We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful stay”
Review of Wanderin' Heights

Wanderin' Heights
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wanderin' Heights
Ranked #9 of 15 Portstewart B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

After our great stay here last year we decided to visit this year for a slightly longer trip. We weren't lucky enough to get our room from last time (room 3) but were more than happy with the room we got. It had beautiful furniture, a flat screen digital tv, and excellent tv and coffee facilities. As was the case last time we couldn't fault the cleanliness and the breakfast in the morning was just perfect! Hopefully will be back again next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marymccrossan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    19
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
44
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I have read all the reviews about this B&B, finally found that maybe we were just very unlucky. The room provided to us was really small, but that didnt bother me at all. The most frustrating thing is the bed sheets, duvet cover and pillow cases were not changed, they look quite dirty in my opinion and I also discovered some hairs of the others in the bed. Well, my partner wanted me to keep quiet and he didnt want me to make a fuss of anything at all. So basically I was sleeping on that bed fully dressed for one night. The breakfast was fine and that lady was really chatty,and these are all true. But for me, cleanness is the No.1 thing for choosing accommodation.I am sure I wont visit this B&B again.

Room Tip: To find more websites to read more reviews about the accommodation you intend to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Good Breakfast, lovely room and very clean throughout, stayed for four nights and well situated for easy access for sight-seeing, made to feel welcome by owner and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, no complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank purplecupdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here back in sept 2009, we arrived late on in the evening but the lady was still very helpful and was able to offer us a room for the night. We had the double room upstairs with the bay window. My partner and I had needed a talk and we had a few drinks in the room and sat in the two chairs in the bay window lookin out over the sea and coast. We talked and it was just perfect so for that reason this b&b will always have a special place in my heart. Thank-you for having us :)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilipGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Wanderin Heights is well named and a night, or two or more … is a lovely way to experience the essence and magic of Portstewart.

The beauty and wonder of ‘Wanderin Heights’ lies in the character and history of a house that dates back to the end of the 19th Century. Framed black and white photos from that period adorn the entrance hall and create a lovely atmosphere. Eileen, the landlady at ‘Wanderin Heights’, has enchanting stories about the house and the others that form the terrace; it is particularly interesting to note that the builder choose number 12 High Road (‘Wanderin Heights’) as his residence.

Eileen and her husband are also a great source of information about walks, things to do and see... that are off the traditional tourist trail.

The rooms at Wanderin Heights’ are spotlessly clean, very snug and warm (in January) and are more than adequately equipped with TV, tea/coffee making facilities and the Wi-Fi was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariposa888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed here only one night. Arrived late, the housekeeper was still very pleasant with us (we had a booking).
The rooms are a bit small, and a little noise can be heard from the other room if they are noisy (we were at the ground floor).
The breakfast was very good, and again the owner was kind with us.

Maybe a bit expansive compared to other B&Bs.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fanthomass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Just returned home from our annual stay. Eileen is incredibly friendly and nothing is too much bother. The rooms are spotless and well maintained. We have never tried any of the breakfast though, much too comfortable in bed. In one word- superb!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portstewart
1.6 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#2 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cromore Halt Inn
Cromore Halt Inn
#1 of 4 in Portstewart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Anchorage Inn
The Anchorage Inn
#2 of 4 in Portstewart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Magherabuoy House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart
1.0 mi away
Strand House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanderin' Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanderin' Heights

Property: Wanderin' Heights
Address: 12 High Road, Portstewart BT55 7BG, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Portstewart
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Portstewart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wanderin' Heights 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wanderin' Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanderin' Heights Portstewart, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing