We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B&B ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Birches Guest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Birches Guest Lodge
Ranked #3 of 6 Portadown B&B and Inns
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best B&B ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Stayed here for a weekend in June, wasn't sure about going somewhere so out of the way but certainly didn't regret choosing here. The house is beautiful and well designed. We were in a downstairs room with a jacuzzi bath and french doors leading to an outside sitting area (not that we got much chance to sit out with our weather!), every little detail had been thought of in the room. Room was quiet, no noise from other guests. Breakfast in the morning was first class, hot choices were a pleasant surprise. Being able to access the dining room facilites during the day was so an unexpected bonus. Staff were perfect, helpful when required and left you alone when not. Mary the owner was a pleasure to meet. We loved staying here and both slept better than we had in ages. We were gutted when we tried to book again in August and it was full. I couldn't say enough good things about the Birches, don't hesitate to book here. You might get somewhere else slightly cheaper but you just couldn't compare.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wgard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
26
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

What a delightful place to stay - off the beaten track although still within easy reach of Portadown and really close to the motorway so great for anyone travelling - this place is a real gem. We stayed here for two nights last week on a short break to Ireland to take a trip down memory lane with my Mum and Dad. The Beeches has everything you need - great rooms which are simply but tastefully furnished, wonderful bathroom and they also provide those little extras like water and chocolate biscuits. The breakfasts were great with a good number of choices. Mary and her team were very welcoming and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Beeches to anyone and would certainly stay here again .

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the house on the ground floor look out over the fields
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kobi1529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airdrie,uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

when touring northern ireland this guest house is a must
everything about it is quality the bedroom was spacous and comfortable spotlessly clean as was the rest of the house ,we stayed for two nights and breakfast on both mornings was excellent,i cannot praise this guest house enough.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marion p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwood, NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

After more than a week of travelling around Northern Ireland, we stayed at the Birches the last night before heading home. We had stayed in hotels prior to this. We found the home to be spotless and very modern. The room was very nice and the breakfast was excellent. The location, although fairly remote and not near much, is convenient to Belfast International Airport.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rallen1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

Myself, my husband and our 2 children have just returned from a stay at this guest lodge and I can safely say it's the nicest place we have ever stayed! The whole place is very bright and airy and beautifully decorated as well as being completely spotless. We stayed in a ground floor family room and I couldn't believe how spacious it was compared to anywhere else we've stayed. There was a great choice for breakfast and it was delicious! The staff were very helpful and friendly. This was great as my 6 year old is a chatterbox and likes to talk non stop to everyone she meets! The lady was more than happy to chat away to her and took an interest in her toys which went down well! I really can't think of a single fault with this guest house. We will definitely stay here again and I would highly recommend it to anyone!

Begley family, Scotland

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanB2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

A quiet rural guesthouse outside of Portadown. This modern guesthouse was opened in 2008. Bright window-walled breakfast room with among the best breakfasts we have had in the UK (fresh fruit bowls). Also liked the firm beds. Outside is a farmer's pasture with lowing cattle. Comfortable guest lounge for visiting in the evenings. Modern rooms. Great hostess! This was a perfect base for our stay in Co Armagh

Internet is available - ask for the password.

Tips: ask the owner for the directions to the Head of the Road pub a few miles away on the web of rural roads. A friendly place for a pint and pub supper. Also try the Star of India in Portadown for a great Indian meal. And don't miss the Navan Fort, Emain Macha historic site near Armagh.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spruce_grouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

My husband,adult daughter and I were in Northern Ireland for a wedding recently and googled B & B;s in the Portadown area. We were extremely lucky to have chosen the Birches Guest Lodge which is very well situated as it is just off Junction 12 on the M1.
I would class this wonderful place as a small boutique hotel as it is beautifully decorated and our bedrooms had every convenience,including a full-sized ironing board and iron in the wardrobe. The owner, Mary, is a lovely lady,who despite having had a nasty accident,was always availabe for help. We enjoyed an excellent breakfast in a beautiful,sunny conservatory. I can honestly say,having stayed in many top class hotels around the world,the Birches is way up there amongst the best and take great pleasure in highly recommending it.

Room Tip: Both our rooms were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariem60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portadown
16.2 mi away
Down Royal House
Down Royal House
#2 of 2 in Lisburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
7.3 mi away
Grange Lodge
Grange Lodge
#1 of 6 in Dungannon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cherryville House
Cherryville House
#2 of 6 in Portadown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Cohannon Inn and Autolodge
5.8 mi away
No photo provided
11.9 mi away
Hillview Lodge
Hillview Lodge
#2 of 14 in Armagh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birches Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birches Guest Lodge

Property: Birches Guest Lodge
Address: 9 Farlough Road | The Birches, Portadown BT62 1TT, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Armagh > Portadown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Portadown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Birches Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Birches Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birches Guest Lodge Portadown, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing