We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short midweek break”
Review of Longleat

Longleat
Ranked #3 of 11 things to do in Warminster
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Reviewed 1 week ago

We are both over 60 and thoroughly enjoyed all the attractions at Longleat House, gardens, and Safari park. (Last time I went was as a child in the 1960s )
We were pleasantly surprised how wonderful and helpful ALL the staff were and carried out there roles cheerfully it made us feel that the hole estate is run by one big happy family.
We enjoyed all the attractions but went firstly to see the house and ended up staying 9 hours finishing the day viewing a most spectacular firework display which was so well co-ordinated with the music it brought a tear to my eye.
Great value for money, If you are thinking of going don't hesitate check events on line if you can.
We live about 3hours drive away and stayed for a couple of nights in a nearby hotel. There is a festival of lights soon so we are thinking of booking again to get us in the festive spirit.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Trish74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"safari park"
in 1,471 reviews
"sea lions"
in 803 reviews
"boat trip"
in 532 reviews
"monkey enclosure"
in 470 reviews
"day ticket"
in 225 reviews
"big cats"
in 280 reviews
"train ride"
in 337 reviews
"vip tour"
in 98 reviews
"african village"
in 204 reviews
"parrot show"
in 165 reviews
"postman pat village"
in 107 reviews
"singing christmas tree"
in 107 reviews
"windscreen wipers"
in 100 reviews
"tesco vouchers"
in 144 reviews
"santa train"
in 150 reviews
"gorilla island"
in 141 reviews
"other attractions"
in 244 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 7,579 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited on December 30th 2018. They offer a free Carer ticket for people with disabilities which is very welcome as my son sometimes can't cope and we often have to leave things early (although happily that wasn't the case this time!).
We followed advice and got there early; no queue to get in so we went straight to the Safari. The animals are beautiful; we were a few feet away from more than a dozen lions. The flow of traffic through the safari was fine; the tigers were a little further away but still easy to see and then we were able to stop and admire the cheetah with her cubs. We caught a glimpse of the elephant and had an amazing view of the rhinos. All the other animals were easy to see and as it wasn't too hectic we were able to take our time and have a good look.
All of the other activities and events were lovely and the Festival of Light was spell binding, as always. The staff in the coffee shop are very polite and helpful and the place is kept very clean and reasonably priced as well. We spoke to staff on a number of occasions and everyone was friendly and helpful. Overall it was a wonderful day out and we all went home happy.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Janine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

FAO – The Guest Engagement Manager

I purchased tickets to Longleat for Saturday 5th January as a surprise for my boyfriend’s birthday. He has never experienced Longleat Safari before and was really looking forward to seeing all of the animals up close. I have been twice before and it has always been an amazing experienced so I was keen to show it off to him.

When we arrived we were disappointed from the beginning.

We started on the Safari at 11am of which was so busy we crawled around and over half of the animals had already been taken in for the day. This was at 1pm!!!!!

It was not mentioned on your website, when I purchased the tickets the day before that the animals will be taken in early. It was also not mentioned that when we went to get the boat to see the gorilla and the sea lions that we would be turned away –at 3pm!! Otherwise we would have not have spent £65.00 on tickets!

We didn’t see any:

- Lions

- Tigers

- Wolves

- Giraffes

- The elephant

- Cheetahs

- Hippos

- Sea lions

- The gorilla

- Meerkats

- Anteaters

- Wallaby’s

- Penguins

- Butterflies


Only a small section of Longleat House was available to tour due to redecoration works. Again this was not highlighted on your website.

Jungle Cruise – CLOSED
Jungle Kingdom – ANIMALS PUT AWAY
Gorilla Colony – CLOSED
Train – CLOSED
Monkey Temple – CLOSED

They’re the main attractions and you put them away at 1pm, yet only open at 10am? That’s just insane.
We feel like utter mugs for paying £62 to sit in a traffic queue for 2hrs.

WHAT A CON.

IT HAS TURNED INTO A ZOO RATHER THAT THE BEST SAFARI IN THE UK.

Date of experience: January 2019
6  Thank 4Soho2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited Longleat in the summer for our sons 2nd birthday, We had an amazing day getting up close with the animals and making memories. We fed Giraffes, Deers and Birds. There's so much to see and do. The house and grounds are stunning. The Safari was very busy but we still managed to see all the animals and enjoy ourselves. The only things we didn't get to do was the Boat ride and the train ride as the waiting times was over 50minutes.
We will 100% be returning sometime this year.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank rachosgoodx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Last minute decision to go and see the festival of light. We were not disappointed, it was very good. It was a bitterly cold but sunny day. Some of the animals were not out but to be expected. Spent about 6 hours there and was definitely well worth the visit.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Tina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Longleat also viewed

 

Been to Longleat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing