We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm, friendly B&B”
Review of Horwood House

Horwood House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warminster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Horwood House
Ranked #13 of 24 Warminster B&B and Inns
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
530 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“Warm, friendly B&B”
Reviewed 10 August 2011

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights at the Horwood House in the doube room with en suite bath (not attached, but across small hallway and for private use). The facts: Ample parking directly off the main rd into town. (across from school)The Horwood House is very clean, bright and airy and our room was a good size consisiting of a full size four poster bed which was very comfortable. Plenty of linens and pillows are available as well as a very powerful hairdryer (thanks!) There are 2 bedside tables with lamps, a large chest of drawers as well as use of half of the closet which has full length mirrors and a comfy chair. Incl. in our room daily was coffee, assort. teas, cocoa and biscuits (gluten free availabe upon request), milk and white and brown sugars. Free wifi access which was very strong as well as a flat screen tv with many channels to choose from. This room offers beautiful views of the back garden and new double pane windows. The temp. in our room was always comfortable and this room was very peaceful and quiet. This room had plenty of outlets and was well lit. Our private bathroom located just across the hall was the largest I've seen in England (no joke). It was modern with a giant soaking tub, a large shower with very strong water pressure and HOT water. Dual sinks were wonderful to have as well as plenty of space to lay out a clothing rack to dry our clothes. Lavina was so wonderful to offer to wash our darks with her laundry at no extra cost as well as being a wonderful local guide to many attractions and back roads to get us there quickly. Full english breakfast was incl. daily and a menu was set in our rooms each evening to choose what we would like to eat as well as the time. Please note that this b&B offers gluten free selections as well. There is a sitting area off of the front hall, but we did not use this during our stay and I cannot say whether it was open at all times or not, as well as the back garden.
The Horwood House is fabulously located in a sfe,secure area within a 5 minute walk to the town center which hosts 1 cafe/bistro, 2 Asian take aways, 1 Tai eat in, 1 pizza eat in , Subway and 5 pubs, as well as a Boots and a few other small shops (all closing at half past 5)

Room Tip: For the tiny difference in price, choose the double room with the four poster bed and garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KenmareLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
21
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath
Level Contributor
116 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We visited this B&B for one week based on other's reviews here and we certainly were not disappointed. I am sure that this guest house is overlooked by some due to the fact that the bathroom is not en-suite but this really isn't a problem as we had exclusive use of the house's main (and very well equiped) bathroom. The bedroom was light and airy, overlooking the rear garden of the property. The very comfortable modern four poster bed was a great plus, as was the Freesat TV and tea/coffee making facilities and plenty of wardrobe/cupboard space.

The owners, Davina and Adrian, were the most helpful guest house proprietors you could hope for. Nothing was too much trouble. If we didn't like the duvet or pillows, they were soon replaced with others for us to try. The tea/coffee making facilities were replenished daily and fresh milk brought to the room each afternoon as were the bottles of mineral water. The breakfast was served when we wanted it (9.00am) - even though this is rather late by most people's standards it didn't worry Davina and Adrian they were quite happy to indulge us with this. The breakfast itself was, again, excellent. I had a cooked breakfast each day and there were also cereals, muesli and granola to choose from. In addition we were treated to some home grown raspberries from their very nice garden. There was also the option of toast and marmalade/jam and these were home made by Davina - home made marmalade and jam, who could ask for more than that? Our car was parked in a safe place overnight (in their front garden with the gate closed) and all in all I cannot think of any faults this excellently run guest house has. If I ever visit Warminster again, I would definitely stay here and give this review 5 stars for everything!

Room Tip: There are two rooms available. One has a shower the other has exclusive use of the main bathroom - t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustVisiting59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

I had the double room here, which has a separate bathroom (not ensuite), but this isn't a problem, as the bathroom is almost next to the bedroom, and you get a key to the bathroom, so no-one else can use it. Also the bathroom is very big (larger than any ensuite could be), with a large shower, bath, and 2 sinks. The bed was very comfortable. I didn't find the pillows comfortable, but when I mentioned it I was given a different pillow which was comfortable. The room was very well equipped, with tea & coffee making facilities, a Freesat HD TV, hairdryer, tissues, mineral water. The B&B is quiet, as it's not on a busy road, and the bedrooms face the back garden, so there's no traffic noise.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thehungrymeerkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Had one overnight stay and found the room clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good and our hosts were very flexible with us. A good knowlege of the local area which we found invaluable as we wanted to visit locally on our journey home. Would definitely stay there again if we were in the area!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueandchris6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geleen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

the room was nice but i didnt like the shower in the middle of it. (a curtain around it would be nice)
Ade and his wife were very freindly but a bit too fussy about some things. (like the breakfast had to be at an exact time and when we came 5 miniyes early we had to go back to the room. and shoes of downstairs while the room was dusty.) the breakfast was GREAT and very well presented. SUPER
They were ultra helpfull and friendly and that made up for some of the things that we tought where a bit strange.
(like the milk in a cooler in de hal??)

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackyandalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ejhpollard, Owner at Horwood House, responded to this review, 2 June 2011
It was a pleasure to meet these two ladies on their short break. We are grateful to them for their constructive review of Horwood House and note that alongside their positive feedback there are some areas for us to improve upon.

We did indeed find a dusty surface in the twin bedroom around the T.V. where static electricity appears to attract dust. This is now on our check list. We believe that it is normal practice in the UK to request that outdoor footwear is not worn upstairs.

The lack of privacy in the shower cubicle is being addressed by the installation of a 2 metre wide, ceiling mounted blind. This is easily lowered and raised by the pull of a cord, and will completely ‘shield’ the shower from the rest of the room.

The timing of breakfast is a more subtle issue; our aim is to provide excellent service to each of our guests in turn. To achieve this we agree a time with each guest by discussion, during the evening beforehand. Our plans can be thrown when a guest who has asked for an earlier time for breakfast arrives later and remains in the dining room longer than expected, or, when guests arrive earlier than arranged. To try to avoid this, we now allow 45 minutes between each ‘sitting’. In so doing, our intention is to provide each guest with a freshly cooked meal, served with personal attention.

Finally, the flasks of milk that the reviewer mentioned were placed in a cool box to provide additional insulation during particularly warm weather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Booked this b&b so that we were taxi distance from Longleat as my sister and I were taking my Mum there for her 60th birhtday. Davina and Adrian couldn't have been more helpful with our travel arrangements - providing us with information on train, buses, taxi numbers, pubs serving food in the area. Davina even offered to make us packed lunches to take to Longleat as we were on a winter tour. This was much appreciated and gratefully accepted. We were handed a picnic hamper back pack full off good food and also cuttlery and glasses and napkins. Davina catered for me and Mum as vegetarians and Mum as dairy free and my sister as 'normal' meat eater. Good choice at breakfast too. Thank you for helpiing to make Mum's 60th special.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h22batt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Great hospitality, good local knowledge and safe bike storage. Fantastic breakfast too, all locally sourced. All round good stay - would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSC9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Warminster hotels
0.9 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Weymouth Arms
The Weymouth Arms
#4 of 24 in Warminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Dove Inn
The Dove Inn
#6 of 24 in Warminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Home Farm Boreham
Home Farm Boreham
#1 of 24 in Warminster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Old Bell Inn
The Old Bell Inn
#9 of 24 in Warminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Bath Arms
The Bath Arms
#3 of 24 in Warminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horwood House

Property: Horwood House
Address: 80 Boreham Road, Warminster BA12 9JW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Warminster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Warminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer high quality accommodation (double and twin rooms), off-road parking, secure bicycle storage and locally sourced food. Guest bedrooms overlook the large, attractive garden at rear of the house. Competitive rates are £50 per room per night single occupancy and £70 per night double occupancy. All rooms come with full English breakfast included free of charge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Horwood House Warminster, UK - Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing