We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best 4 star i've ever stayed in!”
Review of Bishopstrow House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bishopstrow House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Warminster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We are just back from a weekend at Bishopstrow House & we are already thinking about going back! We had the most perfect weekend! We stayed in a Deluxe room, which was so spacious - had a separate living area, private courtyard, high ceilings, 2 tvs, massive shower, bathrobes and slippers & an huge comfy bed!
We had dinner in the Mulberry restaurant on the first evening, and it was exceptional. The breakfast was also really good. We decided to make the most of our lovely room and had room service on the 2nd evening. The menu was really nice and very reasonably priced and we received our food and drinks from a very friendly waiter within 30 minutes!
What stood out to us overall was the amazing, friendly service we received from every member of staff that we encountered over the weekend. Also, the main part of the hotel is so beautiful and we really liked the relaxed atmosphere in the Library room, which had a fire burning all day! My only slight disappointment was that the leisure facilities are on the small size but I believe improvements are scheduled for later this year.
In a summary.... I cant wait to go back!

Room Tip: We are glad that we paid a little extra from a deluxe room, so spacious and comfortable!
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pianogirl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishopstrow, General Manager at Bishopstrow House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Bishopstrow Hotel & Spa

I am delighted to read that you had such a wonderful time with us and that we exceeded all your expectations to give you a well deserved relaxing break.

Thank you for all of your kind comments which I have passed on to the team, we all look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Kind Regards

Jason Thorley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (865)
There are newer reviews for Bishopstrow House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

644 - 650 of 865 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2013

A beautiful old English country house in a peaceful setting, with a welcoming, attentive and friendly staff. The latter and some good food (I'd recommend staying away from the a la carte menu) helped to make a four-night stay in January for work most enjoyable.

The Spa is a major part of the hotel, and colleagues seemed to enjoy it - perhaps next time?

The good points were however offset by cheap fixtures and fittings (bathroom tap broken, shower arm not long enough to enable one to stand underneath the shower head without hitting the taps, a plastic bath, very cheap chandeliers upstairs) as well as a frightening combination of large patterned wallpaper, carpet and curtains in my room. The decor looked as though they were trying a little too hard to provide an atmosphere to match Babington House but on a budget.

My only other complaint would be that sleep didn't come easily as the bed was made up of two very soft mattresses pushed together, neither of which offered any support (you would slide off if you got too close to the edge), but provided an uncomfortable ridge in the middle of the bed where they met.

Overall though I would certainly recommend this hotel if one were in the area.

Room Tip: Colleagues raved about the Deluxe rooms close to the spa and the suites in the stable courtyard, alt...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffersonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishopstrow, General Manager at Bishopstrow House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Bishopstrow Hotel & Spa

I am pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would return to stay again - we are starting the refurbishment and extension of our fitness suite in the coming weeks so I do hope you visit again to experience the fabulous new fitness facilities we will have on offer.

All of your comments have been passed on to the relevent Heads of Departments as we are always striving to improve and meet our guests expectations.

Kind Regards

Jason Thorley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

I went here on a deal for 2 nights in October. The house still has a house feel and the open fires, slightly worn furniture and lack of open plan hotel reception area all add to this.

They have huge wooden key tags!

The pool and spa were lovely, the food amazing and the staff attentive while not intruding. However, the wine and drinks are very expensive and their inviting was a little erratic although it was altered as soon as it was pointed out.

My husband did manage to leave his wallet there and they left it in the safe for a week, it was only my call that made them look and then they said it would be registered post, it arrived first class.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fdgirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishopstrow, General Manager at Bishopstrow House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you kindly for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I am delighted to read that overall you had a great time.

I am pleased to hear that you appreciated the style of the house - traditional yet with all the modern amenities one would expect.

We all hope to welcome you back in the future, and am pleased we were able to assist with sending your husbands wallet back safely

Kind Regards

Jason Thorley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Visited for 2 nights on the 14th of January.......
Hotel was great.... very friendly staff!
Amazingly, they gave us the "Oval" room which was very spacious, luxurious and very comfortable!
Spa facilities was great. The pool was very warm and the "jaccuzzi".... SUPERB!
Restaurant : overall, food was very good apart from one desert which included some pop corn... wasn't a good idea as I could have broke my tooth if I ate it all, but overall, good food.... Portions are not always well appropriate..... some of them are huge, and some, very small! Service at the restaurant was... just good but most importantly, very friendly! I have noticed one of the waitress being very nervous.... She told us from the beginning she was just starting here, well, we would have guessed so anyway! But like I have read in a few reviews below, there is a huge potential to make it so much better!
A very nice hotel overall, great location to relax... a place to recommend!

Room Tip: Oval room. absolutely wonderfull
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishopstrow, General Manager at Bishopstrow House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely review, I am delighted you had such a wonderful time and that we were able to upgrade you to The Oval Master Room - it truly is a beautiful bedroom.

I have passed all of your comments on to the team here and we hope to welcome you back in the future

Kind Regards

Jason Thorley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

I will keep it short and to the point.....
Fantastic hotel
Attentive, welcoming, friendly staff
Lovely food & wine
Great spa
Nothing is too much trouble, would definately recommend AND will be returning :o)

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linz39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishopstrow, General Manager at Bishopstrow House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay at The Bishopstrow, I am delighted to hear that everything exceeded your expectations and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Jason Thorley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Spent New Years Eve in black tie.fab hotel in the country side not too far from BATH or Stonehendge. Great spa treatments and pool inside. And outside...kept heatedthroughouttheyeaar.indoor tennis court. Dogs very welcome. rooms reasonable size. Food excellent. There was a cocktail reception, bagpipes,Hagas, seven course meal.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Golflove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishopstrow, General Manager at Bishopstrow House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Bishopstrow Hotel and Spa.

I am absolutely delighted to read that you had such a wonderful time celebrating the New YEar with us, the evening certainly went very well with everybody enjoying all of the entertainment on offering and finishing off with the spectactular fireworks display.

I truly hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future

Kind Regards

Jason Thorley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Soon as you step in the front door you are made to feel very welcome. This is proper country house hotel, quirly rooms and winding stair cases. We stayed over one night, tried the spa and attended a Christmas party here. It was all just perfect and very relaxing. Lovely, fun staff too.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveGas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishopstrow, General Manager at Bishopstrow House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Bishopstrow

I am delighted to read that you had a great time at your Christmas Party

We very much hope to welcome you back in the future

Kind Regards

Jason Thorley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warminster
13.3 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
727 reviews
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Warminster
Travelodge Warminster
#2 of 3 in Warminster
594 reviews
12.1 mi away
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hinton Charterhouse
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
674 reviews
10.1 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
530 reviews
15.6 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishopstrow House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishopstrow House

Address: Boreham Road, Warminster BA12 9HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Warminster
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Warminster
Price Range: £151 - £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bishopstrow House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bishopstrow Hotel & Spa. Without doubt one of the finest, luxury hotels in Wiltshire.Located within easy reach of Bath and Salisbury (off the A36), only 6 miles from the famed Longleat Safari and Adventure Park.Set in 27 acres of established grounds boasting kitchen gardens, orchard and trout fishing from the banks of the river Wylye running along the hotel, deep in the heart of the beautiful Wiltshire countryside. Ideal for adults and children alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bishopstrow House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishopstrow House Hotel Warminster
Bishopstrow Hotel Warminster
Bishopstrow House Warminster, UK - Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing