We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Garden...Go smell the roses!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coughton Court

Coughton Court
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Alcester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Coughton Court has been home to the Throckmorton family for 600 years, this finest of Tudor houses stands testament to a family's courage in maintaining their beliefs. From a position of high favour to one of fear and oppression post-Reformation, the Throckmortons were leaders in a dangerous age, helping to bring about Catholic emancipation in the 19th century. Explore this story of fascinating personalities through the 'family album' of portraits and Catholic treasures around the house. Coughton is still very much a family home with an intimate feel: the Throckmorton family live here, managing the stunning gardens which they have created.
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Garden...Go smell the roses!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Coughton Court (National Trust House and Garden) was a really wonderful day out. We have been to 17gardens this year inc the likes of Waddeston Manor and Coughton was easily our favourite. The walled garden, herbaceous garden and grounds in general are beautifully designed, planted and kept. But the icing on the cake is the amazing and wonderfully fragrant rose garden, a little piece of heaven on earth.

The house was also great and interesting, good refreshment facilities and a reasonable entry fee, all in all a fabulous day out.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 05060708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    180
    47
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“No picnics allowed in the grounds!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

My family have been to Coughton Court many times before and as before brought with us a picnic which we planned to eat in the beautiful grounds. However, having laid out the rugs and got settled for the afternoon we were greeted by a volunteer member of staff (poor lady), who's job it was to move people on and direct them to alternative picnic sites. Unfortunately the alternative picnic areas are dire, either a cordoned off area in the car park (!), a small patch of roughly cut grass next to the children's play area which was rammed with people who'd been moved on by the 'picnic police', or a field across the river which was very rough ground and completely unsuitable. We were told that it was the Throckmorten family's decision not to allow picnics or ball games in the grounds anymore. A real shame as up till now it has been one of our favourite NT properties. If you plan on visiting the house, grounds and cafe then it is super, but definitely no longer suitable for picknicking families I'm afraid.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
10 Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran
Level Contributor
210 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely House with lovely grounds & gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We visited this property on a lovely day and really enjoyed all aspects of the house & gardens. The court itself was excellent and had a war theme on at the time which was very interesting covering the civil war and WWI and WWII. There is a lovely courtyard to sit in and have a cup of tea or icecream and a cafe/restaurant with plenty on offer for those needing refreshment. The walled garden, in particular, was beautiful with an abundance of roses in particular. Well worth a 2 hour visit or more.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Belpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
327 reviews
170 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We were fortunate that the weather was good so we were able to enjoy the House and the gardens. The House is very interesting given its history and as with most National Trust properties the tour and the information was well presented. We also enjoyed the tea shop.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank andrewlgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous Gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

The best NT garden in England. Despite very heavy rain, we spent a happy hour here. The rose garden is perhaps the highlight, but I also loved the bog garden. We decided to leave the house for another visit, but I'd recommend the tea shop (better than NT average) and the second hand books.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coughton Court also viewed

 
Lapworth, Warwickshire
Alcester, Warwickshire
 

Been to Coughton Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing