We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing and not worth £63”
Review of Longleat

Longleat
Ranked #1 of 1 Tours in Warminster
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing and not worth £63”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Was looking forward to visiting Longleat but after going there this week i was left disappointed.
As we entered not one of the food facilities were open, the shop that sold snacks was extremity over priced and we arrived at 10am where they must of just opened as knowone was in a rush to open or help other than if we wanted to pay for a VIP tour!
The Postman Pat Village that has been compared to Peppa Pig world was a joke took us 5 minutes to walk around with our 2 year old and she wasn't impressed and neither were we!!!

Walk with the penguins..... unless the penguins are outside you can walk the 10 yards in a cramped fenced off area its a joke really as they advertise this as being something you cannot miss.

I wouldn't go again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank rhosj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,059 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,350
    1,153
    319
    130
    107
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens and a very interesting house.”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

As we are virtually on the doorstep decide to visit Longleat during a bank holiday. The house is big enough and historic enough to fascinating without causing factual 'overload'. The grounds and gardens are beautiful and we were lucky to have these enhanced by lovely weather. Ample picnic space is provided and children can happily wear themselves out running around on the lawns, or by visiting the many attractions. Undoubtedly visiting the safari park as well makes the price steep, especially as the children's tickets show little reduction, however the house and grounds on their own are quite reasonable.
Ps check out the Marquises art....it is certainly not what you would class as mainstream, or conventional.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Esprit1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Just spent a long weekend at Longleat, loads to see what's good is you can do the safari on the bus for a small additional charge which saves your car from the monkeys also the drivers are also keepers and know everything about the animals also very amusing. then it's best to come back to the park and do the house and the the boats and train etc. and then we went back on safari in the car but avoided the Monkeys late afternoon just as the animals were waking up from the afternoon naps! Good value and we will be going back.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“BRILLIANT DAY OUT NOT JUST FOR KIDS”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Both myself and my partner are in our 20's and thoroughly enjoyed our visit to your park,

You have an amazing establishment going and all your staff were simply amazing and very very helpful, we loved the safari and also all the other attractions especially the animal handling room where they persuaded my arachnophobe partner to touch a tarantulas leg, big achievement, so much to do but must say the monkeys on the safari are some cheeky animals but so wonderful at the same time and feeding the deer is such a lovely idea

I could keep writing and writing but all i will say is that its a wonderful day out come rain or shine (was raining alot when we went) and everyone from kids to grandparents will love a trip here.

Well done for providing us with an amazing day and we look forward to returning in the near future

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Simply superb!”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Superb safari park and zoo. Really interactive as you can walk through the enclosures with meerkats running around your feet!

So many things to do and see.

Shame there wasn't enough hours in the day to do everything. It also rained the day we went but this didn't stop us enjoying ourselves.

Yes, we're two fully grown adults but this place transforms you back into a kid again. It's so much fun!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank steve_d_fb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Longleat also viewed

 
Warminster, Wiltshire
 

Been to Longleat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing