We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good and welcoming and we will return.”
Review of Deverill End

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warminster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Deverill End
Ranked #11 of 24 Warminster B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very good and welcoming and we will return.”
Reviewed 17 July 2011

This B & B was a very comfortable family home and Sim and Joy were very welcoming and excellent hosts. The views from the house are stunning and the good English breakfast uses home grown eggs. It is well situated for local Wiltshire attractions and would make a good family base.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elspeth5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    13
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
26
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2011

We loved staying here. It is comfortable, in a beautiful location within easy reach of tourist attractions like Stonehenge. It was very special to be able to watch the horses on the fields in front of the house! Well worth a visit!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daysee_chain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Sim and Joy have always welcomed me SO warmly. This B & B is located in a gorgeous part of Wiltshire overlooking a sweeping valley. Definitely a place of outstanding natural beauty. They are a real icon of sustainable practices, growing mountains of delicious fruit and vegetables, making preserves of all varieties. All which you can try with your breakfast :)
Delightful. Rooms spotless as always, with very comfortable beds and modern en suite bathrooms. Highly recommended! :)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpgwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
French speaking part
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Among the six B&B we stayed in during our holidays in southern England - all were between 70 and 80 £ per night for two - Deverill End was clearly an outlier, unfortunately at the bottom end. Small room, tiny bathroom, uncomfortable narrow double bed, old furnishing, no charm at all. Bad smell in entry hall. Basic breakfast with no effort for presentation. The view from the house is very nice, but the terrace is messy and not inviting (which was not a problem for us because the weather was bad). Sim and Joy, who are probably in their eighties , do their best but their are just behind the times (reminds us the basic B&B we slept in 20-30 years ago). The only positive point : happy hens that wander freely in the garden.
Worth 50 to 60 £, but even for that price we would not return.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fuzzystone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Deverill End, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
This review is in our view slanderous, for a start we are not in our eighties; my husband in his early seventies and I not even in my seventies, 67, at time of review.

Our furniture is mostly antique and of the highest quality and character.

The double bed is a standard 4'6 and of very good quality the comfort often being remarked upon.

The terrace is in fact a covered patio with grape vines, commanding a fantastic view and much enjoyed by guests weather permitting, when partaking of afternoon tea. It is seldom messy except after a srong wind.

Our breakfasts, which feature fruit from our garden and eggs from our free range chickens are well presented and much enjoyed by our guests.

The 'smell' mentioned was probabaly from me making jam or chutney, sorry about that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Sim and Joy Greathead make perfect hosts, they are easy going and friendly.
The facilities are all one could want from a B/B; and their delicious breakfast using eggs produced by Sim's Bantams, hens and ducks. The other food is produced as locally as possible.
Deverill End is a comfortable homely place to stay with lots of privacy if you want it, and a beautiful garden to enjoy.
The BB has good parking facilities. There are good walks to go on through the Wylie Valley with its heavenly scenery. Deverill End BB was easy to find and well marked.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Disa56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warminster
1.4 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
847 reviews
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Warminster
Travelodge Warminster
#2 of 3 in Warminster
566 reviews
1.4 mi away
Home Farm Boreham
Home Farm Boreham
#1 of 24 in Warminster
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
The Beeches Farmhouse B&B & Pig Wig Cottages
The Beeches Farmhouse B&B & Pig ...
#4 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
463 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Old Bell Inn
The Old Bell Inn
#7 of 24 in Warminster
240 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Lighthouse
The Lighthouse
#3 of 32 in Frome
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deverill End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deverill End

Property: Deverill End
Address: Deverill End Deverill Road | Sutton Veny, Warminster BA12 7BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Warminster
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Warminster
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deverill End is a quiet rural Bed and Breakfast with 3 rooms. The southern views are far reaching and the garden full of roses, clematis and many other interesting plants. Chickens and bantams roam the orchard and in season the vegetables and soft fruit are spectacular. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Deverill End Warminster, UK - Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing