We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An oasis away from the rat race”
other traveller has booked this property
The Stables
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Stables
A woodburner for chilly evenings A well-lit dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
The Stables
A woodburner for chilly evenings
A well-lit dining area
Soft white walls and new oak floors
Comfy sofas
A well-lit dining area
Enjoy the garden from inside
Spring breakfast
A well equipped oak kitchen
The large, airy double bedroom
...with kingsize bed
'country style'
A separate shower room with large walk-in shower
Relax in the garden
Lots of attractive plants and grasses
Gorgeous planting
The Stables
Sunrise over the fields
Meet the animals - horses
chickens
piglets
wonderful walking country
Winchester Cathedral
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Twyford, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Topsy557f
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“An oasis away from the rat race”
Reviewed 19 September 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Stables, especially the peace and quiet as our trip necessitated a lot of travelling.

It was very nicely fitted out, ideal for a couple and Marion, the owner, went out of her way to make our stay so enjoyable.

True it was a tad difficult to find the first time but when the satnav had the route it was a doddle.

It is ideally situated for touring Hampshire, Wiltshire and Dorset.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C
Sutton Coldfield
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well recommended - quiet location with all home comforts”
Reviewed 21 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Well executed conversion with good quality amenities make this a great place to stay.
We found plenty of places to visit including Winchester, 4 National Trust properties, Watercress railway, Bishops Waltham, National Motor Museum at Beaulieu and the Historic Naval docks in Portsmouth.
I would advise you to study the map before leaving. We followed satnav instructions on the way which took us down miles of very narrow lanes with few passing areas. We found that going out and returning through the village of Upham (1 mile to the south) was easier.
Really enjoyed our stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolU61
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best 2 person accomodation ever”
Reviewed 1 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The Stables was the best 2 person accommodation that we have ever stayed in. It was the perfect retreat away from the daily hustle and bustle of urban life. The detail by the owners was exceptional from the very well equipped kitchen right down to a little bedside clock. The property was well laid out and very clean and well decorated, a lot of effort has been put in by the owners to make it very comfortable and welcoming. It would not matter what the weather was like outside, if it was wet and cold it would be cosy and warm with the log burner and underfloor heating and if it was hot and sunny there is the use of a magnificent private garden. You'll find it difficult to go home after experiencing a stay at the Stables.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Reviewed 24 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kellynmaf...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location for a relaxing stay!”
Reviewed 12 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Stables for three nights. The accommodation is faultless and the owners have thought of every last detail. The location is close to Winchester and perfect for a day out to the cathedral and military museums. We would highly recommend the Stables and would definitely like to return to enjoy a few more glasses of wine around the log burner! Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxwallace...
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 14 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Accomodation & surroundings were great.
The Stables as beautifully furnished and fitted,everything you could want was supplied.
Owners were available but invisible.
Highly recommended for a stay in this beautiful part of the country.
Great base for Winchester, Chisester,Portsmouth,Southampton.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Position
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William N
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Christmas”
Reviewed 9 July 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and 1 spent 5 days here from 23rd December last year and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The cottage was laid out to make us feel right at home with a charming lay out, a comfortable living space and a log fire to cosy-up to in the evenings.
The area surrounding had a variety of countryside walks with great views over the Winchester countryside.
A big thank you to Justin and Merriam who hosted our stay perfectly and made our Christmas extra special. We look forward to returning in the future.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing