We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Interesting Visit

Coughton Court is part of the National Trust, however is still lived in by the Throckmorton family... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Oli_M_1980
,
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Always an interesting NT property to revisit

The house with the family history of the Throckmorton family and associated history English... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
morgan98
,
Alcester, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 825 reviews
  
Reviews (825)
Filter reviews
819 results
Traveller rating
450
272
64
22
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
450
272
64
22
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walled garden gunpowder plot national trust throckmorton family riverside walk gun powder interesting history usual nt timed tickets family history second hand bookshop nt properties lovely house room guides guy fawkes mary queen of scots full bloom
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 819 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

Coughton Court is part of the National Trust, however is still lived in by the Throckmorton family. We found it very interesting to hear the different stories and plots based around the Gunpowder Plot. The volunteers were very informative in each of the rooms. To enter the house you have to get a timed ticket when you first arrive.

Around the grounds there is also a walled gardens, a large lake and 2 churches to look around. There is a café as well however we didn’t go in as there was a very big queue.

Overall we have a very pleasant few hours.

Thank Oli_M_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

The house with the family history of the Throckmorton family and associated history English catholics and the Gunpowder plot
Cafe ,bookshop, gardens,walks plus Rose garden and walks Ample parking even when busy

Thank morgan98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Only a short ride from our hotel near Evesham we decided to visit the National Trust property at Coughton Court. We arrived before they were open but luckily it meant that as soon as it opened we were taken on an introductory tour (just the two of us) which covered a lot of the history and visited the major rooms. We then went on our own tour covering some of the areas not done on the tour. This included an exhibition of the Guy Fawkes plot and enabled me to climb the circular staircase to the roof.This was a little chaotic as some people tried to ascend when others were descending. However although partly disabled I made it and saw the priests hole on the way. The view was worth the effort. Well worth a visit if anywhere near the area.

Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

As we say a great place full of history. The staff are very knowledgable and friendly without being over the top as some National Trust volunteers can be. Beautiful house and gardens, well worth the visit. Will try and visit again but next time in the summer.

Thank Pete K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

With Gunpowder Treason and Plot just days away, it was an interesting and informative visit. I learned all about the back story behind the Guy Fawkes Plot. This is a Throckmorton house, one of the co-conspirators of Guy Fawkes. Imagine a world in which your beliefs are illegal, but so many people reading this will be too painfully aware of that, and you have Coughton Court. The employment of a friendly architect creating priest-holes up and down the country, the priests travelling between noble families exposing themselves to mortal peril, the Kingsmen hunting, the spy network intercepting coded messages, it's all here. Ripe for a decent television series I reckon, but I think it has been done already. Well worth a visit.

Thank Chris1of2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited on a busy Sunday morning to do the dog friendly walk. However we were not allowed beyond the welcome centre with the dog and so had to take it in shifts to use the toilets and could not treat ourselves to the wonderful NT tea and cakes. Many other NT propertied are more accommodating allowing dogs on short lead everywhere but inside the buildings. Come on Coughton Court please embrace us dog owners as there are a lot of out there.

Thank Jazzy1869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went with friends as we all have annual National Trust membership. The house is timed visits only and we were very impressed by the guy in the hall who set the scene giving lots of information. The other rooms were interesting, but I was disappointed that we only saw a few rooms so were only in the house about 40 minutes. The Abdication letter was very interesting to see and the dining room table looked lovely.

The grounds are very pretty and well maintained, the shop is well stocked and the cafe was ok.

Thank 186400Caroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great welcome and volunteers very knowledgeable. Lovely gardens too. Well worth a visit and great exhibition on the Gunpowder plot.

Thank Shazma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a good day at good day at coughton court , staff attentive and friendly.the gardens as lovely and well maintained.

Thank mathew_king
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely NT property with loads of history. Beautiful grounds, lovely cafe and shop. Allow plenty of time to visit the 2 churches on the estate

Thank margaret h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews