We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly welcome, cosy room, quiet location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Orchard House B&B

Orchard House B&B
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orchard House B&B
Ranked #2 of 2 Twyford B&B and Inns
hastings
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Friendly welcome, cosy room, quiet location”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We only stayed one night whilst visiting a relative in Colden Common we were made very welcome on arrival by Susan. Breakfast is served in the room, choose the night before and it's brought up to the room. My husband had a cooked breakfast which he says was very enjoyable.
Be aware that the house is down an un-made lane, if you are walking back late at night a torch might be a good idea.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deborah r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    13
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
19
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Romney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed at this lovely Bed and Breakfast for one night only on the way to Dorset for a short break.
It is very cosy and the place is spotlessly clean. Susan, the owner was so helpful on our arrival and welcomed us to her house.
My father stayed in the Room at the side of the house which has its own entrance, my son and I stayed in the twin room in the main house.
Beds are very comfortable and there are tea & coffee making facilities and a TV.
The breakfast is delicious and is served in your room as they have no Dining Room. My son and I actually really liked this idea and it was plentiful and hot.
I would also recommend The Phoenix Pub which is 5 minutes walk away, the food is very good and the welcome is warm from the Landlord.
All in all a lovely nights stay in a very quiet B & B. Loved it!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Algepig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergele
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Our 3 day visit to Winchester was greatly enhanced by our choice of accommodation at Orchard House B&B in the atrractive village of Twyford. Our room was quiet and comfortable, with an excellent breakfast served between 7 & 9 in our room. The 3 mile bus journey into Winchester was convenient and efficient and the walk back to Twyford along the river was both easy and interesting. The local pub (The Phoenix) serves good food at a reasonable price and The Bridge at Shawford, just 2 miles away, can be highly recommended. Our Landlady couldn't have been more helpful and we would definitely recommend Orchard House.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

we stayed here 12th aug 13 for the one night whilst traveling from visiting friends at portsmouth . the location for access to winchester is easy and short. the b&b is in a quiet location in a short gravel lane, it is literally 3 mins walk to the phoenix pub which serves good value for money meals, really worth calling into to.
the b&b owner is really friendly and made us feel welcome immediately, the house is very well presented , the room is a high standard, very hot water readily available. the breakfast (served in your room, which if i'm honest that was a reason for staying here) was the best breakfast we've had while staying in b&b's, so much choice and it really was plentiful and piping hot infact it was delicious. i would highly recommend a stay here to anyone, and we would return .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tyrena b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed in the bedroom at the side of the house with its own entrance. It was clean, comfortable, quiet and we were served with a delicious and generous sized breakfast. They were also very helpful and accommodating with me bringing a toddler and baby. Would definitely stay there again and would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane-DCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullingar, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Stayed here for two nights. Nice room, warm and comfortable. Landlady very friendly and hospitable. Free wifi, designated parking, gorgeous little village location. Excellent pub food within a short walking distance. Breakfast cooked to order and served in your room. You could not want any more than this. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AWDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We stayed at Orchard House 2 Nov 12 and were hugely impressed by the genuine welcome, the cosy quality of the room, the decor, the feel of the place, the little touches and the prompt, plentiful and delicious breakfast. The hosts could not do enough for us but they weren't in any way obtrusive. I just wish we were down that way more often to take advantage of what must be one of the finest B&Bs in the country. Why pay daft prices for expensive hotels when you can have a much nicer stay at Orchard House. Very highly recommended. Many thanks to the proprietors.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calderbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twyford
3.3 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
957 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
#4 of 13 in Winchester
618 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,669 reviews
5.1 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard House B&B

Property: Orchard House B&B
Address: Orchard House Manor Road, Twyford, Winchester SO21 1RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester > Twyford
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Twyford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Orchard House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Orchard House B&B Twyford, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing