We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent day out at longleat”
Review of Longleat

Longleat
Ranked #1 of 1 Tours in Warminster
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children
dorset england
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“excellent day out at longleat”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

we visited longleat on a sunday at the end of June. We used our tesco vouchers, and took a picnic, which made this a really cheap day out. Longleat has something for everyone, and each time we go back theyve added more attractions. What is nice is that all of the animals have huge areas and enclosures, and look very well looked after. We went early, getting there at opening times (10am) as I wanted to do the giraffe feeding(which is at 1030 and 230 only) it was fantastic! You do pay extra, but not much. There is also a lemur experience where ring tailed lemurs walk around you (included)as well as other animals. This is all at the start of the safari, with the rest being great, the monkeys will eat your wipers,reverse park sensors etc, but you can avoid that part, and it is quite funny! After the safari, there is so much more to see that is included in the price. There is a boat trip over the lake to see the very old gorilla, and to feed the sealions, there are animal shows, meerkat experience, and for the children postman pat world etc. Even on a busy day there were quiet places to sit, the orangary is now a cafe, with the most beautiful rose garden infront of it. The house is also worth seeing, with very friendly staff letting you know about each room. Longleat is a great day out, we spent the whole day there, and could of done with more time!!! Well worth a visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank storyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,061 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,352
    1,153
    319
    130
    107
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Could do with some updating and maintenance”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

In the Postman Pat area the plywood floor of the walk through postbox is all broken and could be a danger to children tripping. The tortoise enclosure has enormous thistles and lots of other weeds growing around the fence, again a hazard for tiny fingers. There is a awful view from the train of their rubbish tip. Lots more to say but I think you understand. The best thing was the safari bus ride with Scott who was very entertaining.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank benilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A bit hit and miss”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

It's my second time at longleat, the first time was amazing. The second time, the staff didn't direct us properly in the right direction and the bird of prey show was very different this time, it was much quicker, less involvement, not as many birds and the birds didn't fly to the nearby fields which was a shame. It's an amazing day out though with family, friends and children. Plenty if stuff to see and do. It's not as expensive as you think. You can view the house, go on a safari (miss the monkeys if u wanted do they won't ruin your car) feed lots of animals and plenty of shows. Young or old, there is something for everyone. Its just a shame they don't make it as amazing each time and that's why I give it 4 and not 5 stars.

Helpful?
Thank Shirnell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Day Out”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Today we decided to on the whim have a little trip to Longleat. Luckily it's not too far, we're blessed to have such a beautiful place so near to us. I can't fault this place- it's absolutely stunning! The miles of gorgeous green hills are to die for. Driving through all the fields and forestry on your entrance is the perfect start. We met all kind of weird and wonderful animals (Anne the elephant being my personal favourite!!) the dears all gave a little peak into our car, we had a chat with the seals on the boat trip, feeding the birdies, stroking the giraffes, and just soaking the sun on such a lovely day was priceless! Would recommend here to anybody- it's the first time we've been since we were both very young and we enjoyed it just as much as ever. It may be a bit pricey but it's worth every penny for the memories :-)

Helpful?
1 Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Had the most fantastic day out at longleat would go again it was worth the two hour drive would recommend longleat to anyone. The most peaceful place ever if you love animals you'll love this place. The staff are all very helpful and full of information no massive noisy rides just a gentle pace in a lovely place. Our day was filled with surprises dressing up to tour the big house, up close encounters with wild and not so wild animals. I have a child who is autistic and dosnt like crowds or lots of noise. The peaceful setting and idilic surrounding made the day us. Longleat catered for all thank you for a memorable day out. We will return.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank debbyegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Longleat also viewed

 
Warminster, Wiltshire
 

Been to Longleat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing