We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely winter walk”

Stourhead House and Garden
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Warminster
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Stourhead includes a Palladian house and world-famous landscape garden. The garden is perhaps the most beautiful and magical of all the great landscape gardens, Stourhead is an 18th-century view of an Arcadian paradise. On a plateau of high ground Stourhead house was built and became home to generations of the Hoare family.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is simply gorgeous. We went in January, when it was lovely and cold. It's a pleasant walk, nothing to hard. Next time we come down we're going to go even further up to the obelisk (as we missed it this time).

Recommend to anyone, there are loads of places for kids to see, as well as a relatively easy walk for anyone. It's not too far round either.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank GeejTSD13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"spread eagle"
in 128 reviews
"autumn colours"
in 98 reviews
"national trust"
in 301 reviews
"stunning gardens"
in 62 reviews
"the follies"
in 24 reviews
"king alfred's tower"
in 22 reviews
"full bloom"
in 23 reviews
"the pub"
in 93 reviews
"walk round the lake"
in 41 reviews
"farm shop"
in 58 reviews
"every corner"
in 27 reviews
"nt properties"
in 35 reviews
"car park"
in 119 reviews
"sunny day"
in 63 reviews
"beautiful place to visit"
in 21 reviews
"lovely walk"
in 40 reviews
"rhododendrons"
in 129 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 2,169 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Have wanted to visit for such a long time and on Saturday we finally got round to visiting. What idiots for leaving it so long.

We are members of the National Trust so parking and entry was free. If you are a member you need to go to the parking meter press the yellow button I think it was and then scan your membership card.

First thing we did was to visit the restaurant for drinks and bacon rolls. A little pricey and would have preferred bread rather than a bap however the bacon was excellent so worth it in the end.

Entry to the estate was easy and we were given an explanation regarding what was open in the house. We chose to walk around the lake first to enjoy the various vantage points. We followed the map and it was easy to follow to walk around. Any steep obstacles are mentioned with diversions available.

There are so many photographs of Stourhead you may have seen and choosing a new vantage point can be challenging. We stopped half way round for more drinks in the Gothic Cottage.

We looked around the churchyard and also went in St Peter’s Church. The pub looked very inviting and will probably go when we next visit.

At the end of our visit we also managed to find some bargains in the shop, one of which was a DVD about Stourhead at War. Very interesting.

This is a fabulous place to buy and we plan to go back at least twice this year hopefully when there are some blue skies

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank paulsR8909MH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A long wonder around and amazing and beautiful garden with many hidden treasures. My first visit but not my last. Best time to visit is early in the morning or late afternoon. Gets very busy in the summer. It was a quite time just after the new year.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank mineheadone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I visited for the for time as a lapsed NT member, therby having to pay for access. £11 per adult (x2) for access to the gardens, plus £4 to park.
HOWEVER, it became very clear that if you park near to King Alfred's Tower, you can walk down the vally, cross a style and, hey presto, you are in the Gardens....for nothing!
When highlighted to the staff, it was clear that this is known about ("the locals often do that"), but there is no process to stop it happening.
Similarly, you might want to try parking on the road by the "Spread Eagle" pub to avoid the £4 car park charge, as a couple in a BMW did.
I am a great supporter of the work that the NT do, and will continue to be so. My issue is with the unfairness of the admission process.
If you have paid, as we did, £26 to access the gardens, only to find that people were gaining entry for nothing, and the stafff are aware but "can't police it", you have a right to feel cheated.
My next visit will see me park "off site" and access the gardens via the style; I'm not going to get caught twice!

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank Fairbutaccurate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had an extremely expensive walk around very busy gardens and the wider grounds. Lots of people walking dogs some of whom seemed unable to use dog poo bins with plastic bags deposited on styles and at gates!
We ate in the cafe/restaurant which included a long queue for drinks and to place our order. Partner's was an only-just lukewarm hot chocolate and an extremely ordinary Greggs-type sausage roll. I was surprised that the National Trust were not more on their game in terms of tasty, local produce and good service given the price premium. The back of the kitchen also looked like a bomb had hit it - just a poor visitor experience overall.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank JJF342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stourhead House and Garden also viewed

Warminster, Wiltshire
 
Warminster, Wiltshire
Crockerton, Wiltshire
 

Been to Stourhead House and Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing