We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel; fair value, good service”
Review of The Anchorage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Anchorage Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portstewart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Room clean, good size and amenities, good WiFii good service and friendly staff; no parking though. Being from the US I didn't see attraction of the location, but it is convenient to Giants Causeway and Bushmills

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Quinnscommentary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is the first review I've written on here, as I've never felt the need to before. We stayed in room 205, and when we entered the room it was uncomfortably hot. There was a sign on the wall saying that there was no point in adjusting the thermostat, as it takes 24hrs for the underfloor heating to cool down. There was a large fan in the room, which would suggest that this is a recurring problem. Even opening the window, and turning on the fan made no difference. At two in the morning the room was like a sauna, and neither of us were able to sleep, so I went down to complain. A noisy air conditioning unit was wheeled up to our room, and staff explained that this was a frequent problem with rooms 204 and 205 because hot water pipes run under the rooms, so I have my doubts as to whether the problem really lies with underfloor heating. The air conditioning unit was very noisy and, coupled with the loud music coming from the nightclub downstairs, resulted in the worst night's sleep we've ever had in a hotel. This room should not be sold to paying guests, as it is not fit for purpose and staff know it. On check out the next morning, no discount was offered. Avoid these rooms if you want to sleep at all.

Room Tip: If you're sold room 204 or 205, check out immediately.
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Cyclone85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The Anchorage Inn is convenient to town. No onsite parking or leisure centre gives the hotel a 4 out of 5. Don't take room 106 but ask for a sea view. We had a nice meal at the hotel. Rooms are small but neat and quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tomapar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

One night getaway & was absolutely perfect!

Accommodation is beautiful. Bedroom/dining room/bar all of 5* quality!

Location----You could not get better.

Would totally recommend this hotel & will most certainly be booking here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank attractaharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Nice stop over before heading for Londonderry. Hotel is cute and cosy. Family room is spacious.Car parking is on the street side, there is always space.

If feeling hungry in the middle of the night, food is always available outside. Restaurant in the hotel last order is at 9pm.

Breakfast is excellent and staff is so friendly and happy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margie961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

The Anchorage Inn is lovely. The rooms are clean and really nicely decorated, the staff are pleasant and the breakfast is amazing.

Some of the rooms have fabulous views of the sea and the promenade.

The restaurant is top notch, but there is plenty of options on the promenade also. Parking can be a little difficult in peak times but all in all great location, great place.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ali90cm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Have just returned from a 2 night stay and we were very impressed. When booking we were told that there was music every night and that some guests found it noisy and others didn't notice. We decided to take a chance as we liked the convenience of the location to Portstewart. We were definitely well warned!
The Inn was very tastefully furnished and our bedroom, though small, had absolutely everything we needed. Every desire/need was catered for. Copies of the local daily paper were available each morning at reception.
The choice of breakfast was excellent and all cooked freshly exactly to our requirements - it's not often that the breakfast menu offers an omelette as a choice and it is highly recommended.
The evening menu was wide and varied and very reasonably priced. The atmosphere was warm, welcoming and comfortable. Staff were professional, friendly and obviously enjoy their work and the food certainly didn't disappoint.
Now the noise level. Having been told about it on booking we expected to hear the "boom, boom, boom" of modern music for hours. It didn't happen. On the first night it was quite warm and we had both the windows open. Our room was on the first floor directly above the entrance and all we heard were the young people talking when they came out at 1.30am to go home. By 2.00am it was all silent. On our second night we kept the windows closed and we never heard a sound.
The only drawback, and given the location, there isn't anything the owners can do about it, is the lack of car parking facilities. There is a public car park opposite but it is very small and almost impossible to get a space in.
We would highly recommend The Anchorage and everything about it and we hope to return to it soon.

Room Tip: The standard is excellent throughout though if you don't want to climb too many stairs opt for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joybells36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portstewart
0.8 mi away
Cromore Halt Inn
Cromore Halt Inn
#1 of 4 in Portstewart
225 reviews
1.8 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#3 of 8 in Portrush
713 reviews
3.0 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Magherabuoy House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Portrush
400 reviews
7.2 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
715 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage Inn

Address: 87-89 The Promenade, Portstewart BT55 7AG, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Portstewart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portstewart
Price Range: £48 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Anchorage Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guest Inn boasts 20 cosmopolitan style en suite bedrooms, all of which are finished to the highest standards. The multi Award winning Anchor Bar was established in 1898 and has won many accolades in recent years including Best Visitor/Tourism Pub and Northern Irelands Pub Food of the year 2014. Residents have complimentary access to all areas of our entertainment during their stay with us... The perfect way to use up that extra energy before bedtime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Anchorage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage Hotel Portstewart
Anchorage Hotel Portstewart
The Anchorage Inn Portstewart, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing