We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Lovely visit

The house it really worth visiting with some great rooms and lots of paintings and some really... read more

Reviewed today
JemimaScout
,
Romsey, United Kingdom
Our first National Trust site

What an incredible estate, with a great and fascinating house to view, fantastic grounds to walk... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Chris J
,
London, United Kingdom
Read all 2,150 reviews
  
Reviews (2,150)
Filter reviews
2,150 results
Traveller rating
1,495
496
99
40
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,495
496
99
40
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spread eagle autumn colours national trust stunning gardens the follies king alfred's tower full bloom the pub walk round the lake farm shop every corner nt properties car park sunny day lovely walk lovely place to visit rhododendrons
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 2,150 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

One of our favourite Nat Trust gardens and luckily only a short drive from home.
We love to visit in all seasons but autumn being our favourite due to the gorgeous autumnal colours which we missed by a few weeks as away on holiday but nonetheless still a lovely walk and gorgeous day bearing in mind is was mid November.
Very surprised how busy it was this year compared to last year. However we did manage to find a few quiet spots away from the maddening crowds.
We never tire of the grounds and walk and tend to miss visiting the house as done several times before.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank LAD63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is one of the Trust's most visited properties and you can see why. The gardens are a delight all year with many different paths and exits to delightful footpaths into the surrounding countryside. The house is worth a look. Weekends can be very busy but weekdays are less crowded and may be preferable if you have the time. Cat Park is not free for non-members even if paying admission and be warned the scale of the give away map does not give an accurate impression of the distance to Alfred's Tower and the Well - they look as if they are just over the fence but they are much further on rising ground. Second-hand bookshop in Granary by small walled garden is always worth a visit. Woodworkers note that there are ususally logs for turning and sawn planks of various trees for sale up by the main car park. Disabled visitors head for the car park down the hill by the Church. A full day can be enjoyed here.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Fraser M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I am a NT member of 40 years standing. I visited Stourhead with three young foreign friends wishing simply to walk up 6 Wells Bottom to Alfreds Tower and back. There was no ticket for "grounds only" so we were faced with 16.60 per person to pay for a 2hour walk - the same as if we were visiting the house. We would cheerfully have paid 5.00 each but this was extortionate. So using local knowledge we accessed the walk from a public footpath and paid nothing. One of the friends had been intending to make quite an expensive purchase in the NT shop but after experiencing the very unhelpful and grasping approach of the Trust, decided not to. So they lost both money and goodwill.

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank MrsGlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Spent the day at stourhead, visiting the house and the gardens. It was grey and raining, but when we entered the house it was beautifully decorated with many Christmas trees. The atmosphere was beautiful and made me feel all fuzzy inside :)

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Claudia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stourhead garden is absolutely beautiful, well looked after and has friendly staff to manage it. 100% recommend

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank 822paulinem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews