We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply great”
Review of Westover House

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Westover House
Ranked #2 of 24 Warminster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“simply great”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

beautiful location, lovely host, nothing is trouble, only stayed 1 night but would definitely come back here again. very close to Longleat, the 25% discount off the normal ticket prices was a big bonus!!! wish we had more time to explore the village as well but we visited Bath instead which is also a really pretty location. do not hesitate to book here!

Room Tip: the King/Court room has the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebekah M, Owner at Westover House, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
So glad you enjoyed the views we bought the house for the views and its land, as they say it all about location. Hope to see you both again soon. Kind regards Becky
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    17
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
51
86
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Becky and Steve's hospitality is great. The set up is fab for families and well placed for local attractions. Very clean, fresh and comfortable with lots of lovely little touches like fresh milk, mineral water, biscuits, tea and coffee set out on arrival. Breakfast is superb.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebekah M, Owner at Westover House, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed the Cotley suite, when we redesigned the rooms we thought it would be nice for parents to be able to put the children to bed and have their own space. We would have preferred to have had adjoining doors but this does not seem to have been an issue for parents given that the rooms are so close together.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Even before we arrived Becky was most helpful, arranging us discounted tickets for Longleat and then she welcomed us on the drive which was a nice touch. She showed us to our room which was a lovely big double room with ensuite and a stunning view over the rolling countryside. She gave us recommendations for dinner - which was absolutely fantastic food and offered us a time for breakfast. Breakfast itself was perfect- full English and she catered perfectly for personal taste as well as fresh fruit, cereals and toast. I would very much recommend this well located B and B to anyone wanting to stay close to Longleat in order to get there for opening as it is only a 5/10 minute drive there. We will certainly go back there if down that way again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebekah M, Owner at Westover House, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments, we are so lucky in so many aspects and it is lovely to be able to share this with our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Lovely B&B: stayed at Westover House for two nights when training in Warminster and against my expanding stomachs better judgement tucked into Becky's Brecky, cooked to order on the Aga and accompanied by friendly and easy conversation. Superb. Lovely view across the valley from my bedroom and an easy 10 mins walk to The Angel for top notch food, beer and dogs staring at me dinner. Would thoroughly recommend to anyone who will listen.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebekah M, Owner at Westover House, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Perhaps next time you may come on two wheels, for which we are able to provide garaging and you'll get to see the Z............ That's got them all guessing! Thank you for your great review.

Happy riding.

Becky
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Only stayed here for a night over a weekend, but it was really good. Only a couple of slip ups which were quickly rectified with many apologies. Would like to have stayed longer, and if we need to stay near Warminster again we'll definitely come here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebekah M, Owner at Westover House, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your review and for your kind comments. Once again apologies for the confusion over rooms, we have a new booking system which I think threw my mum a little (who I'd enlisted to help with check ins so that we could have a rare day out - thank you mum) and thank you both for being so understanding. We are truly a family run home from home kind of B&B!

Kind regards

Becky
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This is quite the best B&B that I have stayed at by a country mile. Ideally located, perfect for the business traveller or holidaymaker, it has everything you could wish for including: large spotless rooms with en-suite facilities, TV, free Wifi, hairdryer, refreshments etc and very reasonably priced. The superb breakfast is served in the kitchen or verandah which has magnificent views over the Wylye valley and beyond. Becky is a warm, convivial and attentive host who made me feel at home. I shall certainly stay again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebekah M, Owner at Westover House, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words; such lovely feedback does make the hard work worthwhile. Hopefully see you again soon.

Kind regards

Becky

Tip for other travelers one of our rooms has a separate but private shower room, so is not ensuite - please do check when booking.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

What a wonderful place to stay. I was visiting Longleat with my mum and wanted a one night stay convenient for the drive back. I saw previous reviews and was confident about my choice even before we arrived. I warmed to Becky even before our stay through a phone conversation, such a genuine person. A beautiful house in a wonderful location. Our hosts were warm and friendly, ready with local knowledge whenever asked. Our room was spotless and most comfortable, the breakfast so filling there was no need for lunch. We would have been happy to stay longer. I will definitely be staying here again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebekah M, Owner at Westover House, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are so lucky being so close to Longleat and having two pubs within walking distance of the B&B. We hope to see you and your mum again for another visit - perhaps a summer one so you can enjoy the rose garden.

Kind regards

Becky
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Warminster hotels
1.7 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
847 reviews
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Warminster
Travelodge Warminster
#2 of 3 in Warminster
566 reviews
1.8 mi away
Home Farm Boreham
Home Farm Boreham
#1 of 24 in Warminster
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Old Bell Inn
The Old Bell Inn
#7 of 24 in Warminster
240 reviews
3.4 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#6 of 24 in Warminster
313 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 1 in Heytesbury
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Westover House

Property: Westover House
Address: Westover House High Street | Heytesbury, Warminster BA12 0EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Warminster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Warminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Westover House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Westover, situated in the beautiful Wylye Valley with picture postcard views. We are a small family run B&B with high quality rooms. Guests are welcome to wonder our grounds, play in the paddocks or relax in the rose garden. We are ideally situated for visits to Longleat, Stonehenge, Stourhead and nearby Bath and Salisbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Westover House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westover House Warminster, UK - Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing