We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice atmosphere”

The Rock Station Pub & Richies Restaurant
Ranked #140 of 259 Restaurants in Birkenhead
Price range: US$3 - US$15
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Description: Best Carvery in the North West...............One of the best Carvery's in the North West with a growing reputation for quality fresh cooked very reasonably priced homemade food. There is also a great selection of beers, wines and spirits available. Next door to Rock Ferry train station and a stones throw to the local bus stop everyone can enjoy the visit
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

I went with my friend as I had heard good reports about it. I was suprised the interior was spottlessly clean, and the carvery was very good and hot. It was such good value for only £4.95. and the staff very friendly. Would highly recommend it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Mavis A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bromborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What A Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Ok, I'll be honest here without being over the top.
My daughter lives in Rock Ferry and had told me about this restaurant upstairs from the pub, so we thought we would try it as a family on a Sunday.
As a footnote we eat out a lot.
Roast was a better standard for your money than the Crown Carvery chain, and cheaper for the Sunday price.
Other choices on the menu were a pleasant surprise, and to an acceptable standard.
Even though the pub is in what would be described a rough area do not let this put you off. The pub you walk through to go upstairs in immaculate and clean. Upstairs is clean also were the restaurant is.
And this point I am about to make is extremely important-no swearing is tolerated, pub users etc are expected to leave if caught using abusive or offending language, so this shows the standard the owners and safe environment it offers for families.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth15011987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Carvery”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Amazing Carvery prize wise and food wise! So cheap! Very quiet little pub, has a jukebox and pool table. However i fond the carvery so tasty! Take out idea is very good aswell!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LeehroyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Sunlight, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“canteen style”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

wentfor a meal for farthers day beautiful food but on such a busy day they had taken a booking for a large party and take aways at the same time which made the servise very slow indeed ,also slow downstairs on bar so my son in law was ages down there and his starter had gone cold before he sat down .Bit like sitting in a works canteen

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
59 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

Visited here a few times for the carvery. The food is good but the plates really need to be of a decent size. By the time the meat and veg are on the plate is overflowing and that's only small amounts of veg. It really is off putting. Good food but no clue about presentation.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jolleyroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rock Station Pub & Richies Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Rock Station Pub & Richies Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing