We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Flat beer”

Oxton Bar and Kitchen
Ranked #8 of 261 Restaurants in Birkenhead
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$31
Cuisines: Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Oxton Bar & Kitchen was founded in 2004. We are an independent family run bar, with a kitchen, and a terrace in the centre of the leafy conservation village. We serve tasty locally sourced fresh food, local craft beers and the best cocktails around. We aim to support our local independent business's / suppliers - therefore you will find no mainstream mediocre brands here. We pride ourselves on our crew, service and atmosphere.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
621 reviews
482 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“Flat beer”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Been here lots of times , not really impressed, beers not that good really , in fact my pint was flat before I sat down, won't rush back

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank alanerobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike-Atkinson86, Owner at Oxton Bar and Kitchen, responded to this review, 19 January 2015
Thanks for your opinion on beer Alan,

I think I'll sleep easy though knowing that Camra have listed us in the 'Good Beer Guide' though - with only 1 in 12 making the cut.

Unfortunately we do not (and will not) serve chemically preserved flavourless Euro pop fizz marketed as 'Belgian lager' made in some undisclosed industrial park in Northern England. Your favourite branded Aussie lager is - shock horror - not from Australia either!

Naturally carbonated truly lagered beer (cold stored) has finer and more integrated bubbles.

See you soon for a flat beer.

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    56
    23
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Saturday afternoon lunch”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We visited this place on a Saturday afternoon for lunch. Very good service nice place. Food good and reasonably priced. Oh and by the way they had a great background music playlist on.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Quigs61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This pub has a car park and outside seated area which are both always a bonus as Oxton Village is not the easiest place to park a car. Inside seating areas are good and varied and you will either love or not the traditional tiled floor, which possibly slightly detracts from the up market atmosphere and reminds you that this site used to be for a pub "with a bit of a rep".

The menu is good though the bar snack side is perhaps a bit limited for us and we ended up with a fuller meal. Good quality food great quality drinks including a few they do themselves. My wife was impressed with the wine and glass. It is a bit pricey.

Service was good, though just for a bit the staff were pre-occupied. Overall though great and I bet it gets busy at night. In comparison with the nearby Courtyard there are of course plus's and minus's though they are different types of restaurant. I think the voting would be close! Bar scene goes to the Courtyard, but sitting outside on a Summer evening it has to go to the Oxton Bar and Kirtchen.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blair P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Brilliant ”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

One of my favourite places to drink - unbeatable service, food is always great and great range of beers you don't see elsewhere.

Helpful?
Thank RobertSanders93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Went for a pub lunch very impressed with the quality of the food portion size good. Very busy so you know people frequently visit service also great.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jess69746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oxton Bar and Kitchen also viewed

 
Birkenhead, Wirral
 

Been to Oxton Bar and Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing