We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“CUL ERG BED & BREAKFAST, PORTSTEWART, N. IRELAND, U.K.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart
Ranked #1 of 16 Portstewart B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Founex, Switzerland
1 review
“CUL ERG BED & BREAKFAST, PORTSTEWART, N. IRELAND, U.K.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

The warm welcome and thoughtful service which my wife and I received from Marie and JJ were faultless.

Our room was comfortable and attractively decorated. Beautifully done and perfect for a one-night stay.

I have yet to taste better salmon and scrambled eggs than Marie's....anywhere!
Michael McKay

Room Tip: The "Hotel Style" ratings above are inadequate. Cul Erg is above all else a Bed and Bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    740
    35
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
188
381
43
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dungannon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We chose Cul Erg on recomendation and it did not disappoint, our rooms were spotless, perfectly decorated and fully equipped.
A full itinery of everything available in the area was provided. Breakfast menu was fantastic and perfectly cooked. Location was close to the beach and shops, perfect for those without any means of transport, ideal for morning and evening strolls.
Last but not least the hospitality was 100%, JJ and Marie could not have done any more to help us enjoy our stay. We will certainly be returning for another holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Doris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Just home from our second stay at cul-erg. This place is second to none. Super clean and all facilities you would require. The rooms we have had are excellent and it is so close to the main promenade in the town. We stayed with 2 children for 7 days and were made to feel more than welcome. A true home from home. Breakfast is amazing (porridge especially recommended by our daughter). Would have no doubt to recommend and will certainly be back next year .... If not before. Thank you Marie & JJ for our special holiday. Memories have certainly been made. Paul & Joan

Room Tip: All excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Just a very short walk around the corner to the main street and the harbor. We loved our 2 night stay, our room was spacious, spotless, tastefully decorated and comfortable. We got a couple of good referrals from JJ for dinner and some local traditional musis, which was wonderful. Highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent 3 days at this BB in Port Stewart. After reading other reviews we felt confident this was going to be a great choice- and it most definitely was. JJ, with his quiet wit and sense of humour, and Marie's welcoming manner and great meals, made this a great stay.
The room was perfectly laid out, with terrific finishing touches. We really felt at home making this our North Coast base.
I would highly recommend this BB. I have to say to JJ- it was really "just" Great!
Ian and Marg Torrance

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Absolutely spotless B&B and extremely handy to the Main Street. Breakfast very homely and there was a good menu choice. JJ extremely welcoming and helpful. We had the added advantage of seeing 4 of these bedrooms as there was a large party of us staying. We were also able to see 3 other double bedrooms which had just been vacated. Unfortunately the 4 rooms we had booked all seemed to be on the small side, 2 double and 2 single. In retrospect, if staying here again, I would pay the extra few pounds to stay in one of the larger double rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger double bedrooms. And avoid Bedroom 1 (single room) on the ground floor. Ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Debs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macportstewart, Owner at Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad that you were overall happy with your stay although I am disappointed that you appeared less so with your room choices. Your booking was initially made in October so at the time there would have been a range of rooms available for you to choose from. Our home is not a purpose built B&B but rather a large Victorian home so room sizes do vary. The rooms you booked are smaller, less expensive rooms and the type of all rooms are very well described on the Cul-Erg web-site. The single room is as described a compact single room but is extremely popular as it is on the ground floor and thankfully guests don't do as you suggested 'avoid' ! In fact I have guests request this room every year.
I hope if you stay with us again the larger Deluxe rooms will be available for you to book.
Thank-you JJ & Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Had a really nice experience staying at this B&B. The room was lovely, spotless, and with the little extra touches to make it especially nice. It is run in a very professional, warm and friendly manor. They have a beautiful breakfast menu and are ideally located just 2 minutes walking distance from the main street in Portstewart. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anna123454321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macportstewart, Owner at Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank-you Anna for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your overnight stay with us. We do try our very best to ensure that guests leave happy and have fond memories of their stay. Thank-you JJ & Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portstewart
7.7 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
1.7 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#2 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
2.8 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Anchorage Inn
The Anchorage Inn
#2 of 4 in Portstewart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
2.8 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
4.5 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#3 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart

Property: Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart
Address: Atlantic Circle 9 Hillside, Portstewart BT55 7AZ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Portstewart
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Portstewart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cul-Erg House is a modern 4Star B&B situated only a 2 min walk to Portstewart promenade where a range of restaurants, bars and coffee shops can be found. All rooms are en-suite with flat screen TVs, toiletries and fluffy towels. We are close to all local Golf Clubs and only a short drive to the main Tourist attractions, the Giant Causeway and Bushmills Distillery. Belfast is only 1 hr drive and 50 mins to Derry. Breakfast can be enjoyed in a spacious dining room. Guests can select from a range of local produce from the breakfast bar and order a hot dish from the breakfast menu provided. Hi speed wireless internet is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cul Erg Bed And Breakfast Portstewart Hotel Portstewart
Cul Erg b&b Portstewart
Cul Erg Bed And Breakfast Portstewart Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing