We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wife's birthday”
Review of Star of India

Star of India
Ranked #7 of 39 Restaurants in Portadown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wife's birthday”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

This was our first time in this restaurant and was largely due to the reviews here. We were extremely impressed by the quality of the food and the sensible portion sizes. The staff were friendly and chatty but not "in your face". Can't really criticise anything to be honest although it would be possible to be hypercritical about outward appearance and the decor etc. The main thing is; we went there for the food and weren't disappointed and we'd go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    21
    7
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“PRETTY NICE.”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Been here a few times and staff are good. Food also good but too mild.
Specials on from time to time. Its definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good Indian Menu”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

I eat alot in the Indian Restaurants in Portadown and the Star is a regular choice. It has a comprehensive menu and the staff are very friendly. It's not always perfect as other contributors have eluded to, but I have witnessed occasions where things have gone wrong and the staff always do their best to put things right.
I think their meat dishes are superior in "meat quality" than others in the town and thats what often brings me back.
Friendly service - good food sums it up!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family friendly lovely restaurant”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We go to this place every now and then and every time we find it very pleasant. The staff is very friendly and approachable. We always take our 2 year old with us and she loves it. I'm very surprised by other reviews. The food there comes just in time, not too quick not too slow. Just in time to enjoy a dine out. The food is also different than standard indian. We do enjoy our little trips there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“DON'T GO”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

The service in this restaurant is awful, it took 25 minutes to actually take order. I tried on several occasions to indicate to staff I wanted to order, but they continually avoid eye contact and we were only customers in restaurant so they were not busy. Lady member of staff was more interested in her packet of crisps, cup of tea and reading a trashy magazine. They did not clear plates in between meals, when they brought next course they had to clear then, it was just dreadful service. Also they charge £10 for children chicken nuggets and chips, the chicken could not really be described as chicken and could not be eaten. To be fair though the actual indian was nice, I would recommend ordering take away and collecting, though I noticed even when telephone ordered customers still had to wait at least 10 minutes. My advice do not sit in.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Star of India also viewed

Portadown, County Armagh
Portadown, County Armagh
 
Craigavon, County Armagh
Portadown, County Armagh
 
Portadown, County Armagh
Portadown, County Armagh
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing