We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite view”
Review of Mussenden Temple

Mussenden Temple
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Part of "Downhill Demesne & Hezlett House" See main listing for full details.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“My favourite view”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Walk down to the Mussenden Temple and prepare to have your breath taken away by the view! Benone Strand unfolding to your left...Castlerock and Portstewart to your right...Inishowen and the Hebridean Isles...and the sunsets...well need I say any more!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank sellit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    75
    15
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great views, not much else”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

There are some amazing views from the temple but the main house at Downhill Demesne itself is just a ruin of no particular interest. The doubling up of the ticket with Hezlett house down the road just about justifies paying for it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Johnnyshaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great walks and views”
Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

Parked at the bishop gate, (mugged by the national trust as usual - £4.70 each, with gift aid set as default - GRINDS MY GEARS but this did get us access to hazzelt house which is rubbish and is tacked n t this ticket to make it feel like your not paying for fresh air) walked through the gardens brillant, up to the temple and it was open - very interesting, round the downhill house, down to the pond around it. Super walks, me the wife and the dog loved it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank NoHassleToTheCastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maghera, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“What a view”
Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

No matter how many times I go here the temple and the surrounding countryside, landscape and sheer cliff drop always impresses me.

Park your car at the gate and enjoy and relaxing 20 minute stroll with the sheep and feast your eyes on the temple.

I have never managed to gain access to the temple but the location makes for some phenomenal photos.

On a cold and blustery day wrap up in your coat and put on some wellies as it can get baltic cold with the wind just coming straight off the ocean.

Free entry to this site and well signposted. Follow the signs for castle rock from coleraine and you can go wrong.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank europelover26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“amazing !!!!”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

i was able to get inside the temple and it was amazing , got some fantastic photographs, the views are awesome, a definate must see , i have visited this temple on many occasions as i live near by , every visit is amazing .

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SanIan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mussenden Temple also viewed

Portrush, County Antrim
Bushmills, County Antrim
 
Castlerock, County Londonderry
 

Been to Mussenden Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing