We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Walnut Tree Inn
Ranked #15 of 24 Warminster B&B and Inns
Surrey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Five star room”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed here with our two year old daughter after spending the day at Longleat Safari. The Oak room was well decorated and very spacious. It has all the five star personal extras including complimentary home made cookies! Only complaint was our room was very hot so make sure you find out how to switch off the heating!
At only £60.00 including breakfast in the morning, absolute bargain, do not hesitate to book at the Walnut Tree Inn.

Room Tip: Oak room is very spacious with a great bath and power shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NFL1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    27
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
26
46
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We stayed in the Walnut room at the Walnut Tree Inn and were very impressed. The room was spacious and well decorated with a large bathroom. The bed was comfortable and there was a good selection of drink making facilities (before our one year old destroyed them). Despite our small children’s best efforts to redecorate the bar with their food, the staff were always very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was especially good, particularly the scrambled eggs and the bacon.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012 via mobile

Just got back from spending 2 nights at the Walnut Tree Inn. We wanted somewhere nice, clean & close to Longleat, & that's exactly what we got. The Sycamore room isn't big, but there is plenty of storage. The bed is large which we found it very comfortable. The tea & coffee supplies were plentiful. The room comes with a flat screen TV, & a modern up to date bathroom with separate shower, & a good selection of toiletries. Even though the room faces the road we didn't find this a problem even with the window open. This isn't a busy road. The only downside we found was the bathroom drainage isn't on the mains, & we found this quite noisy.
As for the restaurant, the food was fantastic. The breakfast was freshly cooked, with lots of variety. We ate in both nights, which were both busy nights, yet a table was found for us with no problem. The carvery on Sunday night was well worth the money.
For the price we paid we had great value for money, yes we could have stayed at a chain of hotels for only slightly less, but we wouldn't have got the personal touches.
The Inn is about 15 mins drive from Longleat, so it's ideally located.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 3008mcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012 via mobile

Loved it, had such a lovely room! Wish we stayed more than one night. There Needs to be more places like this around. Staff were friendly . Was painting going on in the morning but wasn't a problem at all, lovely breakfast aswell .

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank becky1990_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We just returned from a 4 night stay and have mixed feelings, We were treated very well by the friendly, attentive and hard working staff. The room (We stayed in the "Sycamore" ) was clean, very well appointed and had an excellent en~suite bathroom with high quality fittings. The Food was top class and very well presented.
The negatives were more irritating than anything serious.
First, that lovely bathroom, because the room is not connected to the main waste system, ALL waste water from bath, shower, basin and toilet pass through a noisy macerator. Then, the subdued lighting in the bathroom is very tasteful but not ideal for shaving.
The bedroom itself is too small for a chair or sofa so apart from a stool at the dressing table, so we had to sit on the bed to read or watch TV.
The road outside the Walnut Tree is by no means a busy main road but on warm nights, the windows need to be open (No Air con) and the traffic noise is very intrusive, tractors and lorries completely drowning out the TV or radio, to be fair, there is not much the owners can do about this. Again, to be fair we had a decent nights sleep Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday BUT Thursday night was a bit more of a challenge, There was a lot of "bumping and banging" going on between 10 and 11 pm, the noise seemed to be from directly below our room. I got dressed, went downstairs and asked about the disturbance, the staff were very apologetic and said the noise was probably from the kitchen and they sorted the problem immediately. 30 minutes later, a fire alarm sounded, this turned out to be an electrical issue that took some time to resolve.
The next morning, a letter of apology had been delivered to our room and I genuinely felt that the staff had done all they could to rectify an unfortunate couple of events.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Just returned from a 3 day 2 night break at this very nice pub style hotel.

A little out of the way. But! well worth the visit.

Recommended for a short break with No! hesitation

Room Tip: All rooms equally as good as each other. We had the Walnut suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 99CEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

What more can I say-a great Sunday carvery-well cooked hot delicious food! Perfect!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah_jane_long
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warminster
9.4 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
842 reviews
1.0 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#2 of 2 in Mere
136 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Weymouth Arms
The Weymouth Arms
#4 of 24 in Warminster
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Castleton House
Castleton House
#1 of 2 in Mere
210 reviews
6.7 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#6 of 24 in Warminster
311 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Bath Arms
The Bath Arms
#3 of 24 in Warminster
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Walnut Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Walnut Tree Inn

Property: The Walnut Tree Inn
Address: Walnut Tree Inn Shaftesbury Road | Mere, Nr Stourhead and Longleat, Warminster BA12 6BH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Warminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Warminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Walnut Tree Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful family owned and run traditional pub and restaurant with rooms in the beautiful village of Mere. Just off the A303 and ideally situated for visiting Stourhead and Longleat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Walnut Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Walnut Tree Inn Warminster, UK - Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing