We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel for a relaxing romantic weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bishopstrow House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bishopstrow House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Warminster
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel for a relaxing romantic weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We chose the Bishopstrow Hotel for my wife's birthday and stayed for 2 nights (Fri/Sat) on a 'Spa Retreat' package (bed, breakfast, dinner & spa treatments). Only 90 minutes from London, the kids were at home, we looked forward to being spoiled for the weekend - and we were not disappointed! This is a beautiful hotel that has retained its former grandeur while at the same time modernising where necessary. The restaurant was excellent, the Spa first class and to sit by an open fire in the bar was bliss. The big plus was the very high level of service which was exceptional. We had a Superior room in the Courtyard which involved walking up a draughty corridor then taking 12 paces outside to get to our room. As the room was so good this minor inconvenience was easily overlooked but if this was summer it would have been lovely to sit outside in our private area and enjoy the views. (Room could do with an updated TV - larger & with cable channels). We would definitely go again.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms in the summer will be wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EnglishmanSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishopstrow, General Manager at Bishopstrow House, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful review.

I am delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us, and that you enjoyed every aspect of the hotel and the amenities on offer.

The team and I all hope to welcome you back in the future - maybe to celebrate New Year's Eve or a romatic Valentines break.

Kind Regards

Jason Thorley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    249
    129
    49
    52
See reviews for
140
442
9
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the Wimborne room, was beautifully decorated. We stayed DB&B , the food and service was exceptional the staff are very professional and nothing is too much trouble. The spa is great value and some different spa treatments. The grounds are beautiful with some walks which you can get from reception. We would definitely stay here again. the only downside was there was a number of lights not working in the room, plus had a broken mirror and bin. We would have expected the room to match the rest of the experience we have had.if the room had been as we expected would have rated excellent.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo2905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishopstrow, General Manager at Bishopstrow House, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback.

I am pleased to read that you had a really enjoyable stay with us, thank you for all of your feedback which I have passed onto our management team.

I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Jason Thorley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here to celebrate our a anniversary on the 16th Nov and treated ourselves to the Oval Room.
The good bits:
Friendly professional staff
Beautiful room, hotel and location
The not so good bits:
Room was really cold on arrival - the heating did eventually come on but I would expect to arrive to a warm room. Check in is stated as 2pm - therefore the room should be ready (warm) from then.

We went for a relaxing swim only to be met by a group of young children jumping in and out of the pool. There were no staff around to 'have a quiet word with the parents' - so we left after 5 mins

The twin baths in the room take an eternity to fill up, water pressure is really low.

Lots of lights needed replacing in the room - a minor issue but think it shows lack of attention to detail. A room costing £420 per night should be perfect in my opinion.

Room service food was a bit cold and soggy

Cold breakfast - the only hot thing on our plate were the eggs, not room service either....we ate in the restaurant. We didn't complain as we were in a rush to get home to our 18 month old.

Overall a lovely hotel with great potential but we did feel let down by the attention to detail especially when paying £420 for one night of what we hoped would be a bit of pure luxury. The disappointments were caused by laziness.

On a positive note, once the bath had finally filled it was an absolute pleasure especially as I am pregnant and the swim didn't quite work out for us.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GemmaLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishopstrow, General Manager at Bishopstrow House, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review.

I am pleased to read that there were many positive aspects to your stay and that overall you had a lovely time to celebrate your anniversary.

However, may I take this opportunity to apologise for letting you down on the attention to detail - I have raised your comments with the relevent Heads of Departments to ensure this deos not happen again.

I would like to thank you for taking the time to pass on your valued feedback - it is only with our guests constructive comments that we can continue to improve our services.

I do hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Jason Thorley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed in room 14 on the top floor. Beautiful spacious room with plenty of amenities in the room. Room service is 24hrs and you can order breakfast in bed if you wish. We decided to eat out but the menu at the hotel looks nice but nothing I fancied that evening. Breakfast was delicious and plenty to eat including full English and or continental breakfast. The spa is clean and the gym and swimming pool are spacious. This hotel is set on acres of grounds and you can enjoy a morning or evening walk in a secure environment. Worth every penny spent. Staff excellent and gave us a very warm welcome.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisnick2251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishopstrow, General Manager at Bishopstrow House, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review.

I am delighted to read that you had such a wonderful stay and enjoyed all of the facilities and amenities on offer.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future - maybe to celebrate New Year's Eve!

Kind Regards

Jason Thorley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

What a shame 6 of us turned up at this great looking hotel we where shown to our super rooms which were excellent and well appointed.We had a table booked in the restaurant for the evening the menu looked excellent, when the food arrived it looked great but was stone cold and very small portions we asked for more bread rolls which were frozen in the middle we ordered cheese and biscuits we only got 4 small crackers . And i have to say breakfast was no better cold bacon and my poached egg was rock hard.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishopstrow, General Manager at Bishopstrow House, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased to read that you appreciated our beautifully appointed and individually designed bedrooms.

However, I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the food you received as this is certainly not up to our normally very high standards. I have investigated the matter fully but there is no record of you speaking to staff about this on the day, so I'm sorry we were unable to deal with the situation at the time for you. Please accept my sincere apologies.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Jason Thorley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havant
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

My wife and me went for a long weekend in October which was our fourth visit to Bishopstrow and yet again could not be more impressed. We were upgraded and on the afternoon of our last day staying at the hotel, a leak occurred in our bathroom. This was dealt with swiftly and we were given the use of another suite next door so we did not have to move all our belongings although the hotel did offer to move all our bags for us. We dined in the restaurant on one of our two evenings and had room service on the other and the food was excellent as was the service. This hotel is to be congratulated on the personal touch it provides its guests and we are both looking forward to a fifth visit in the coming months.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GB0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishopstrow, General Manager at Bishopstrow House, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review.

It is always a pleasure to hear from our return guests, and I am delighted that on your fourth visit you are still enjoying all of the facilities & services that we offer.

The team and I all look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind Regards

Jason Thorley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
452 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

This hotel was booked as a bit of luxury on our trip around the UK and we were not disappointed. The hotel has great staff and our check-in was processed quickly which allowed us to visit nearby Salisbury and when we returned our bags had been brought to our room.

The hotel has very comfortable rooms and wonderful bathroom with Elmsis products which I really like. The breakfast is normally included in rate is very good with fruit, cereals, juices and a cooked option.

The grounds are really nice and the estate has an old world feel yet being very much classic contemporary in reality. Free WiFi is included and again this is a real plus.

The restaurant is very nice with a good menu and I tried a beef dish which is something I would rarely try, but it was excellent.

We also had to opportunity to stay in one of the private suites. These suites are on 2 levels with a living and TV area down stairs and bedroom with extensive bathroom upstairs. These suites are true luxury and if I was coming back I would stay here.

A perfect stay in beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: The private suites are worth paying for
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaneMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishopstrow, General Manager at Bishopstrow House, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your fabulous review.

I am delighted to read that you had such a fantastic stay with us and enjoyed all aspects of the services and facilities on offer.

I have passed your kind ocmments onto the team and we all hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Jason Thorley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warminster
13.5 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
12.1 mi away
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hinton Charterhouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
16.4 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
13.3 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
17.5 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
#4 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishopstrow House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishopstrow House

Property: Bishopstrow House
Address: Boreham Road, Warminster BA12 9HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Warminster
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Warminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bishopstrow House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bishopstrow Hotel & Spa. Without doubt one of the finest, luxury hotels in Wiltshire.Located within easy reach of Bath and Salisbury (off the A36), only 6 miles from the famed Longleat Safari and Adventure Park.Set in 27 acres of established grounds boasting kitchen gardens, orchard and trout fishing from the banks of the river Wylye running along the hotel, deep in the heart of the beautiful Wiltshire countryside. Ideal for adults and children alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Bishopstrow House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishopstrow House Hotel Warminster
Bishopstrow Hotel Warminster
Bishopstrow House Warminster, UK - Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing