We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 'package'”
Review of The Yellow Door

The Yellow Door
Ranked #20 of 39 Restaurants in Portadown
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent 'package'”
Reviewed 9 January 2013

This place ticks a lot of boxes.

Good atmosphere, cosy environment and no doubt very fresh food.

I've always counted the place a bit pretentious...as if to be aimed at the 'more money than sense' customer.

But to be fair, never heard a complaint about here, and I have no complaints about the food either.

Parking is bad and beware of the wardens. This is a ticket hotspot.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank E R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    21
    18
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice sandwiches”
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Was in for sandwiches and coffee. I've given only three stars because although the sandwiches were better than average, they are pricey for what they are. A couple of pounds more would pay for a nice cooked lunch in a restaurant

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank EandSNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Expected more”
Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

Have been to both the Yellow Door in Lisburn and Portadown. Both locations have appealing decor and atmosphere is good. On this occasion we were visiting the Portadown deli. It was close to lunchtime on a Saturday so there was a busyness but not exactly full. There are ramps inside for easy wheelchair access but there's a slight step at the front door. While staff saw us struggling to get my father over this step no one offered to help. A passerby kindly helped.
We ordered scones and coffee and after being told they had what we wanted what arrived wasn't as we ordered. We were told that was because they had run out. We had to ask for butter and milk.
On the positive side the scones were nicely warmed and delicious.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anigmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“tasty forty minutes.............”
Reviewed 29 August 2012

delicious potato and leek soup well filled ham sandwich and a pot of tea thoroughly enjoyed today at yellow door in portadown.friendly efficant service all wrapped up in forty minutes.........what more could anyone ask....THANK YOU...

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Down
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Quality”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Lisburn Restaurant. I was delighted when The Yellow Door came to Lisburn. They have turned the unit into a bright stylish, relaxing space, great for a meal or snack all day. The food is fresh and of very good quality with a good selection. It is great to be able to take away bread on your way out.
Some people have said it is expensive, compared to a lot of the processed food available in the city it could look expensive, however when you look at the quality of the ingredients it actually offers good value.
I would highly recommend a visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeauCoDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Yellow Door also viewed

Lisburn, County Antrim
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Portadown, County Armagh
 

Been to The Yellow Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing