We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out!”
Review of Longleat

Longleat
Ranked #1 of 1 Tours in Warminster
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
354 reviews
170 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Great day out!”
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I would thoroughly recommend this for a family day out. Certain dates from now cost only £14 per adult , £10 per child for the 'Christmas at Longleat' experience. Included in the price is the safari park, riverboat cruise, entrance to Longleat House and loads of other attractions. The house is decorated for Christmas and there are pantomime characters in each room to chat to. Excellent value for money.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbiedoodle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,991 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,302
    1,136
    319
    129
    105
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birchington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“2nd time-still good”
Reviewed 17 November 2012

good day out-drive through safari especially the monkeys who climbed all over the car trying to remove bits of it(ours is 14 yrs old so no prob most of its already fallen off) -we had a good laugh at other drivers trying to get monkeys off by braking hard and squirting washers, no chance the monkeys are too clever, you can bypass the monkey section if you want- we spoke to one lady who'd had her number plate removed -staff told her they try and get the bits back at the end of the day-maybe they should open a small Halfords there- went on the train and boat ride-toured the stately home- massive castle style adventure play area- all good- only sour note was wanted to 2 go on ghost tour- told all booked up in advance on internet- tickets cost an extra £7.50 each on top of entry fee-there are notices saying how they put all the money back into the upkeep of the mansion-here's a tip- lay on a few more tours-or don't advertise something thats not available

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank roger1192242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent - One Day is Not Enough!”
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Even though it rained the whole day, we had a great time! The Drive Through Safari lasted forever - it was great to see so many animals, not just a few dotted here and there, and they were still quite active despite the poor weather. The Bat House is not for the faint hearted! Bats flying freely at head height - a tremendous experience. The Boat Trip to see the gorillas is great to see the sea lions too.

The Main House is well worth taking the time to see - I was surprised at just how much was open to the public - only downside was no guide either in person or audio. There must be some great stories to be told.

Everywhere we went on the Estate everything was well looked after. Didn't check out the eating places.

It is expensive to visit but worth it. To make it a bit easier on the pocket check out the Tesco ClubCard site for voucher exchange to day passes, also it's cheaper to prepay online and the two day price would certainly be value for money.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ahmeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“not the best firework display”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We visited longleat on the night of the 2nd november to watch the fireworks as we had heared alot about these fireworks from other visitors when we had visited saying that they were brilliant so we decided that this year was a must!!!!!

I received an email from longleat offering me V.I.P seats for £5.00 per person so thought this sounds good as this display is very popular and would have to stand for quite a while before it started, these seats were where the bird show is during the summer so we thought we had a perfect view sadly mistaken. We were given soup included in the ticket price which was curried pumpkin or some thing like that as it was very spicy and a toxic orange colour(probably pumkins left from halloween that people were carving in the courtyard earlier in the week.

6.30pm arrived and the fireworks began the music that was played was a load of rubbish with an animal theme other than the lion king and the bear nessicities which is always played at these kind of things at these kind of places couldnt recognise any of the other songs, the speakers are placed right in front of the seating no more than 15 foot between them and the poor audience members sat in the front row, to me part of the fun going to firework displays are hearing the loud bangs but the music totally wiped out the bangs and left me trying to gain my hearing back after the display had finished.

Sitting in these seats are not good as the fireworks are launched to the left of the seating so you have to twist to the left to watch them and it lacked atmosphere.

Shall give them another chance next year but shant go for the V.I.P seating as would rather stand with everyone else to hear the ooo's and ahahah's and the bangs from the fireworks and take in the atmosphere. Perhaps a different theme next year.

As a annual pass holder I shall continue to go to longleat as it still is a great place and its great to visit its themed events throughout the year.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank garwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longleat_Resort, Manager at Longleat, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. We’re very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your visit. As expected our Fireworks displays turned out to be extremely successful and feedback has been overwhelmingly positive. The £5 ‘VIP’ seats offered an optional extra special experience including a seasonal pumpkin soup (or tea or coffee alternative) along with the extra comfort of sitting in our arena, rather than standing in the viewing field. The accompanying music was specially chosen from film soundtracks to create a dramatic atmosphere, and contained such classics as music from the films Zulu and Transformers, along with the popular songs you recognised from Disney’s Lion King; very appropriate due to our status as a world leading animal park and family attraction. We’re really glad you are enjoying using your Annual Passes and do appreciate all feedback we receive to help us improve what we offer. We look forward to soon welcoming you and your family back to Longleat for our magical Christmas extravaganza!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
133 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“An excellent day out”
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We visited Longleat at the start of November on one of the last opening days of the year. I have to say I was surprised. Everything is very "unbritish" like. Not here do you find the lack of care found in so many UK attractions. Everything was well looked after, new, clean, and well presented. The animal interaction is second to none and the addition of Costa coffees around the estate is very welcome indeed!

The Safari is fun as always and the ever expanding list of attractions by the house make this a proper full day out.

The removal of one point to make this a 4/5 rating is simply because of the entry price. We used supermarket loyalty points to pay and would simply not have paid the entry fee without them. While you can see where the money is spent, its too expensive for a young family of 4 to justify.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank BournemouthFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Longleat also viewed

 

Been to Longleat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing