We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Generally, a very good experience again!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fusion Bar & Grill

Fusion Bar & Grill
Ranked #7 of 259 Restaurants in Birkenhead
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$32
Cuisines: American, Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Welcome to Fusion. We pride ourselves on offering on the finest food & drink in the area. Either by day or night you are sure to get excellent service foremost, each customer is treated like a friend not a statistic. The specialty coffee & teas are all hand made using only the freshest ingredients, the same with our food, care and love go into everything we do. Just ask our regulars...Of a Friday & Saturday evening we open up the shop as the only bistro in the area, serving excellent hand cut mature steaks, fresh fish to name just a few. Offering the best value around, We're positive you'll LOVE Fusion, once tried never forgotten, call in and see us today, or book a table for this coming week
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Generally, a very good experience again!”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Sorry for not writing a more prompt review. Visited Fusion again a while ago with 2 of our children as we were very impressed first time round. Only criticisms this time were -

1. My prawn starter was extremely disappointing. The 'prawns' were almost microscopic in size. To add insult to injury there was an extra charge for this starter. I should have complained but didn't as Dave is so nice and my kids would have been embarrassed!

2. Desserts weren't homemade.

However, steaks were lovely and Dave's service was fantastic.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WirralCatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FusionWirral, Owner at Fusion Bar & Grill, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Hi Catherine,

Sorry to read that you were unhappy with your starter on this occasion. In this instance the required quality of the prawns was not up to standards. I've spoken to both the suppliers & chefs to make sure that this does not happen again. We have an open house policy here, if you were not happy with them, we would have exchanged them or not billed you without a second thought, we just want all customers to leave 100% happy.

Regarding the desserts, i'm sorry but i have to defend what you have put. It takes 2 chefs 2 days to prepare our desserts from scratch. Using only the finest ingredients. We're famed for our homemade desserts and complimented every single week on them. 7 out of 10 are homemade, the 3 that are not (2 on the cheaper set menu) are bought in because of their quality. We've been through every supplier there is & tried every recipe there is, but you simply cant make the Double Chocolate fudge cake, carrot cake or caramel apple pie as good as can be bought in. Nobody nor nowhere on the menu does it state that these items are homemade.

It does sound like you were in a while ago, we now have a new menu which is fantastic, and are about to launch a summer menu, which is even better, so come back and see us, i'll make sure your starter is on the house.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven on a plate”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

After hearing good things about "Fusion" I was taken to eat there tonight and I can't begin to tell you how great it was! The decor was warm and inviting as was the owners and the service. The food filled the air with astonishing aroma's that made you want to stay, which we did. We highly recommend the food and especially the starter Deconstructed Breakfast, "heaven". If you are looking for fine dining excellent service and a very warm welcome then look no further. Thank you guys for a lovely evening..Anne & Stu

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2 Thank Annie592014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Absolutely love fusion fantastic food and fantastic staff would highly recommend,great value for money and best steaks on the wirral 10 out of 10

Thank jsmooth1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“'A very pleasant experience'”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Excellent food, first rate wine and friendly but professional service. Keep it up Dave. My only gripe is that Fusion does not accept Bank Cards. This means for the unaware if you are in a large group, generating a large bill, you may have to go 30 yards up the road to obtain the cash from a Hole in the Wall machine possibly in inclement weather. It may be that if the business grows this shortcoming will be rectified.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RayDUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

I literally cannot fault this restaurant - we have started booking in here every other week as we always enjoy our food their homemade menu in faultless and you cannot complain at the price! Service is always pleasant and welcoming! I would recommend fusion not only for dinner but for a tea/coffee or even a roast dinner on a Sunday! Always great

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ajfilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fusion Bar & Grill also viewed

Birkenhead, Wirral
Birkenhead, Wirral

Been to Fusion Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing