We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Bishopstrow House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bishopstrow House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Warminster
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We booked through secret escapes and had a club room which was really nice and comfy great bathroom we were on the ground floor of the courtyard and I think we had a herd of elephants staying above us with stomping and crashing around very noisy even at gone midnight.
We had the couples Rasul mud treatment which was fun and left skin lovely and soft,didn't use any other facilities but all looked great. Free wi fi too. Staff all very friendly and welcoming.
We had a sandwich and chips and drinks in the lounge nice but pricey, we didn't eat in the hotel we drove out elsewhere, brekkie was included which was nice, we went for a little stroll to the river which is 5 mins away, great location, buildings and grounds, would recommend but would only return with a deal like that again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beckyNpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason T, General Manager at Bishopstrow House, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing the Bishopstrow Hotel & Spa for your recent stay booked through Secret Escapes.

I would like to start with the positives and thank you for your kind words regarding the staff and facilities. I am glad you had an opportunity to enjoy the facilities in the spa.
I have passed on your kind comments to the team.
I have taken on board your constructive comments on the noise levels from the room above you. I can assure you, that I will have this investigated further and take corrective actions where necessary.
My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Bishopstrow Hotel and Spa in the future.

Kind Regards

Jason Thorley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    261
    132
    50
    52
See reviews for
147
461
11
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Well what a place, we visited for a mid week get away and what a choice! The room was fantastic split over two floors with great views off the bedroom, we had dinner her the first night and couldn't fault it. Breakfast was included which was also superb, will defiantly recommend for a relaxing weekend

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason T, General Manager at Bishopstrow House, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Bishopstrow Hotel & Spa

I am delighted to read that you had such a wonderful time with us and that we exceeded all your expectations to give you a well deserved relaxing break.

Thank you for all of your kind comments which I have passed on to the team, we all look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Kind Regards

Jason Thorley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed the peaceful setting. The reception staff from start to finish we're polite attentive and helpful. The room was spacious and clean, water pressure was not great and there were a couple of issues with the plumbing one of which we reported. However it didn't spoil our stay. The restaurant was excellent, the food was a very high standard and the staff attentive without being intrusive. Would recommend for a relaxing break. My only criticism is that there wasn't a full length mirror in the room which my husband and I felt was missing.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aliantalfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Booked through Secret Escapes for a ridiculously reduced price, my wife and I spent 22hrs at Bishopstrow from 2pm to 12noon over Wed-Thur.
Our room was ready on arrival, and was not the Club room we had booked, but one of their fabulous Suites, The Weymouth. With a downstairs lounge leading to an upstairs MASSIVE bedroom and equally large bathroom, we were very pleased with the room. Double doors led out the back onto a grassed hill near the tennis courts, which was a lovely view to have. There was a bulb or two out, and occasionally low pressure in the taps, but other than that, it's a great room. Actually probably as big as our own house in total!
We used the spa facilities most of the afternoon, with two pools, gym (didn't use that!!), jacuzzi and various steam/sauna/shower rooms. We had an early evening stroll under the road tunnel to the gardens and river, a peaceful and beautiful little place, presumably where some of the produce the chef uses is grown.
In the morning we used the facilities again and had a Rasul Mud Treatment (included in package) which is fun... say no more!
We went elsewhere for dinner (have eaten here before though and it is good), but had breakfast in the restaurant, which was superb.
Overall, a great 'child-free' treat for me and the Mrs.

Room Tip: Weymouth Suite... it's as big as Belgium!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryBirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason T, General Manager at Bishopstrow House, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Bishopstrow Hotel & Spa

I am delighted to read that you had such a wonderful time with us and that we exceeded all your expectations to give you a well deserved relaxing break.

Thank you for all of your kind comments which I have passed on to the team, we all look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Kind Regards

Jason Thorley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My friend and I treat ourselves every month or so to a spa day and so we are able to review different venues reasonably accurately, comparing like for like. Less than £90 each, including full day use of the facilities, three course lunch with coffees and an hour treatment constitutes great value
We can honestly say that Bishopstrow is one of the best that we have been to. The hotel is spotlessly clean, the staff are friendly and knowledgeable, the facilities are excellent. The outdoor heated pool is wonderful, the food is excellent.
Our treatments were wonderful and we left feeling renewed.
The only thing that lets the spa down are the changing areas and the physical layout of the area in which it is located in the hotel. The layout is a bit muddled and doesn't 'flow'. Narrow corridors and lots of twists and turns. We also felt that the changing room was a bit small for a spa of this size, four people and it was very crowded and although there were two doors between the changing room and the corridors the space between the doors was too small and so we found that when someone entered or left they had both doors open, meaning that we were on view to other clients (male or female) as we changed.
But this I believe is going to be addressed by the new owners and I am sure will prove quite difficult in such an old building.
All in all, despite the little issues with the changing rooms and layout we would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duke_family_x_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason T, General Manager at Bishopstrow House, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Halcyon Spa at Bishopstrow Hotel and Spa.

It is wonderful to read such good comments and to hear you had such a fantastic time. I have passed on all of your kind comments to the team.

Thank you for your constructive comments regarding the changing facilities, and you will be pleased to know that we do have a plan in place to make changes to these.
I truly hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you and your friend back to The Bishopstrow in the future.
Kind regards,

Jason Thorley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The Bishopstrow House Hotel and Spa is an incredible establishment on the edge of the Salisbury plain. The main building is an old manor house, but the condition is magnificent. It is located on beautiful grounds, and even has a small doric temple where weddings and outdoor events are often held. I went there as part of a wedding party, and everything was fantastic. Due to sudden rains, we had to change plans and have the wedding indoors, but the staff never blinked an eyelash and worked hard to make certain that everything was perfect.

The hotel contains a very good bar as well as an excellent restaurant, with good service and very good food.

This hotel and spa is the perfect place for those who wish to de-stress and relax. Its modern spa has both indoor and outdoor pools, a mud therapy room, Elemis treatments, various types of massage, a sauna, steam room, and much more.

Each of the rooms has its own personality and is very tastefully decorated. Located between Salisbury and Bath, this hotel has peaceful gardens that lead to a river; there are also tennis courts within its grounds for those who want to be active.

Between Bath and Salisbury, it is only about a 20-minute drive away from Stonehenge, so would be a great place to stay for those who wish to take in Stonehenge, Old Sarum, and Salisbury Cathedral.

Some of the items used in the wedding service were lost/misplaced, and the hotel did its very best and soon found them, for which we were all very grateful.

The staff were are very friendly and eager to be of assistance, and it made the stay even nicer. Although it is off the beaten-path, it is an adventure well worth experiencing!

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent. In our party of 80 people, everyone said that their rooms were very goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nefertem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason T, General Manager at Bishopstrow House, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay at The Bishopstrow Hotel and Spa, I am delighted to read that you had such a fantastic time.

I have passed your feedback on to the team as it is always nice for them to hear their hard work is appreciated and that it really makes your stay special.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Kind Regards

Jason Thorley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Hotel managed to fall short of their own mark at almost every opportunity.

Reception professional and charming enough. Spa staff were polite and welcoming.
Sadly, it stopped there, pretty much. Monday night stay. Perhaps things are better at other times.

Poorly trained afternoon/evening wait staff, and despite promisingly short if slightly pretentious à la carte menu, food underwhelming, with several of the few choices unavailable. Potentially dangerously warm scallop ceviche and tepid steak with greasy chips left uneaten.

Understand that their menu is fixed for a month at a time, so it'll get tired with a longer stay. Un-notable wine list seriously overpriced (Picpoul@£40).

Inescapable canned music in bar and greenhouse sitting area, (and restaurant at breakfast). Unvaried sub-Motown an utterly inappropriate intrusion for country house experience.

Breakfast served with welcome smile, but rancid fried food and coffee so weak it is best forgotten.

Room (Pembroke) large. Appallingly uncomfortable bed, (strange pair of mid-joined worn out mattresses give zero support). Although new block, no air conditioning and strangely damp/humid. Sunny day so french door open on arrival, but horrid surprise once closed for night. Bad smell from dodgy pony skin rug. Beautifully furnished bathroom with double shower wet end lacked enough water pressure to make it great.

Far more attention to detail needed. i.e Main terrace cigarette butts not swept up and untrimmed ornamental bushes. Grounds do need lots more work. Guests see into shabby kitchen front doors on way to rooms and spa. Outside sitting area by our room marred by dying plants in expensive holders. Room cleaning - Shower stall glass and French windows not too clean at all. Cobwebs on standard light at floor level.

Summary: The hotel has masses of potential, but lets itself down and lacks polish. Feels as though the place is being run by indifferent amateurs who have neither the training nor the style to get it right. We saw too little apparent sense of pride of ownership or genuine care.

Their claim on their website homepage to be "Without doubt one of the finest, luxury hotels in Wiltshire" is at best questionable, I'd have to say.

In their defence, having told the duty manager of our dissatisfaction, we were not charged for our wine - an unrequested and significant gesture given list price. But I'd have been happier to have paid over the odds having had the expectation of a great stay fulfilled.

What a shame.

Room Tip: Can't recommend Pembroke… very uncomfortable bed and unpleasant dying leather smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CaringTraveller1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishopstrow, General Manager at Bishopstrow House, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Bishopstrow Hotel and Spa

Thank you for your kind comments on the reception & spa breakfast staff. However, I am very disappointed to read that your experience did not live up to your expectations, and what you have described is certainly not the excellent customer service we pride ourselves on.

Please accept my sincere apologies that we let you down on this occasion. I have passed all of your feedback on to the relevant Heads of Departments to investigate and come back to me with their findings so that we may deal with your constructive criticism.

As always, we will work very hard where required on each of the points you have raised.

I do hope that you will be able to visit us once again and give us the opportunity to redeem your opinion on Bishopstrow Hotel and Spa.

Kind Regards

Jason Thorley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warminster
13.3 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
698 reviews
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Warminster
Travelodge Warminster
#2 of 3 in Warminster
550 reviews
12.1 mi away
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hinton Charterhouse
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
426 reviews
16.4 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
18.5 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishopstrow House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishopstrow House

Property: Bishopstrow House
Address: Boreham Road, Warminster BA12 9HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Warminster
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Warminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bishopstrow House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bishopstrow Hotel & Spa. Without doubt one of the finest, luxury hotels in Wiltshire.Located within easy reach of Bath and Salisbury (off the A36), only 6 miles from the famed Longleat Safari and Adventure Park.Set in 27 acres of established grounds boasting kitchen gardens, orchard and trout fishing from the banks of the river Wylye running along the hotel, deep in the heart of the beautiful Wiltshire countryside. Ideal for adults and children alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Lastminute, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bishopstrow House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishopstrow House Hotel Warminster
Bishopstrow Hotel Warminster
Bishopstrow House Warminster, UK - Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing