We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Longleat

Longleat
Ranked #1 of 1 Tours in Warminster
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

havent been here in at least 5 years and has it changed to start with we had got disabled tickets for my autistic brother was qustioned on this on arival and just said need proof we take proof every where but very rerly nedded anyway got there and we went in the safarie walked around the walibys not much fun in there then walked in the lemmas they was great so close one of the best things there we then got in the car and started the tour when we hit the monkes make sure you avoid if you dont want your car distoyed lol the van infont was atacked so much we had a monkey brake all the wiper bladeds by jumping on them funnt to watch then on the way home we ran out of oil lifted the bonnet and the bumper fell off there so strong and this in not a old worn out car quite new and very well bult anyway the dears are very worth feeding the whole saffarie was 3 hours it took use we then enterd the other bit of the park and there is no longer a pets corner its now called animal kingdom in my apinion not as good as pets corner but still very nice the new monky kingdom is diffrnt ill say that and bla bla bla but the parths need changing as i know what trey are trying to do but the parths a very up and down and bubpy with is not good as my mom has a problem with her eyes and this made it very diffacult and nerly triped many times the adventer park is still very good the penguin walk is the most pefetic thing ive every seen as advitised walk with them the walk is no longer than 10ft but the sting ways a great and you can stroke them we ended the day on the boat witch was a great end to the day all in all still defntly a 5 out of 5
im dislexic so sorry for the spelling

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,928 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,251
    1,126
    317
    129
    105
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Best day of my entire life, so close to the animals! Spent all day here and not once were we bored! The lion cubs were incredible to see! Not one bad word to say, just amazing

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings - Very poor customer service experience, bring your own food!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We booked our tickets online and took advantage of a special Fathers Day offer. Booking went pretty smoothly and on arrival, the lady who greeted us at the booth was very friendly. First impression was good. We enjoyed being able to see the animals pretty closely but every member of staff we saw looked very miserable and unfriendly so the customer service experience was pretty poor. We had burgers and chips for lunch as we were hungry and this was one of the first place we got to come lunch time. We paid £16.00 for 2 burgers and chips which tasted quite horrible. Mustard pump was empty and when we asked for some to be brought in, the "lady" told us abruptly that she was too busy. We didn't enjoy the long delay in the lion enclosure. The boat safari was pretty good and the young lad who commented the trip was funny, enthusiastic and friendly. All in all, we feel that friendly staff and better food would go a long way. Shame there was a true lack of both.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank f00dym00dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longleat_Resort, Guest Relations Manager at Longleat, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hello,
Thank you for your review of your recent visit to Longleat. We strive to offer high quality food and service in all our cafes and generally this is received very successfully. Quality is of paramount importance and we have strict control measures in place accordingly. Similarly, we aim to offer a welcoming experience and ‘service with a smile’ as we understand that good customer service is vital to our guests’ experience. We apologise that in this instance we did not meet expectations and for any disappointment this caused.
We have passes all your comments to the departments concerned. It is feedback such as yours that helps us improve the service we offer to all our guests.
We hope that you enjoyed our Safari and other attractions and over all you all had a wonderful day. Thank you again for your review.
Longleat
Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
296 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“trying to win back the locals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

During June 2014 Longleat is offering a 30% discount to people living within a designated "local area" however this is 30% off the "walk up" price. Booking on line automatically gives a 15% discount, In reality I suspect the majority of people probably book on line now, so the local residents rate is an additional 15% off.
OK so is it worth the money? YES! Paying full price would appear to make for an expensive day out for a family, but once inside the gates most things are included in the gate price. I've visited several times and have watched the place evolve over the years. There is plenty to keep the young ones occupied, with train rides, boat ride, jungle kingdom, etc. Walking amongst the Meerkats is a must do!
An issue I have is that it seems difficult to buy sandwiches at most of the food outlets, the exception being Costa Coffee. Maybe we were just unlucky, but nowhere else had sandwiches / rolls, etc on display. For a family visiting on a nice day i would suggest taking a picnic, there are plenty of grassy areas where you can sit and eat.
The actual safari itself hasn't really changed much over the years, but it does allow you to get up close to the animals. If you value your car and don't want to risk losing windscreen wipers, aerials etc., then avoid the monkey drive through area!!
The park itself is well maintained, clean and tidy with plenty of toilets dotted around the place.
For a day out with a difference this place hits the spot. If visiting with kids you may find a day isn't long enough to see and do everything!
On a final note - Longleat House is a must see, don't miss it!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank gizmo2brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding Day Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We have just returned from an outstanding day at Longleat!

We took advantage of a fathers day voucher, this was great as it allowed an adult to go free. This was a brilliant offer, however I would be more than happy to pay the full entry price as there is so much to do and the Estate grounds are so beautiful.

We really enjoyed the Safari, this is a real must for any family, getting up and close to the animals was incredible, and the cd provided an interesting commentary. We particularly enjoyed the monkeys (our car survived) and the deers were very cute.

Lunch in the breathtaking grounds was lovely, despite the Estate being busy, there was still plenty of space to relax and chill (we opted for the river area). Going into the house was enjoyable, every room had something of interest and it was fun to learn about Lord Bath and his colorful lifestyle. The maze was good fun and the reptile/butterfly area was also very good. Despite us arriving early, we didn't have time to look at everything (there is so so much), but the real highlight of the day was the river trip, the guide was very good and even the seals and hippo's made an appearance. Sadly Niko the gorilla didn't, but maybe he will next time.

Can't wait to return and will be more than happy to pay full price!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank H0useHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Longleat also viewed

 

Been to Longleat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing