We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed Family Gathering!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ice House Bar and Restaurant - CLOSED

The Ice House Bar and Restaurant
Cuisines: British, European, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, View
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We provide Lunch, Evening, and a take-away service. Our bar and restaurant have extended opening hours in the summer season. Serving lunch from 1-4pm Monday to Thursday, and 12.30pm-4pm Friday to Sunday.Serving evening menu 5-8.45pm Monday to Thursday, 5-9.30pm Fri and Sat, and 5-9pm on a Sunday.Our takeaway service is available during restaurant hours, however, depending on how busy the restaurant is we may be unable to accommodate take-aways. (Particularly at weekends)We have a wide range of cocktails available made with only the freshest of ingredients.We are a child friendly restaurant, but please be aware that due to licencing laws children are not permitted to be on the premises after 9pm, so please consider this before booking a later table if you have children in your company.
Stirling, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Relaxed Family Gathering!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Joined other members of my family (Sisters, Brother-in-law, Nieces etc) for a family Sunday lunch at the Ice House.
Reception on arrival was friendly and relaxed and set the scene for the whole afternoon. The spacious dining area with views of the harbour and bay provided a tranquil backdrop. The food was excellent value for money, the service relaxed, friendly and very helpful and the company tremendous.
We weren't rushed in our meal and the staff conveniently handy and tentative when we needed them. Lunch turned into a 4 hour relaxed family afternoon facilitated by the staff.
I would highly recommend the Ice house to anyone wanting a chilled dining experience with great food at fantastic value for money.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    50
    20
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Incredible view food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Had a great meal served by very friendly staff. Luckily we arrived early so we got seats by the window which have amazing views over the Atlantic and Portstewart, great menu and all of the food we ordered was excellent at a very reasonable price. Thoroughly recommended for a great family day out!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Really nice food and a nice place to relax and the staff are very friendly and helpful..would go back any day

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sunday Roast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Enjoyed a gorgeous Sunday Roast here. Roast Beef, Mash, Roasties, Cauliflower cheese, Carrots, Yorkshire pudding and rich gravy.All with a bottle of Merlot and great view of the Portstewart sunset. Its now Wednesday and im licking my lips Delicious!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JXB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great food and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

The ice house in Portstewart is now under new management and we decided to try it last week.
We were able to book a table which is great as the likes of the Ramore and Harbour Bar, you can't book unless it is for a large party and there can be quite a wait sometimes. We had a starter of Nachos which was plenty for the four of us to share, don't think anyone could manage to eat this by themselves and then eat a main course. The fillet steak was lovely, cooked to perfection and the build a burger was amazing. The sides are also great as there are a few different choices is have never seen anywhere else like chilli and cheese fries (lovely). If you have room for dessert you should go for it. The staff are fantastic, very friendly and attentive. We went on the Monday night and booked to go back again that Friday night and had a great meal on both occasions. we will definately be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon8864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ice House Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Portstewart, County Londonderry
Portstewart, County Londonderry
 
Portstewart, County Londonderry
Portstewart, County Londonderry
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing