We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Great days in Port Stewart”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart
Ranked #2 of 16 Portstewart B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“3 Great days in Port Stewart”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent 3 days at this BB in Port Stewart. After reading other reviews we felt confident this was going to be a great choice- and it most definitely was. JJ, with his quiet wit and sense of humour, and Marie's welcoming manner and great meals, made this a great stay.
The room was perfectly laid out, with terrific finishing touches. We really felt at home making this our North Coast base.
I would highly recommend this BB. I have to say to JJ- it was really "just" Great!
Ian and Marg Torrance

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    804
    39
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
204
418
43
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Absolutely spotless B&B and extremely handy to the Main Street. Breakfast very homely and there was a good menu choice. JJ extremely welcoming and helpful. We had the added advantage of seeing 4 of these bedrooms as there was a large party of us staying. We were also able to see 3 other double bedrooms which had just been vacated. Unfortunately the 4 rooms we had booked all seemed to be on the small side, 2 double and 2 single. In retrospect, if staying here again, I would pay the extra few pounds to stay in one of the larger double rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger double bedrooms. And avoid Bedroom 1 (single room) on the ground floor. Ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Debs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macportstewart, Owner at Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad that you were overall happy with your stay although I am disappointed that you appeared less so with your room choices. Your booking was initially made in October so at the time there would have been a range of rooms available for you to choose from. Our home is not a purpose built B&B but rather a large Victorian home so room sizes do vary. The rooms you booked are smaller, less expensive rooms and the type of all rooms are very well described on the Cul-Erg web-site. The single room is as described a compact single room but is extremely popular as it is on the ground floor and thankfully guests don't do as you suggested 'avoid' ! In fact I have guests request this room every year.
I hope if you stay with us again the larger Deluxe rooms will be available for you to book.
Thank-you JJ & Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Had a really nice experience staying at this B&B. The room was lovely, spotless, and with the little extra touches to make it especially nice. It is run in a very professional, warm and friendly manor. They have a beautiful breakfast menu and are ideally located just 2 minutes walking distance from the main street in Portstewart. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anna123454321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macportstewart, Owner at Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank-you Anna for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your overnight stay with us. We do try our very best to ensure that guests leave happy and have fond memories of their stay. Thank-you JJ & Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, N.Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2014

A truly excellent b&b. JJ and Marie were exceptionally welcoming and the room was pristine. What's more, the breakfast was delicious. I only had the pleasure of staying one night but I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jp86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macportstewart, Owner at Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope you get the opportunity to come again. JJ & Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Had a lovely overnight stay in this B&B. The room was superb. Nicely decorated,spotless and very comfortable. Breakfast was very tasty and JJ and Marie were extremely welcoming hosts. The B&B is ideally situated just on the fringe of the main street in Portstewart. Would not hesitate to recommend. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Roisin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macportstewart, Owner at Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank-you Roisin for sharing your experience with others. It was lovely to meet you both and we look forward to having you both back at Cul-Erg. JJ & Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Had an enjoyable stay in this large portstewart b&b in July 2014 .. The room was a bit dated, though good value for money, but the breakfast was above exceptional so a full 5 stars .. would happily recommend and stay here again!

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank TeaJaySee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macportstewart, Owner at Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to write a review. Delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and would return. I'm sorry that my décor and designs weren't to your taste! Somewhat impossible to add a contemporary, minimalist look to a Victorian house!! JJ & Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I would 100% recommend this hotel, JJ & Marie are both so friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was lovely with so much choice and all freshly cooked. The rooms were spotless, stylishly done and very comfy. Location again is great, all in all we had a brilliant stay and would go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lease1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macportstewart, Owner at Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank-you for your kind comments. We both do our utmost to ensure that our guests enjoy the experience of staying with us. We hope that you will get the opportunity to return. JJ & Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portstewart
0.9 mi away
Cromore Halt Inn
Cromore Halt Inn
#1 of 4 in Portstewart
214 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,814 reviews
2.9 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 8 in Portrush
981 reviews
1.0 mi away
Strand House Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Wanderin' Heights
Wanderin' Heights
#7 of 16 in Portstewart
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart

Property: Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart
Address: Atlantic Circle 9 Hillside, Portstewart BT55 7AZ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Portstewart
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Portstewart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cul-Erg House is a modern 4Star B&B situated only a 2 min walk to Portstewart promenade where a range of restaurants, bars and coffee shops can be found. All rooms are en-suite with flat screen TVs, toiletries and fluffy towels. We are close to all local Golf Clubs and only a short drive to the main Tourist attractions, the Giant Causeway and Bushmills Distillery. Belfast is only 1 hr drive and 50 mins to Derry. Breakfast can be enjoyed in a spacious dining room. Guests can select from a range of local produce from the breakfast bar and order a hot dish from the breakfast menu provided. Hi speed wireless internet is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cul Erg Bed And Breakfast Portstewart Hotel Portstewart
Cul Erg b&b Portstewart
Cul Erg Bed And Breakfast Portstewart Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing