We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be careful on Friday/Saturday Nights” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Bell Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Old Bell Inn
Ranked #10 of 26 Warminster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Be careful on Friday/Saturday Nights”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed here on a saturday night after visiting Longleat. On arrival the barman informed us that the pub does have a late license, however this is a little late for anyone wanting to change their mind!

The room was fine, clean and an okay size with working television. The bed was comfortable and clean.

Our nights sleep was disturbed due to the loud noise from people in the courtyard until around 2am, when the pub closed.

Breakfast was good - good selection and a very attentive member of staff.

I would stay again, but not at a weekend.

Room Tip: Be careful of room 103 on a friday or saturday night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oooerrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    67
    33
    20
    12
See reviews for
50
73
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Was very impressed, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The food was good. The room was better than expected. The bathroom was a little basic but more than sufficed. Really good value for money. If staying in this part of the world would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitchell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckenham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Booked here for a night before a spa break at centre parcs, just for a goods nights sleep before a spa day the following day and having had the day before we arrived in Bath. The welcome was warm and friendly, and we were escorted to our room straight away. Room was well appointed for a B and B of this price with lovely comfy bed, Freeview tv, lovely power shower, nice towels and linens and good quality bathroom amenities such as shampoo and shower gel. We asked for some glasses from the bar as we were spending the evening in our room and request was met with no problem. Slept really well due to comfy bed and the breakfast the following morning was delicious, went for standard full English but they offered all variations including breakfast sandwiches etc. Cereal and juice was available to help yourself too. The only negative was the car park is small, and it would be nice if they reserved spaces for guests, so had to park in the public car park across the road, only had to put an hour on as was up early the following morning and arrived in evening, but more from a security perspective would nice to be in their car park if staying in hotel. But will defiantly be back to stay if am in this area again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckenhamTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

So it is what it is - the room is a standard B and B room with good clean sheets . Having been informed about the noise were new what we were expecting but after a few beers and tired legs from longleat we nodded off. Bath was so deep my bf loved it.
Breki excellent and girl was v friendly.

Thank you
And we will defo be back

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank becci2306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed here overnight as we were visiting elderly relatives in Warminster. We had already received an e-mail from the pub explaining that they have discos on Friday and Saturday evenings which don't finish until 2.00 a.m.

On arrival the manager, Josh asked us whether we had received the e-mail about the late licence and wanted to make sure we were ok with this.

We asked whether it would be possible to have a quieter room and we were shown a lovely room in an annexe at the back of the pub. With the bedroom window open we could hear lots of chatting and laughter in the garden but there was no music noise and we really weren't very disturbed.

The room was a real surprise - lovely well appointed room, lovely clean bedding, towels, very nice toiletries, tea/coffee facilities with lots of pots of milk and packets of biscuits. Bathroom was lovely and clean - bath with shower attachment, toilet and wash basin. Two windows opening onto the garden and a fan when the light was turned on.

They had stopped serving food by the time we arrived but explained several different places for us to eat just a few minutes walk from the pub.

Breakfast was really lovely - selection of boxes of cereal and orange juice to help yourself to, then we ordered breakfast - I asked for poached egg, sausage, bacon and grilled tomato - arrived beautifully cooked and just how I like it and the brown and white toast was fabulous - a 'proper' loaf of bread that they had cut and toasted. Coffee was made in individual cups from an excellent coffee machine, tasted fantastic.

All in all a really good stay at an excellent price

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

A perfect choice to stay over! we had little Daisy-mae who is two with us, every one was just so friendly and accommodating and couldn't do enough for us! When we arrived the bar was open and we were made to feel very welcome. The locals drinking were so friendly and kind to Daisy!
Our room was delightful! Fresh and clean and had everything we needed. We stayed on a fri night and it was explained that they had a disco on that evening and it may have gotten a little noisy- but to be honest we could barely hear it and it definitely did not keep us awake!
We had an evening meal on the fri and the full breakfast in the morning, the food was very good and the service was attentive and very friendly! We had a lovely stay and would happily recommend you go and stay too!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 220MelAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford on Avon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Called in here for a quick lunch on a busy Friday. Bar very busy with locals. Log fire going and staff very friendly and efficient. Had the ham, egg and chips which is staple pub food. Absolutely lovely. And they also offer the choice of a large or small portion which for lunch time is ideal. Well priced, friendly, good food and very central. Will call in again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lassfromcoatbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warminster
1.5 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn Frome Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Bath Arms
The Bath Arms
#2 of 26 in Warminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#9 of 26 in Warminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
1.3 mi away
Home Farm Boreham
Home Farm Boreham
#1 of 26 in Warminster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Bath Arms at Longleat
The Bath Arms at Longleat
#2 of 3 in Horningsham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bell Inn

Property: The Old Bell Inn
Address: 42 Market Place, Warminster BA12 9AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Warminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Warminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Bell Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Old Bell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Bell Hotel Warminster
The Old Bell Inn Warminster, UK - Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing