We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alcester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coughton Lodge Guest House
Ranked #6 of 8 Alcester B&B and Inns
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Amazing Place!”
Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

We visited this place with a large group of family and friends. It was amazing! Beautiful old house around the suntrap courtyard with 10 en suite rooms, big kitchen, dining & living rooms. Swimming pool, barbecue areas, tennis courts. Wow and a Tudor historic house over the road. Brilliant place for a get together run by some really nice people. Would love to go back and highly recommend this place as would everyone of our party. Nice pubs nearby along with all of the Cotswolds in easy reach. Brilliant!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank John D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    22
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
33
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

My friends and I threw a Hen party at Coughton Lodge for 15 people in October 2012.

Location: Depends what you’re looking for – for us it was perfect. Rural, quiet, private but with a pub close by and taxiing distance to Stratford (as we were only doing 1 trip). If you intend to spend a lot of time in Stratford, then this place probably isn’t for you (about half an hours drive – between £20 and £35 in a taxi dependent upon time of journey - Defo worth a research in to better taxi firms, we used A1 and they were really inconsistent with prices which made it hard to plan.)

Its also only about 20 mins from a fab spa called Barcelo Billesley Manor Hotel – well worth a visit if youre after some r & r.

UK wise, it was a great ‘in the middle’ spot as our group was traveling from Scotland, Leeds, London, Luton, Winchester etc).

Rooms / Facilities etc: To find accommodation like this for such a large group is a rarity - all en-suite bedrooms, 2 living rooms, ample parking, massive dining room, great Kitchen. All bedrooms had a tv / dvd combo and free view. Both living rooms had tv and dvd. There is a washing machine and tumble dryer. Access to a pool in the summer months . . what more could one ask for?

I catered for all 15 of us for the weekend including a three course dinner, full fry up and lunches and I did not struggle for pans, plates, oven dishes, serving spoons, toast racks etc. The only issue we had was the flipping tin openers didn’t work (but I ran yup to the pub and they lent me there’s).

The only thing I would say is that it was a little scruffy in places. It would have bene lovely if it could have been touched up, but, totally understand with group accommodation its heard to keep on top of.

Food & Drinks: Kitchen facilities perfect, also ate in the Throckmorton arms (2 min walk) and the food was fab and very reasonably priced. We also ate in the Encore in Stratford, again, beautiful food and very reasonable.

Staff: Didn’t see the owners, but we bumped in to the cleaning guys as we arrived, and they were super friendly.

General: This would be a great place for any type of family or friends get together.

All in all a little gem of a find :o)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Coughton Lodge is now let out as a whole property with 9 double rooms and one room with 4 single beds. Nineteen of us enjoyed a family get together and had a great time. All the bedrooms are en-suite and have their own TV/DVD player. The lay out is such that you are able to disappear for peace and quiet if you wish. There are 2 lounges, and a lovely,beamed, dining room where we could all eat together.
The heated swimming pool is by the owner's house next door and is in a lovely walled area with hanging baskets and plenty of seating. Visitors can only use the pool until 5pm unless they pay extra for evening use. The grass tennis court, in the owner's garden, can be used at any time. We hardly saw the owners but they arrived immediately when we phoned to say the electricity in the kitchen had tripped. It was remedied in minutes!

The only disadvantage to the house is the extremely busy road that runs past. It took us a good 5 minutes to cross the road to visit Coughton Court. The drive to the house is literally over the road from the Lodge. Coughton Court is a National Trust property that was linked to the Gunpowder plot and is well worth a visit. Stratford upon Avon is only a 20 minute drive.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the house are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snow-Wight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I really enjoyed staying here. Beautiful setting, could see horses outside our window! Wow what a room I was impressed with the beams and high ceiling. Bathroom was very big. Breakfast was prepared to order which is great as I don't like hotels that use hot plates to keep food warm. Very quiet even though near a main road. We stayed as we had to attend a funeral, hosts kept to themselves not really into talking think they thought we were very young but we are a lot older than we look! They thawed once we attempted a few times to make conversation. Hopefully they realised we were mature minded youngsters. I really enjoyed my stay irrelevant of the circumstances why we were there.

Room Tip: The room closest to the horse paddock was lovely for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2011

Hotel very clean and welcoming. Room on small side but very comfortable with good bathroom and facilities. Staff very welcoming. Excellant English breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigeliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Very clean, proportionate rooms with lovely oak beams and great value for money. Set in a good rural location, although the traffic noise kept me awake but my partner slept like a log! The service and breakfast was exceptional. We would without doubt stay here again and definately recommend to friends and family. Lots of country pubs around for an evening meal if you prefer but also only a short 25 minute drive to Stratford-Upon-Avon. Wonderful! Wonderful! Wonderful!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilychip123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2010

My wife and I arrived at the Coughton Lodge for a surprise birthday weekend.

We arrived into the courtyard area with it being very dark (perhaps some lighting may be a good idea??) to find an envelope with our room keys attatched by the front door with a welcome note and a contact phone number if we had any problems.

We arrived in our room, which to our horror was room 3 which had been mentioned a few times on Tripadvisor about a nightmare bed that sqeaked and made noise at any turn, we placed our bag on the bed and the noise was so loud and there would be no way we could have stayed in this room.

We then called and asked if we could change rooms and Graham came straight around and gave us a new room this was Room 4 right by the front door! Perfect!

The room itself was on the small side and a little cramped but the shower and toilet was fantastic and the dvd/tv in the room was a nice touch. The bed was quite hard but ok for the duration of our stay.

We got up to have breakfast and found the breakfast room to be a bit chilly but to be expected in a 600 year old House! The Breakfast which I had was a full english, quite a long wait for this to arrive and when it did it was just warm, quite the disappointment after reading reviews n here stating their breakfast is a must!! It was just OK. The other items on offer was good, freshly made coffee, teas all the usual and yoghurts, cereal etc etc.

The location was perfect as it was only 15 minutes drive from Stratford Upon Avon and the pubs nearby was ok.

Graham always made his way to the Breakfast room in the mornings so say hello to everyone, which is nice.

The hallway itself was packed with locval info and a tuckshop with cans of coke, chocolate bars, bottles of water and crisps and snacks all priced at 50p with an honesty box to put the money in. This was great for those midnight munchies!

The greatest touch was that you are able to use the Facilities at the near by Barcelo, which has full spa facilities all of course free of charge for your use whilst you stay there!!! Sauna & Steam rooms were perfect!!

I would go back here for a short stay but wish next time we can have one of the larger rooms that exist in the 12 Bedroomed B&B.

It was a nice place and we will return!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrwurzal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alcester
0.8 mi away
Kings Court Hotel
Kings Court Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alcester
602 reviews
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Stratford Alcester
0.2 mi away
The Throckmorton
The Throckmorton
#2 of 3 in Alcester
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,038 reviews
1.4 mi away
Arrow Mill
Arrow Mill
#3 of 8 in Alcester
107 reviews
4.7 mi away
Broom Hall Inn
Broom Hall Inn
#1 of 1 in Broom
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coughton Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coughton Lodge Guest House

Property: Coughton Lodge Guest House
Address: Coughton, Alcester B49 5HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Alcester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Alcester
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Coughton Lodge Guest House Hotel Alcester
Coughton Lodge Guest House Alcester, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing