We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pure relaxation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Birches Guest Lodge
Ranked #3 of 6 Portadown B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pure relaxation!”
Reviewed 22 April 2011

This is just a home away from home (except so much more organised!!!) it's an experience. I look forward to staying there very time I am up North.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djmike83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
26
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2011

I stayed with my Mother and 2 sisters for a long weekend it was one of the best places we have stayed in better than any 5 star hotel !!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judywright1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2009

Stayed at this Guest Lodge for one night 16th Dec to 17th Dec,it is beside the M1 but it is so peaceful,stoplessly clean & good food, a perfect find.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deedee03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2009

Mary Kennedy was our host and looked after us very well during our stay, despite suffering at the time from a very poorly back. She welcomed us with a smile and waved us off with a smile. The accommodation, including our room was absolutely beautiful, and the attention to detail was second to none. Breakfast was cooked to order and was of high quality, taken in the equally beautiful dining room. We have stayed in many different establishments, and this guest house was as good as any top class hotel. Do not hesitate to stay here if you are travelling to Northern Ireland. The location was excellent too for Belfast International Airport - takes about 40 minutes by car and proved to be an ideal starting point for our short road trip.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Djaneyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londonderry
Level Contributor
89 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2009

This is the second time we have stayed at this accommodation. It is near the Birches/west side of town and is located right beside the M1. This location would find particular favour with business travellers, since Portadown is located as the central town in the north. This accommodation is relatively new and is ultimately situated on a country road, which conveys a sense of security and privacy.
The house outside, with its tidy lawns and assorted shrubs, looked very nice. There is plenty of car-parking space at the front of the house. The reception area is very nice - just as shown on their excellent website - and it was from here, that we collected our room key. It became immediately apparent that someone had paid much attention to detail at this house.
Our room was on the first floor, although I believe there are also rooms on the ground floor, to facilitate any disabled tourists.
The rooms were very modern, with an emphasis on cleanliness and tidiness. Tea, coffee and biscuits were provided on a tray. The bed was very comfy and overall it had a very homely feel. The room we requested had an ensuite with both a bath with a shower over it. The fixtures and fitting were spotless! It was a jacuzzi bath actually and seemed to work a treat. Sample toiletries were provided and the towels were fluffy and solid. In my experience, something as simple as a fresh towel, can make of break your confidence in a guesthouse.

The breakfast was excellent and served downstairs in a dining room. Breakfast times are quite flexible 7:30 - 9:30 which had particular appeal, as we were ultimately there on holiday and wanted to benefit from the ly-in! It was also possible to select exactly what kind of breakfast your required - cooked. There was the usual selection of cereals, juice and fresh fruit available but you could use the menu provided in the rooms to essentially 'tick' what you preferred on your plate - beans, soda bread etc etc I am not into cooked breakfast myself but there was another option which is syrup on pancakes - which is out of this world and satisfies my sweet tooth. My partner, who had the cooked breakfast, assured me that the bacon, sausages etc were cooked to perfection and I could see that the portions were very generous.
There is a good selection of what's on, sightseeing and maps/literature available in the rooms too, for tourists visiting during their stay. Numerous National Trust places, Gosford Castle and Armagh city which is just twenty minutes drive from the hotel.
The prices for the rooms were really quite good, considering the service that was on offer. Mary is very friendly and obliging, yet does not intimidate visitors who prefer their privacy.
The website is brilliant and its photos of the interior were in-fact real - not like many websites nowadays. Booking and queries can be by email or phone. If I have one criticism, it is that their email responses need to be more prompt, to be anyway useful for those of us who want to make a booking over the internet.
Finally, I have to say that of all the accommodation I have stayed in, the Birches Guestlodge is without doubt, the more professional guesthouse trading in the UK - and thats from someone who tours the UK and Ireland considerably! There is no doubt I would stay here again. The accommodation has everything going for it. Portadown has improved its 'history' since the troubles ended. As the tourism buzz gathers momentum and more interest shown in the area, the fact that the guesthouse is near the City of Armagh and on the main motorway from/to the airport, value for money and friendly service, comfort, are sure to give this accommodation wide appeal. First class!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aravensis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portadown
11.3 mi away
Newforge House
Newforge House
#1 of 1 in Magheralin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cherryville House
Cherryville House
#2 of 6 in Portadown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
5.8 mi away
Bannview Luxury Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Moira Guest House
Moira Guest House
#1 of 3 in Moira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
5.0 mi away
Cohannon Inn and Autolodge
7.8 mi away
Glenmore Manor B&B
Glenmore Manor B&B
#1 of 2 in Craigavon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birches Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birches Guest Lodge

Property: Birches Guest Lodge
Address: 9 Farlough Road | The Birches, Portadown BT62 1TT, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Armagh > Portadown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Portadown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Birches Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Birches Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birches Guest Lodge Portadown, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing