We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It gets better...they do great breakfasts too!”

The Refreshment Rooms
Ranked #6 of 288 Restaurants in Birkenhead
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$25
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: This is a fantastic victorian pub, fully refurbished with an eye to the past.Positioned on the banks of the River Mersey with views over to Liverpool,we serve great home made food seven days a week 12pm til 9pm and carry up to six real ales from local micro breweries. We are family friendly, have a lovely beer garden, we have early week promos inc over 60s all day Mon, Tue and Wed.
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

We'd heard that the refreshment rooms did great breakfasts so decided to try them...so glad we did. The full English was very tasty, service was prompt and friendly as usual, and for the standard of breakfast it was very reasonable! Would recommend highly.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 150 of 1,219 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2018 via mobile

Was taken here by my best mate as a group of four. Hidden gem - food is awesome, staff were awesome and the evening was awesome - need I say more

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018 via mobile

We recently celebrated a family birthday here and I heard nothing but praise out of everyone!
The pate is to die for, I had it as the main course as I’ve not that much of an appetite and it was very filling!
The kitchen staff happily served up our 70yr old dads birthday cake and the whole place joined in!
We’ll be back!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank 124josephines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018 via mobile

Love this small bar with a Fab atmosphere and great friendly staff. The choice of beers and gins is great love calling in when we are in Oxton.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank A5933DJmichellec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

We came here as everyone had recommended it to us and we weren't disappointed the food was delicious good portion sizes the staff where friendly and we didn't have to wait long for our food. Would definitely recommend

Date of visit: July 2017
1  Thank clairelouiseh368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Refreshment Rooms also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Birkenhead, Wirral
 
New Brighton, Wirral
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
West Kirby, Wirral
 

Been to The Refreshment Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing