We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, great staff; let down by food.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Walnut Tree Inn
Ranked #15 of 24 Warminster B&B and Inns
durham
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great room, great staff; let down by food.”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We stayed for two nights. We were expecting a village type pub; this one is not a typical village pub. It does seem popular with locals. The staff were friendly.
When we booked in, there were sweet wrappers in the bin in our room, and only half a toilet roll.
We booked a table for food for 8pm. At 9pm we were told that the order had not gone through, but that all three chefs were working on it now. I wished they hadn't bothered. The chips were barely cooked, nor were wife's new potatoes - a very poor start. Booked a table for 9pm the following night. The chips and potatoes both under-cooked, steak quite a poor cut, the pepper sauce was too runny, and the pastry on the vegetable pie was hard. We were offered a "half" by way of compensation.
I must say though that the breakfasts on both mornings were superb.

Room Tip: The Sycamore room is at the front. Sleep is disrupted by noise from road, patrons outside and noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baldyskull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    27
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
26
46
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2012

After a day at longleat we stayed in the kingsize 'walnut' room.Huge,beautifully decorated,beautiful surroundings,spotlessly clean.owners offer everything u could possibly ever need,newspapers offered and even a mini fridge if u have a baby!we ate in the restsurant for evening meal (book its packed!) and breakfast,lovely homecooked fresh food at a very reasonable price.best bnb I have ever stayed in :)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welshlaura31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Very friendly, good food, good breakfast and good value for money. The room was very clean, spacious and the bed comfortable. My only minor criticism is that the shower was small but the room and bathroom were both of a very good size.
We stayed here when visiting Stourhead which is a 5 minute drive away.
I would recommend staying here for sure, we were well looked after! Thankyou

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne_and_IanKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Nice friendly welcome greets you here - and it's not a one off either because this has happened every time I have arrived. Excellent food and reasonably priced. Well worth a detour off the A303 for a great lunch or supper.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Myself and my partner stayed here 1 night over the jubilee bank hols. We choose this pub/accomodation as it was close to Longleat and the rooms looked excellent standard for pub accomodation and we were not disapointed!
We arrived on Sunday 2nd June at 4.30pm were greeted by Sam the Manager she was very kind and showed us up to the room, the rooms were out of the way upstairs nbo noise can be heard and you have to have a pass key to get to the room accomodation so there is no fear of anyone just wondering upstairs. We had booked a table for 8pm it was busy downstairs as the Sunday carvery was on looked nice but we didnt fancy that.They do have a Sunday menu however it was the normal pub choice ham, egg chips ect compared to what we had seen on their website. We asked Sam if that was the onl;y menu but she was very kind and said if we have the ingrediants in stock then we can make somethings from the main menu we thought this was going above and beyond and we defiently knew we had made the right decision staying here.
The food was lovely, rooms were clean,modern and had everything you needed they even said in the welcome pack that they had a wii console if needed it! How many hotels do that!
Breakfast in the morning was served till 11am which was great for us as we are late risers, there was a choice of different breakfasts which again did not disappoint. All the staff were very freindly!
Would defiently stay here again and recommend to friends : )

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KC_TravelBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed here on a Sunday the day before going to center parcs in Longleat and chose The Walnut Tree for its close proximity to CP and other tourist attractions (Stourhead etc). I had a carvery which was great - some experienced locals managed to cram about 3 dinner's worth onto one plate! My family was jealous of my choice once their meals arrived, which is not to say their food wasn't good, just that the carvery is excellent.

The rooms are very nicely decorated, clean etc with great facilities - only negative is that our room could have done with an A/C unit.

We also had breakfast the following morning, which is made to order and set us up very nicely for the day ahead.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merthyr Tydfil
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Very friendly place, fantastic staff, rooms are of a high standard. We were on a cycling trip and the location was excellent. Good value food.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlegems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warminster
9.4 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
840 reviews
1.0 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#2 of 2 in Mere
136 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Weymouth Arms
The Weymouth Arms
#4 of 24 in Warminster
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Castleton House
Castleton House
#1 of 2 in Mere
209 reviews
6.7 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#6 of 24 in Warminster
311 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Bath Arms
The Bath Arms
#3 of 24 in Warminster
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Walnut Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Walnut Tree Inn

Property: The Walnut Tree Inn
Address: Walnut Tree Inn Shaftesbury Road | Mere, Nr Stourhead and Longleat, Warminster BA12 6BH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Warminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Warminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Walnut Tree Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful family owned and run traditional pub and restaurant with rooms in the beautiful village of Mere. Just off the A303 and ideally situated for visiting Stourhead and Longleat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Walnut Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Walnut Tree Inn Warminster, UK - Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing