We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely gardens and house” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stourhead House and Garden

Stourhead House and Garden
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Warminster
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely gardens and house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

So much to see and good walks (various routes) including around the lake or just in the woodland. Nice cafe for a bite to eat at the end.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Drapers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,066
    358
    64
    18
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stouhead House”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was one of the best NT houses & gardens I have ever visited. From the easy parking through the grounds to the house. You are met by very friendly volunteers who cannot be more helpful. You are only allowed through the rooms on the ground floor but there is so much to see and the history behind every room, painting, ornament is sad but wonderful in its presentation. Cannot recommend this enough. The shop and restaurant are excellent although they could put a few more coffee beans in the coffee! We had a friend in a wheelchair, there are some steep pathways and 13 steps up to the front door of the house.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TerryG999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“I have seen it looking better.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We visit Stourhead a couple of times each year and usually it is a real treat, on this occasion the house and facilities were fine but we were disappointed with the condition of the lake and grounds. The lake was drained to a lower level and was also spoilt by the amount of algae lying on the surface. Quite a few trees seemed to have been lost during the winter and these places looked untidy, a few shrubs and a little more effort to clear some of the debris would have gone a long way in improving the overall look of things. The impression given was that there were lots of administration people about but very few actually seen working around the grounds. On past record I am confident things will improve.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank marlo876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A quiet escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We often drop in here on our way back when we have finishsed visiting the family. The garden in beautiful which ever season and worth putting up a brolley and going for a wander even on the rainiest day.
It has a wonderful shop for both gifts and one on site for food which is ideal for something to take home and cook

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Surreysurfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful - an oasis of stunning, tranquil landscaping”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Recently visited in between showers on a Saturday morning. I think the weather and the time of day ensured that it was quiet with not many people around so we had a fabulous walk around the lake and soaked in the gorgeous landscape. Whilst clearly the estate is extremely carefully maintained and managed, at no point do you feel it has been overdone. The height and age of the stunning trees give a real sense of history and a walk amongst them is restorative heaven. Even my teen daughter loved it. Unfortunately we did not see the house but keen to go back for another visit and do that another day. We did have a cream tea in the Tea shop - good quality, friendly service, delicious food. Bathroom facilities spotless.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Itala88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stourhead House and Garden also viewed

 
Amesbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to Stourhead House and Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing