We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Black Lions Guest House
Ranked #3 of 7 Birkenhead B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 December 2013

stayed in this hotel with sister and husband for one night ,we had room 10 they had room 11 very comfortable beds and clean .bathroom clean but could do with updating, good breakfast hot ,tea coffee, juice,would recommend this hotel for short stay.good vaule for money

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank warfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

Tudor styled guesthouse with welcoming host. Comfortable room and good hearty breakfast. Reasonably priced too. Handy base for port sunlight and shipyard area. Handy rail link from rock ferry into Liverpool for weekend night out. Thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srladair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I stayed at the Black Lions two weeks ago and really enjoyed my stay. Room was really nice and had a fantastic cooked breakfast from Nick..Thanks Nick. I will definitely be returning to the Black Lions as I am a frequent visitor to the region and found it to be in a great location being centrally located and good value for money....

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul2603328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Having gone to the Black Lions Guest House for the week prior to and the weekend of the Grand National I was pleasantly surprised.
The room was spacious, extremely clean and the television worked perfectly. Plus, it was fantastic value for money. The atmosphere was welcoming- and the guest lounge was a great place to sit and relax during the day time. The location was fantastic, and the breakfast didn't disappoint.
Finally, the fact that car parking was free was a great bonus.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sh0shanaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We went to this hotel for grand national wkend,we were shown to our room which was okay (needs doing up loads) the tv wasn't working properly it only showed a few channels and the tv kept going off. They did show us how to use it but I don't think they were too bothered about trying to fix it. The breaskfast was basic but nice. The room was clean but not really what I'd usually go for. Next I go to the grand national I'd get something closer as we had to get 2 trains there and back

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebear20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stopped at this Guest House for a couple of nights whilst attending the Grand National.
The room was spotlessly clean, the owners were really friendly and helpful and the breakfast was good.
The best thing for us though was the location. Less than half the price of similar accomodation in Liverpool and the local train station is only a ten minute walk with regular trains into Liverpool at minimal cost.
Free Parking too !

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NigelP_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We booked last minute, we tried to get into other hotels but due to a marathon in Liverpool most hotels were full. The Black Lions is a large building but not used to its full potential, its tired and in desparate need of up dating and repairing which would be a costly excercise. The room we had was large with a high ceiling, nothing matched in the room, the mastick in the bathroom was discloured and the room could do with a good clean. There was evidence that the room was not cleaned paying attention to detail (bits of paper, an earplug) from other occupants. On saying that the Manager is a lovely social man, breakfast was very good full English. If i was desparate i would consider going back. The location is very good for the train station, ferry crossing and bus to Liverpool if you want a relaxing comfortable stay this would not be the place for us.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fanny_minge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birkenhead hotels
2.4 mi away
The Shrewsbury Lodge
The Shrewsbury Lodge
#2 of 7 in Birkenhead
201 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Birkenhead Town Centre Hotel
2.2 mi away
Riverhill Hotel
Riverhill Hotel
#2 of 3 in Birkenhead
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Villa Venezia
Villa Venezia
#6 of 7 in Birkenhead
24 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Black Lions Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Lions Guest House

Address: 704 New Chester Road | Rock Ferry, Birkenhead CH42 1QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Birkenhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Birkenhead
Price Range: £55 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Black Lions Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Black Lions Guest house is privately owned and ideally situated in the heart of the busiest industrial and commercial area in the North West - Wirral, Liverpool Chester & North Wales. We offer comfortable accommodation, at an affordable price, with a hearty full English breakfast to set you on your way. We can accommodate groups contractors from 14 -28 people offering comfortable accommodation whilst working away from home. Most rooms enjoy en-suite facilities and our full English breakfast is included "in the price". All our bedrooms are non smoking and feature tea & coffee making facilities. All rooms have TV and free wi-fi. Ample parking for up to 10 cars ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Black Lions Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Lions Guest House Birkenhead, Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing