We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, courteous staff, reasonable prices”
Review of The Bear Hotel

The Bear Hotel
Ranked #13 of 41 Restaurants in Alcester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food, courteous staff, reasonable prices”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Attended a reception and the above says it all really. would definitely go again and recommend to others.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank louisepeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    15
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Meh.....”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Had a meal there recently.... No atmosphere at all pretty sterile..... Food was ok nothing special in my book. Won't be eating there again. On a cold evening it's a good idea to turn some heating on! Was cold inside.

Helpful?
1 Thank George A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mouthwatering”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

What a find this place was!
Stayed at Travelodge and wanted somewhere relaxed and friendly that served good old-fashioned food. Boy did we find it here!
Greeting was really friendly without being OTT. Barmaid was helpful when we asked about menus. Service was very good...and food was excellent. My other half likes his grub piping hot and he got it here.
Despite saying we were going to try somewhere else in the town, we ended up going back to 'The Bear' twice in three days.
The second meal was just as good as the first.
Many many thanks for quality food, great service and a welcoming atmosphere - we wish you were our local!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money, delicious food”
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

We went to The Bear for lunch today. It's exceptionally clean and with nice separate areas to eat. We ordered baguettes, they were absolutely scrummy, pretty big and with a nice little salad. Waiting time was pretty short too, which was a bonus. Really good value for money...we'll definitely return.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TTRacer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and great service”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Friendly, helpful staff. Good range of food on offer. Beer garden on the edge of the Avon was a beautiful setting. Beer etc. good choice. Would visit again!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bear Hotel also viewed

Alcester, Warwickshire
Alcester, Warwickshire
 
Alcester, Warwickshire
Alcester, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Bear Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing