We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay and great spa”
Review of Bishopstrow House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bishopstrow House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Warminster
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay and great spa”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Staying for one night on the way back from the West country, we needed a relaxing and restful place to stay, and Bishopstrow House provided the answer. Champagne and chocolate was ready for us in the room, when we arrived, and the room itself was large, comfortable and very good. The bathroom had two showers (his and hers) and a full size bath as well. Everything was clean and well maintained in the room, plus the bed was large and comfortable.

The 3-course dinner we had was very good, and even the cheap bottle of wine on the menu was pretty decent. There isn't a large selection to choose from, but everything was well prepared and tasted good. The cheese plate was too big, but I wasn't complaining. We also had breakfast, which was good with plenty of choice.

The spa in the hotel is very convenient. The inside pool, steam room, sauna, etc. were all good and helped us to relax, while we were fortunate to get a bit of sunshine and make use of the outside pool area. There was a large range of treatments on offer, and we did make use of a massage treatment, which was very nice.

Overall, Bishopstrow House provided us with an excellent stay and is ideal for those looking to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WooTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishopstrow, General Manager at Bishopstrow House, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Bishopstrow Hotel & Spa

I am delighted to read that Bishopstrow Hotel and Spa were able to deliver what you and your partner were looking for.

I am pleased that the staff and management exceeded all your expectations to give you a well deserved relaxing break.

Thank you for all of your kind comments which I have passed on to the team, we all look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Kind Regards

Jason Thorley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    261
    132
    50
    52
See reviews for
147
461
11
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rushden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed here on business earlier this year and found the hotel to be very pleasant.
The rooms were excellent as was the level of service, there were issues with mould in my bathroom however.

The food is overpriced and pretentious, I have had far better for less money.

Was it worth the cost of the stay?
Debatable, I certainly wouldn't bother again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishopstrow, General Manager at Bishopstrow House, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us in February.

Thank you for your kind comment on the service received during your stay, however, I am extremely disappointed to read about the issue with mould in the bathroom and I can assure you that this is certainly not the standards we work on.

I am sorry that the menu and the pricing did not suit your requirement.

I have passed on your comments to our Housekeeping Manager and I can assure you that corrective measures have been taken since February.

I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcoming you once again to the Bishopstrow Hotel and Spa.

Kind regards,

Jason Thorley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hants
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This hotel has managed to keep it's homely feel without it being like a business not clinical just homely, although parts of the main house are a bit worn it all adds to the authenticity of staying in an old English home. The reception was just a couple of desks in a side room and this set the mood for a casual relaxing environment. The room was clean and the bed comfortable, although as we were at the front of the house It was very noisy in the morning, we had to keep the window open as it was so hot and were woken at 5.30 by deliveries and departing guests. I was disappointed by the choice of tea and coffee, I think it's a really nice touch when you get a selection of goodies in the room but it was tea or coffee only. The bathroom was fab with the beautiful old freestanding bath and lovely shower. The restaurant staff were helpful, friendly and efficient and the food was all good . Overall it was a nice stay but for the prices charged I think they need to work on spoiling their guests with maybe a few extra touches.
PPP

Room Tip: The rooms in the courtyard open up onto gardens and would be quieter, especially good if you have ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariaeadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I treated my friend and I to a Spa day 28th June 2014, what an absolute superb time we had, the treatments were fantastic, the lady who did my treatment was very good at her job, and was very profesional, and a lovely person who listened to what i said, I think her name is Kelly, she is from the Northeast.The spa is excellant and nothing is to much trouble for the staff, clean and very well presented, the meal which was included in the package was excellant.
A very good day, and v v relaxing. Would recomned this Spa.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishopstrow, General Manager at Bishopstrow House, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to review your visit to the Halcyon Spa.

I have passed on your kind feedback to the Manager of the Spa to relay on to the staff and I am most certain that feedback like yours will encourage our staff to perform even better.

Me and my team look forward to welcoming you and your friend once again to enjoy the treatments and the facilities at the Bishopstrow Hotel and Spa.

Kind regards,

Jason Thorley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed here on business recently. Had not been for years and the hotel has been upgraded since my last visit. I had a small double room with a view over the roof of the spa/swimming pool. Okay for the one night but would not have wanted to pay myself to stay in that room. Small shower room. the problem was the next morning when I came to use the shower. The temperature control had stuck at hot. Managed to shampoo my hair then the water got so hot you could not stand under the shower. tried for about 20 mins to turn the heat down with no success. Had to call reception, no answer. had to call duty manager who said hotel was full so could not find me another room. I then had to ask him to come up and try and sort this out as I had a head of shampoo and needed to get ready for work. Thankfully he did manage to sort this out but an elderly person or child could have suffered a bad burn with this.
Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandTravel-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishopstrow, General Manager at Bishopstrow House, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us.

The room that you stayed in is one of our Classic rooms. One of the big charms of a country house hotel is the fact that all bedrooms are unique with their own character and no two bedrooms are the same. This is why we offer a wide variety of room categories for our guests to select from. I can only apologise that this was obviously not explained in detail to you at the time of booking; please be assured I have followed up on this matter with the team.

Although we strive to provide a service that exceeds guests’ expectations, sometimes errors do take place. I have taken your comments on board and have taken corrective measures to fix the issue with the shower.
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your valuable feedback.

Kind Regards

Jason Thorley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Booked as a package including dinner, breakfast, champagne and free upgrade.
The hotel is in a wonderful setting. It has grounds that sweep under the road and by the river.
We arrived early and brought a bottle of champagne and watched the river go by enjoying the sun.
The room was upgraded to a suite. Modern and very well appointed.
Dinner was very well presented. Reasonable selection of wines. Can recommend the house red and New Zealand Sauvignon blanc.
The outside pool is heated and with beds to soak up the sun - if you are lucky enough.
The Spa is adequate and the staff very good and attentive. However it feels cramped particularly the changing area. The same could not be said of the indoor pool and Jacuzzi - they are lovely!
They cook your breakfast fresh to order and will accommodate most request we heard in the restaurant.
Great place to recharge the batteries in country surroundings with attentive staff.

Room Tip: Stayed in Weymouth Suite - Could not fault it on; on two levels with large bathroom including standa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juju149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishopstrow, General Manager at Bishopstrow House, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and leaving your kind review of the Bishopstrow Hotel and Spa.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I will certainly pass your kind comments to the team.

We do hope we can welcome you back to the Bishopstrow Hotel and Spa in the near future.

Kind Regards

Jason Thorley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I wanted a few days away and this hotel fitted the bill to such an extent that we wanted to stay longer. We were staying in the room called "Salisbury" which was beautifully furnished and included a large sofa for lounging on, something we enjoyed throughout our stay. The room opened on to a terrace with a table and parasol which protected us from the sunshine.

We ordered room service a few times and it was delivered in timely fashion. Food and drinks were all of high quality.

Breakfast comprised delicious, locally produced food in the restaurant or ultra modern conservatory. Staff were very attentive, friendly and quickly dispatched our order.

We had a couple of spa treatments during our stay. The staff providing the treatments were warm, very friendly and thoroughly professional.

So having said all this how come we didn't award our stay as excellent? Here's what would have made it even better:

* The view from our room wasn't nice at all, overlooking the pool complex. A few more plants would have given the space a courtyard feel, rather than that of an inter-building gap.

* The spa reception staff weren't very welcoming, seeming more interested in their computer screen and making phone calls rather than making me feel welcome. It meant that I didn't look forward to my treatment whilst waiting. Thankfully the staff who provided the
treatments were extremely friendly and genuinely interested in providing exemplary service.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jao1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishopstrow, General Manager at Bishopstrow House, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Bishopstrow Hotel and Spa,

I am delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us. I will pass on your kind comments to the team.

I have also taken on board your constructive comments regarding the Spa reception and we have taken necessary actions.

I look forward to welcoming you to the Bishopstrow Hotel and Spa again.

Kind regards,


Jason Thorley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warminster
13.3 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
698 reviews
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Warminster
Travelodge Warminster
#2 of 3 in Warminster
550 reviews
12.1 mi away
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hinton Charterhouse
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
426 reviews
16.4 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
18.5 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishopstrow House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishopstrow House

Property: Bishopstrow House
Address: Boreham Road, Warminster BA12 9HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Warminster
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Warminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bishopstrow House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bishopstrow Hotel & Spa. Without doubt one of the finest, luxury hotels in Wiltshire.Located within easy reach of Bath and Salisbury (off the A36), only 6 miles from the famed Longleat Safari and Adventure Park.Set in 27 acres of established grounds boasting kitchen gardens, orchard and trout fishing from the banks of the river Wylye running along the hotel, deep in the heart of the beautiful Wiltshire countryside. Ideal for adults and children alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bishopstrow House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishopstrow House Hotel Warminster
Bishopstrow Hotel Warminster
Bishopstrow House Warminster, UK - Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing