We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good times!”
Review of The Anchorage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Anchorage Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portstewart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here on Saturday night 12/10/13. From check in to check out our time there was amazing! Staff very helpful and pleasnt! We took advantage of the bar, bistro and the on-site club! Everything all under one roof! Rooms were very clean and well presented, food very good and club lots of fun! No issues at all really except there's no on site parking! Bit of a camel trek to park a few streets away! Well done to the staff, we will defiantly be back again!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Fartytowels1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

I had previously been a customer in the bar/lounge areas of these premises but had never stayed and I suppose it wouldn't have been on my list if I had been in the area. However after a recent stay I would have no hesitation in returning.

The welcome was warm and friendly. Access to my accommodation was up some stairs and along a couple of winding corridors, which may not suit the elderly or infirm, but my room was spotlessly clean with adequate supplies of all hotel room requirements. A large flat-screen telly was also part of the furniture. Although close to the seafront the view from the room is somewhat restricted because of the specific location of the hotel. I was at the rear of the hotel so no night-time noise was audible.

Breakfast was as good as I've had in any hotel and was served by genuinely friendly staff.

The only downside I found would have been the attitude of some of the bar staff. I ordered a pint of guinness which was quite poor - (I later found out that the guinness service man had just arrived on the premises) - but when I stated it was poor the barman emptied it out and promptly charged me for a bottle of beer I ordered instead!!

This, however, would not put me off staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alasdair50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

On my first visit I was a little apprehensive from looking at the outside of the building. For the price I expected the rooms to be maybe a little worn, and the company a little young. I could not have been more wrong. The rooms were beautiful. Also very clean. The bar was warm and friendly with a good mix of age groups. We ate in the bar one night and the restaurant another. Both were excellent and good value. The decor in the restaurant was beautiful and interesting. I would highly recommend this complex. It is handy walking distance from anything in Portstewart but you may find you don't bother to leave the premises.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the building can be noisy as they overlook a taxi rank.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JillWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Myself and my husband stayed here on a Friday night in September. The room was small, with a double and single bed in the room, but it was extreamly clean and the under floor heating made the room quite warm. We faced the road and initally were concered about traffic noise but we didn't hear any cars, this could have been due to the night club. This did keep us awake. We had dinner downstairs in the bar rather than the restaurant and the food was delicious. The breakfast in the morning was cooked to order and was just as good as dinner. A great spot if you're out for a night clubbing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rokocoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Extremely friendly welcome at reception, lovely clean room with comfortable beds. Free and fast wifi. Perhaps could have better towels, they were a bit small and thin and let down the lovely bathroom. Food and drink in bar is super, breakfast served in the restaurant/night club is very good and the chap serving breakfast was top notch, very friendly indeed. Best thing of all though was that they have a lower room rate for single occupancy - thank you for that consideration for the single traveller. Much better value than the Premier Inn in Coleraine which was my other option to stay at. Will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on second floor at the back, much quieter and you get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SolanaMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Portstewart is one of the nicest places I have visited. Friendly people, good service and easy going. The anchorage Inn was one of the places we went to, and the location was scouted for a later trip.
A short travel to great locations like The Giants Causeway, Bushmills and Coleraine. It is not complicated to travel by taxi, train or bus in this area. All of these forms for travel are relatively cheap. We used taxi a lot, got a good deal by selecting the same driver every time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 226926Stein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Myself and my wife stayed here on a Friday night in September. The room was clean and the under floor heating made the room pleasantly warm.
There is a night club in the hotel and this will keep you a awake, unless like us you have consumed a considerable amount of alcohol.
We ate in the restaurant and the food was both reasonably priced and delicious (I would recommend the mussels)
We then went for a few drinks in various pubs in Portstewart before returning to the hotel bar, we found the staff in all the places we visited to be friendly and the atmosphere friendly and busy.
The breakfast in the morning was cooked to order and was very good,
We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Check if night club is on during your visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goonersid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portstewart
0.8 mi away
Cromore Halt Inn
Cromore Halt Inn
#1 of 4 in Portstewart
226 reviews
3 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
7.8 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#3 of 8 in Portrush
722 reviews
3.1 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
729 reviews
7.2 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage Inn

Address: 87-89 The Promenade, Portstewart BT55 7AG, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Portstewart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portstewart
Price Range: £57 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Anchorage Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guest Inn boasts 20 cosmopolitan style en suite bedrooms, all of which are finished to the highest standards. The multi Award winning Anchor Bar was established in 1898 and has won many accolades in recent years including Best Visitor/Tourism Pub and Northern Irelands Pub Food of the year 2014. Residents have complimentary access to all areas of our entertainment during their stay with us... The perfect way to use up that extra energy before bedtime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Anchorage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage Hotel Portstewart
Anchorage Hotel Portstewart
The Anchorage Inn Portstewart, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing