We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quiet and relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashburton Guest House

Ashburton Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Birkenhead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ashburton Guest House
Ranked #1 of 8 Birkenhead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“quiet and relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

I stayed recently at the Ashburton, whilst visiting my mother. It came highly recommended by my brother, and he wasn't wrong! The single room I had was well appointed and spotlessly clean and comfortable. Mo and Jimmy are very friendly and welcoming - the fact that I arrived late after some train trouble was no bother for them at all. In fact I'm staying there again in May with my husband, for the Oxton Open Gardens event, as it's very convenient for that. Breakfast was great (full English for those who can manage it), and the other guests all looked very happy. So glad we found it,and would recommend it to anyone - also very convenient for anyone wanting to visit Liverpool.

Room Tip: I had a singe room which was great - up a few steps to the bathroom (no 7). However I've booked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OxfordSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
47
41
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Myself and my husband have just spent a wonderfull weekend in this beautiful guest house. Truly one of the warmest welcomes we have ever recieved from Mo and jimmy. Perfect hosts who made us feel like family. The guest house is set in an ideal location and exellent value for money. The rooms were spotless and the vegetarian breakfast was absoloutly delicious, top marks to jimmy! We look forward to our next stay in the summer :)
Sue and peter.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank googles10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenock, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed here for the weekend with family whilst visiting for my granddaughter's christening. Have to say we couldn't have been made any more welcome. Mo and Jim were a lovely couple and perfect hosts who couldn't do enough for us. Rooms were spotless and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious Jim! Will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Would just like to thank Mo and Jimmy for a lovely stay at their pretty guest house last weekend, a clean hotel with one of the most friendliest welcomes we have ever received and we have travelled the country. Ideal location for our needs, great value for money and every need tended to, not to mention an outstanding breakfast, from the minute we arrived to the minute we left we felt like we were staying with family not in a guesthouse thanks again and if we are ever in the area, we will be sure to be back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy8350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Cordova, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

My wife and I had the pleasure of Staying here for a week while we took care of family business.
One of the best Guest Houses we've stayed at .. ever !
Mo and Jim are great people and they treated us like family. Can't get any better than that for sure.
Highest recommendations from us two weary travelers.
Roger n Debbie G.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rog G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Booked June 2013 for golf trip this July 2014, In receipt of confirmation e mail we would be first booking for next year with cost obviously being a sporting event on agreed to pay twice the usual rate for room, something made us e mail to confirm we had the en suite room as originally agreed as we had purchased our golf tickets which cost £440.00, To get a call to say they had a problem as Getty images who do sporting photos wanted the room , Basically they had sold our room to them , & never had the courtesy to advise us, They said they would set us up somewhere else, Well where they offered you wouldn't stay a night let alone a week, Legally where do we stand & can anyone advise where to get a room ???

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Goldblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

I stayed 5,days and was blown away by the service, cleanliness & the ever helpful staff.also the local area offers plenty of opportunity for socialising particularly in oxton village, where there are many bars & restaurants to select from.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birkenhead
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Wirral (Greasby) Hotel
1.0 mi away
Riverhill Hotel
Riverhill Hotel
#2 of 3 in Birkenhead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Birkenhead Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
4.9 mi away
Premier Inn Wirral (Heswall) Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Shrewsbury Lodge
The Shrewsbury Lodge
#2 of 8 in Birkenhead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashburton Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashburton Guest House

Property: Ashburton Guest House
Address: 35, Ashburton Road | Prenton, Birkenhead, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Birkenhead
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Birkenhead
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Ashburton Guest House Birkenhead, Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing