We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your kidding!!!”
Review of Gjibo's Seafood Restaurant - CLOSED

Gjibo's Seafood Restaurant
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Your kidding!!!”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

The girlfriend heard of this place from people at work and it was owned by the people from zios (just round the corner and highly recommend) so off we go for her birthday .As soon as you enter you will say its small , very small your seated and menus are thrust at you in order to get you eating and out fast , food is nothing to boast about overall this place would of been better as a burger joint rather than a overpriced supplier of exspensive food

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fifemadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    5
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
armagh
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice change but wouldn't rush back”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Visited with my children for family celebration. Pleasant environment- simple but modern decor. We were shown to our table with menus. After a long wait we were asked to order drinks. After another long wait our drinks arrived. Probably the downfall of the evening were the long waits. Staff were pleasant but didnt go out of their way to make conversation. The food was nice but too much chilli and steaks smeared with peppercorns- a good steak can stand alone n needs little seasoning. When I made staff aware that my daughter was ate little of the steak due to peppercorns I was told- well that's how the chef seasons the steak. We were offered a complimentary dessert which then appeared on our bill! All in all it was a nice meal but not wow and I wouldn't rush back. Bit overpriced too

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ownerArmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great!!”
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Have eaten here a few times and can't fault it. The food is first rate as is the service. Just can't get parked near it!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jojoportadown72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Night out with friends”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

On arrival we were greeted by a friendly young lady and shown to our table. We were a group of 6 aged 50+. Unfortunately we were given a table that we had to get up on high stools and a bench. The bench reminded me of primary school with my feet dangling about 18 inches above the floor. The staff were very friendly and interacted with us which was great. The food was excellent although we all found it to have too much salt. There was a great variety to choose from and we will be back, preferably to a lower seat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aidbcorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Excellent fish restaurant”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Passing through on business, and the previous reviews of this place didn't let me down. This was a real gem of a restaurant, and I had a terrific piece of smoked haddock with fresh Hollandaise sauce. Shared a plate of nice mixed meats to start which was good too. My colleagues had a large portion of good seafood linguine, and nicely made fish and chips. Couldn't manage pudding as the portions were generous. Service was friendly and it is always a good sign that we had to wait for a table on a mid week night. Justifies it's rating, and is very reasonable in price too. £50 for three meals. Nice glass of Asahi to wash it all down with.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sargonix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gjibo's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Portadown, County Armagh
Portadown, County Armagh
 
Portadown, County Armagh
Portadown, County Armagh
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing