We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PeterC”
Review of Westover House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Westover House
Ranked #2 of 24 Warminster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Skipton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“PeterC”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This is quite the best B&B that I have stayed at by a country mile. Ideally located, perfect for the business traveller or holidaymaker, it has everything you could wish for including: large spotless rooms with en-suite facilities, TV, free Wifi, hairdryer, refreshments etc and very reasonably priced. The superb breakfast is served in the kitchen or verandah which has magnificent views over the Wylye valley and beyond. Becky is a warm, convivial and attentive host who made me feel at home. I shall certainly stay again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebekah M, Owner at Westover House, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words; such lovely feedback does make the hard work worthwhile. Hopefully see you again soon.

Kind regards

Becky

Tip for other travelers one of our rooms has a separate but private shower room, so is not ensuite - please do check when booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    17
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
50
85
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

What a wonderful place to stay. I was visiting Longleat with my mum and wanted a one night stay convenient for the drive back. I saw previous reviews and was confident about my choice even before we arrived. I warmed to Becky even before our stay through a phone conversation, such a genuine person. A beautiful house in a wonderful location. Our hosts were warm and friendly, ready with local knowledge whenever asked. Our room was spotless and most comfortable, the breakfast so filling there was no need for lunch. We would have been happy to stay longer. I will definitely be staying here again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woo1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebekah M, Owner at Westover House, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are so lucky being so close to Longleat and having two pubs within walking distance of the B&B. We hope to see you and your mum again for another visit - perhaps a summer one so you can enjoy the rose garden.

Kind regards

Becky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Probably the best B&B we have ever stayed in. We were there for 2 nights visiting friends and Longleat. The rooms are immaculate and have lovely views. Breakfast was excellent and served piping hot. Very good local pub 5 mins walk, serving good food and real ale. Becky is a wonderful host and made us feel very welcome. We shall certainly return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smwjohnT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

We had a short one night stay with our little boy as we were visiting longleat for two days :). Couldn't fault westover house. Amazing room with views to match! Hosts were great, couldn't do enough for you. Great breakfast and our little boy loved the dogs and horse! We will definitely be back again, wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else. :). Thankyou ever so much.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebekah M, Owner at Westover House, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments, feed back is always appreciated.

Kind regards

Becky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We have just arrived home after a short 1 night stay at Westover House, but I can't rate it highly enough. The house was spotless as was the room, Becky was brilliant from start (booking the room) to finish (cooking a wonderful breakfast and taking into consideration my pregnancy). We were told of a lovely pub nearby to get some proper pub grub and thoroughly enjoyed it, also enjoyed sharing our drinks with Becky and Steve and their lovely dog. Thank you Becky for a lovely stay and we will definitely be back next year with our plus one!! :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emz280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebekah M, Owner at Westover House, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you - we will look forward to seeing you again next year with your new addition, good luck with the birth.

Best wishes

Becky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Becky and Steve are old friends of mine from many years ago. I got back in touch when I found their house listed as a B&B! I stayed in the twin room at the back which doesn't have the sweeping views of the front, but those can be enjoyed from the garden or the dining room just as well. I found the room very cosy and comfortable, looking out over the little courtyard with autumnal trees ringing it. Anyone who loves wildlife will absolutely love staying here - songbirds and woodpeckers are everywhere. The place is thronged with swallows in the summertime, and I saw lots of nests under the eaves of the house and various sheds too. Kestrels hunted in the fields, wrens hopped along the garden wall to the water bath and a sparrowhawk glided over the treetops.
Becky was very accommodating of my vegetarianism too - she was fully prepared with veggie sausages and hash browns.
The prehistoric backdrop of Scratchbury Hillfort and Battelsbury Bowl is an added bonus. An amazing place to stay!

Room Tip: The two large rooms at the front have the stunning views if you want to spend time relaxing inside t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trudi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebekah M, Owner at Westover House, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
It was great to catch up with you again and to welcome you to our home once more - please do not leave it so long before visiting again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Becky & Steve, thank you for the wonderful welcome into house which you made us feel at home. The rooms were perfect, beautifully clean and most comfortable. The rapport with Becky and Steve was great and we even ended up having a drink together in a local Inn where we ended up having a banquet of a meal. The breakfasts were scrumptious and set us up nicely for the day, added by freshly prepared sandwiches and other goodies which kept us going all day while we were fishing nearby.

Great memories that will last forever!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fergus714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebekah M, Owner at Westover House, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
It was lovely having you both to stay and hearing about your fishing exploits, its always great having guests who share our love of the countryside. Thank you for your lovely comments, hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Becky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Warminster hotels
1.7 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
840 reviews
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Warminster
Travelodge Warminster
#2 of 3 in Warminster
548 reviews
1.8 mi away
Home Farm Boreham
Home Farm Boreham
#1 of 24 in Warminster
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#6 of 24 in Warminster
311 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Bath Arms
The Bath Arms
#3 of 24 in Warminster
225 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Dove Inn
The Dove Inn
#5 of 24 in Warminster
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westover House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westover House

Property: Westover House
Address: Westover House High Street | Heytesbury, Warminster BA12 0EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Warminster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Warminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Westover House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Westover, situated in the beautiful Wylye Valley with picture postcard views. We are a small family run B&B with high quality rooms. Guests are welcome to wonder our grounds, play in the paddocks or relax in the rose garden. We are ideally situated for visits to Longleat, Stonehenge, Stourhead and nearby Bath and Salisbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Westover House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westover House Warminster, UK - Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing