We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tandem Couple say "Moreen's the Best !"”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portadown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Redbrick Country Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 6 Portadown B&B and Inns
DUBLIN
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tandem Couple say "Moreen's the Best !"”
Reviewed 27 June 2011

While planing a walking trip on the Newry Canal 3 years ago - we struck gold when we booked room No 5 in lovely GreyGables.Having stayed in everything from a Michelin Star Hotel to a tent in all varied parts of the globe - we know the real deal in an overnight and GreyGables with the utterly charming Moreen at the helm just cannot be outshone. Walk into the fabulously spacious purpose build house and instantly want to stay for longer than you planned.
The house is spotless with esquisite furnishings and the kitchen is an absolute pleasure to cook an evening meal in as everything in the house is top quality. There are no list of rules and regulations. You come and go as you please. Breakfast is always delightful experience as nothing is too much trouble for Moreen in making it so. She is an oracle on local knowledge and is entertaining and great company over a leisurely cuppa.
Since our first visit there we have looked for excuses to go visit again. We are just after coming back from our 4th visit as it is ideally situated to encapture a whole variety of activities and places to visit.
When the next adventure becons North we know exactly where we will be staying.
We would both wholeheartly recommend Moreen's lovely GreyGables as the only place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 5 as a first option followed by 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PHILODEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    9
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
36
16
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kildare
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

I work in Northern Ireland and have been staying regularly for the last year and hopefully for the foreseeable future work permitting. The house is in a lovely rural setting yet close enough to the town and Maureen is a great hostess. A lot of the guests are regulars which speaks for itself.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul_Brady_Kildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2011

Second time at Grey Gables, on this occasion for three nights. Faultless - fantastic, spacious, clean room, excellent breakfast, nothing is too much trouble for Moreen. Amazing value for money. If more people knew about this gem, it might be harder to get in, but I cannot recommend this too highly.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PETER1065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2011

We have stay at the grey gables 3 years in a row at Christmas time, as it is only 2 1/2 miles out of Portadown and what can I say about Moreen she is just a lovely lady and nothing is to much trouble for her. the breakfast it just the way we like, she is there alway on hand to help you no matter what. one time it was raining and she lent us brollies and when we stay she lets us have the family over what live in Portadown to tea. Will be back there this christmas as we would not go anyway else. so if you want to visit Portadown we can highly recommed the red brick/ grey gables guest house and of cause Moreen.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanette09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2010

My husband and and I stayed at the end of september for 1 night with our 2 year old daughter. We also stayed at the greygables house rather than the main house but this was lovely. The setting was great and I cannot fault Maureen she was really nice but unfortunately it was not the best place we have stayed. There was no hot water for the shower (it was luke warm) and the water presure was such that it made it very difficult to wash shampoo from your hair. Also we had quite a restless nights sleep - it would have been fine if there were no other guests but as soon as someone gets up in the night you can hear everything, and the fans in the bathrooms stay on for ages after the light goes out and they are very loud. We could clearly hear the conversations going on in the morning after the other guests had woken (quite a bit earlier than we had intended getting woken up). Then I am afraid I will have to complain about the breakfast aswell - it was very over cooked and dry, a full Irish but the were no beans (or some other wet component) so it was very tough to eat.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pippaphi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Really we wanted to stay in central Portadown but Grey Gables (the partner property to Redbrick Country Guesthouse) had received such good reviews I chose to book there instead, some 2.5 miles outside the town. We did not regret this choice. This is a spacious and lovely B&B, and Moreen takes very good care of you. We could not fault the place. Indeed, we obtained some good ideas regarding decoration of our own house from the tasteful way Grey Gables is furnished.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnfromdumfries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Just got back from a 3 night stay at redbrick country guest house, arrived late first evening and was greeted by moreen who puts us in the greygables house down the road. Of which was excellent, clean, big rooms and we had the hole house to ourselfs (party of 5) so was a bonus. Breakfast was served at whatever time we asked and the food was top notch as well as the service. Moreen was very friendly and helpfull. Would definatly recommend this b&b to anyone wanting accomodation in the n ireland countryside brilliant. Will be back to stay next year hopefully.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomblieboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portadown
8.4 mi away
Bannville House Hotel
Bannville House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Banbridge
212 reviews
8.2 mi away
Newforge House
Newforge House
#1 of 1 in Magheralin
213 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cherryville House
Cherryville House
#2 of 6 in Portadown
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Bannview Luxury Accommodation
7.9 mi away
Lismaine Cottage
Lismaine Cottage
#1 of 1 in Magheralin
14 reviews
3.8 mi away
Birches Guest Lodge
Birches Guest Lodge
#3 of 6 in Portadown
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redbrick Country Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redbrick Country Guesthouse

Property: Redbrick Country Guesthouse
Address: Corbrackey Lane, Portadown BT62 1PQ, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Armagh > Portadown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Portadown
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Per person sharing, en-suite, including breakfast. £25. (double or twin rooms.) Single occupancy, en- suite,including breakfast. £30 Family room en-suite including breakfast. from. £75 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Redbrick Country Guesthouse Portadown, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing