We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Strand House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 16 Portstewart B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

An excellent reception from guest house owners. Room was very clean with lots of wee extra's.
Breakfast was beautiful including organic produce and freshly squeezed orange juice.
We were made feel very welcome from beginning to end.
We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnston1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

We had an excellent experience at the Stand House. 1 st the loction is wonderful and so fine to be able to get our an walk in the area. The rooms are very nice and the breakfast in morning was excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rollinsthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The standard of the welcome was only bettered by the classy room,even the door furniture looked like a jewel. Our breakfast was perfection fresh coconut! French toast WOW
We only had one night so need to return to breathe the good fresh air and have the best nights sleep in a long time. Thank you Ernestine and Tom. Noelle

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noellemacaulay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I was delighted to have stayed at the Strand House. The location was ideal The hospitality shown was excellent. The food was first class and the decor was of a high degree. I would without a doubt highly recommend the Strand House. I would definitely come back

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryWa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This B&B is thanks to the owner very special.
The style is modern and all is very looked after. The bathrooms and bedrooms are decorated with the latest standard, and so is the luxury touch of accessories of a ward robe and in case you have forgotten your shampoo and cream or soap etc.
The cozy but also clean and fresh style of all rooms in combination with the excellent and freshly cooked breakfast with local products makes your stay a wonderful experience.
You feel warmly welcomed and you do not want to leave again……

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monique-Alexand... K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived at Strand House and were greeted by Ernestine we knew it was going to be a special time away. We were just there for a night away with no children and boy was it relaxing. On arrival Ernestine made us a pot of tea with home baked scones, fruit bread and shortbread, all beautiful. We sat in the upstairs sitting room over looking the sea, to have our tea. We were staying at the back of the house overlooking the lovely well tended garden and didnt miss the fact that all the seaview rooms were gone when we booked.

The standard of the rooms was extremly high. From the bed linen to the "pure lakes" shampoo, bodywash and hand and body lotion. Lovely egyptian cotton towels and just general luxury throughout the house. Even down to the lovely smell of lilies flowing through the halls.

The breakfast was way over and above what we could have expected. We were greeted by Tom and Ernestine who are so friendly and warm and do genuine. We were shown to our table and present with a menu, basically there is nothing that is too much trouble for them. We were brought some freshly squeezed orange juice, then fresh fruit salad with a selection of yoghurt. There was also cereals and porridge which we could have had but chose to go straight to the cooked breakfast which was smelling delicious from the kitchen. We were presented with a lovely full Irish breakfast which had the nicest sausage and bacon i had tasted!! Ernestine told me that she gets the sausages specially made and the bacon cured for the B&B.

As my husband said, anything that could possibly be done to make this an excellent B&B is done!!

We cannot wait to return to this little piece of Portstewart luxury and we highly recommend it. Its not to be missed!!!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

For those seeking a top quality guest house run by two simply lovely hosts then look no further. The Strand room we stayed in was super; with tea & coffee facilities, homemade biscuits (that would tempt anyone watching their waistline!), comfortable living space, superbly decorated and a lovely sea view.

The Strand has an excellent car park, is within 10 minutes walk of the main Portstewart high street and for those walking to watch the Northwest 200 approximately 20 mins from York Corner - comfortable walks.

Tom and Ernestine are both very friendly and helpful, always happy to chat and provide information on local facilities to make the stay easier. Breakfast was delightful with a great choice in a nice dining room.

We plan to return to watch the Northwest 200 in the future and wouldn't consider staying anywhere other than the Strand and will be recommending to anyone else also seeking somewhere to stay in that area of NI.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ctrchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portstewart
1.2 mi away
Cromore Halt Inn
Cromore Halt Inn
#1 of 4 in Portstewart
223 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,877 reviews
7.6 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
715 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Anchorage Inn
The Anchorage Inn
#2 of 4 in Portstewart
252 reviews
3.6 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 105 Strand Road, Portstewart BT55 7LZ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Portstewart
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Portstewart
Price Range: £112 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Strand House Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strand House is a luxury 5 star NITB rated Bed and Breakfast in Portstewart and is situated on the north coast of Ireland. Our boutique style Bed and Breakfast is situated 3 minutes from our championship links golf course, (soon to host the Irish Open) and the famous Harry's Shack Restaurant . Strand House is also home to a glorious beach and interesting and varied walks. Guests can enjoy our delicious home-made breakfast with locally sourced produce and all dietary requirements are catered for. Our speciality homemade Guinness bread is just an example of our commitment to using local produce. All our bedrooms are spacious with king sized beds, most have sea views, controlled underfloor heating, ensuite bathrooms and some with Jacuzzi baths. We are centrally located for championship golf courses in Portstewart, Castlerock, Portrush and Ballyliffen and have storage and drying facilities in a secure purpose built facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Strand House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand House Hotel Portstewart
Strand House Bed And Breakfast Portstewart, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing