We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the largest house I have visited”
Review of Coughton Court

Coughton Court
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Alcester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Coughton Court has been home to the Throckmorton family for 600 years, this finest of Tudor houses stands testament to a family's courage in maintaining their beliefs. From a position of high favour to one of fear and oppression post-Reformation, the Throckmortons were leaders in a dangerous age, helping to bring about Catholic emancipation in the 19th century. Explore this story of fascinating personalities through the 'family album' of portraits and Catholic treasures around the house. Coughton is still very much a family home with an intimate feel: the Throckmorton family live here, managing the stunning gardens which they have created.
Melton Mowbray, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not the largest house I have visited”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The weather was terrible, very wet and had been for days. We were offered overshoes on entry, a good idea with the conditions. The house is very dark, so dark in places you cannot hardly see anything. The Tower is out of bounds except for the most nimble. It is hardly worth struggling up to the top floor as there is not a lot to see. A lot of the exhibits were not relevant to the house which is disappointing. There doesn’t seem to be any sense to the way things are displayed. Old stuff mixed with modern items and items with no connection to the house.
On the positive side, it was a nice lunch. The directions were a bit hit and miss as well. Even the lady on the door admitted that it was difficult to find your way around. Even being a National Trust member I shall not be making a return visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    199
    50
    12
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Littlestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful walled garden”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Greatly enjoyed the walled garden area, the wisteria 'trees' were in full bloom. Great inspiration for me to redo my own garden!

Hot day, we had a long wait for ice creams, staff seemed overwhelmed.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank roslyn105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An interesting property and wonderful woods and gardens”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

A delightful and interesting property. Lots of hands on activities. Recommended along with The Bluebell Wood walk. A lovely way to spend a few hours.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank stargazer385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
108 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Another quality National Trust site!”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely place with lots to explore. The site offers a beautiful house that we didnt go into (weather too nice), a woodland walk and riverside walk. There are also lovely walled gardens to look around, plenty of room for picnics and good quality food in the café. The only thing that let it down was the miserable sod serving in the shop! She had no manners or customer service at all! All other staff were as always great. Also 2 churches on site to see.

Helpful?
2 Thank archiep12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Lovely gardens and riverside walk”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We visited here today and very much enjoyed the gardens and the riverside walk. We didn't go inside the house because we have been many times before. It was a lovely afternoon but we were disappointed on ordering a filter coffee to notice that it was served from a vacuum flask!! Filter coffee should be freshly made and hot - not lukewarm out of a vacuum flask.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ysggem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coughton Court also viewed

 
Lapworth, Warwickshire
Alcester, Warwickshire
 

Been to Coughton Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing