
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
1,726 reviews
3.3 mi away
Travelodge Bromborough Hotel
Travelodge Bromborough Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bromborough
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverhill Hotel

Address: 19 Talbot Road, Birkenhead CH43 2HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Birkenhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Birkenhead
Price Range: £74 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverhill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Wirral Peninsula in its own peaceful grounds, this Victorian House Hotel is just 2 miles from Birkenhead, 4 miles from Liverpool and offers free Wi-Fi and on-site parking. Experienced hoteliers Nick and Michele Burn have owned the property since 1988, earning a gallery of industry awards in the process (including the prestigious Merseyside Small Hotel of the Year Award). They pride themselves on cultivating a comfortable and relaxed atmosphere coupled with friendly and attentive service. The highest 3-Star AA rated hotel in the Wirral area, the Hotel offers 14 en-suite rooms all of which are decorated and furnished to a very high standard. Each room includes free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, direct dial telephone, hairdryer, and tea & coffee making facilities. For those special occasions, the Hotel also offers two luxurious four-poster rooms. The Restaurant offers a tantalising selection of culinary delights from their diverse range of ever-changing menus. With professional impeccable service, guests are free to enjoy their meal amidst the beautiful splendour of the views over-looking the pretty lawns and gardens at the front of the hotel. Afterwards, why not indulge in a coffee or liqueur in the comfort of the hotel cocktail lounge? Located on the Wirral Peninsula in Merseyside, the Hotel is just a 5 minute drive from the M53, 2 miles from Birkinhead and just 4 miles from Liverpool. With excellent transport links and free on-site parking, it is both convenient and accessible. For those flying in, Liverpool's John Lennon airport is just 13 miles away. Wirral is often referred to as 'the leisure peninsula' and with good reason. The coastline stretches for 25 miles and is perfect for a wide range of outdoor activities, from scenic coastal walks to sailing, cycling, angling and wind-surfing. Alternatively, explore the scenic beauty of the Wirral countryside whilst visiting one of its many picturesque villages or towns. For the less energetic, the Hotel is close to many other attractions such as: The Heritage Centre of Port Sunlight, The Williamson Art Gallery and Museum, The Ellesmere Port Boat Museum and Birkenhead Park. For sports fans, Liverpool is home to two of the Premiership's biggest football teams, or if golf is more your thing, practice your swing on one of the fourteen local courses, including the famous Royal Liverpool Golf Club. The cosmopolitan city of Liverpool offers a wealth of visitor's attractions, from its glorious maritime history to its world-class musical heritage. The Albert Dock, the second-most popular attraction in Great Britain, is home to the Maritime Museum, Tate Gallery, the Beatles Story, Animation World and scores of shops, bars, restaurants and cafes. If that's not enough, then the vibrant city of Chester is less than an hour's drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riverhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverhill Hotel Birkenhead, Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing