We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Undercooked and underwhelmed”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Weymouth Arms

Weymouth Arms
Ranked #3 of 74 Restaurants in Warminster
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, European, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: pub with rooms and fabulous food
Catterick
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Undercooked and underwhelmed”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Cold, undercooked chicken dish with a poor attitude from the staff

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCatterickComrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    33
    12
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warminster, United Kingdom
1 review
“I cannot recommend this place enough :0)”
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Back in the summer a friend told us that the Weymouth had been taken over and relaunched as a restaurant (it used to be a pub) so we decided to try it as there aren't many good English restaurants within walking distance of town.

Wow. I was completely blown away. The pub had been completely transformed - I would never had recognised it from its days as a sticky floored borderline underage drinking hole. It's now a well decorated, traditional inn, with open fires and a lovely walled garden plus a under cover smoking hut. The menu was exciting, seasonal & delicious. We knew right there and then that we'd found our regular restaurant!

We've been going back there ever since... The menu changes regularly and the quality is consistently as good if not better than that of our first meal. I've had some of my most favourite meals here! In fact we had our wedding party here too! They have a function room upstairs with its own bar, again the food was delicious and we tailored the menu to what we thought our guests would like.

They have a great wine list, good ales with a regularly changing guest ale. The staff are always friendly and helpful... I'm struggling to find something negative to say about the place... Oh they're very generous with their potato portions! I have to make sure I leave some so I've got room for desert!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisMorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Usual Christmas meal”
Reviewed 10 December 2011

We had our works Christmas party here (party of fifteen), as recommendations from others was great. What a disappointment, on arriving we passed all the nice welcoming seating downstairs and made our way to a plain room upstairs. It was cold and missing the usual Christmas decorations, obviously made up at the last minute to accommodate more customers than they should. The starters arrived and despite having previously booked the food, was asked after the first five had been produced, if everyone had what had been ordered. The prawns and smoked salmon were fine, but you can't really get that wrong. The main course arrived and the roast potatoes clearly had been re-heated as they were rock hard. Also on my plate was mash potato, why both, and the casserole meat was very dry despite being swamped in gravy. The sweat course arrived and the chocolate cake was again very dry, how can you get this wrong as this was clearly bought in.
I cannot understand over stretching the facilities and producing an appalling meal, surely the best advert for next years bookings is a good meal. After all we had booked the food atleast a week before and not just ordered on the night. What a disappointment, will certainly not return.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luckystarWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Meal”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Cosy ambience
Superb menu - seasonal content
Excellent presentation
Good wine list
Great value for money
Excellent service

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Weymouth Arms also viewed

Warminster, Wiltshire
Warminster, Wiltshire
 
Warminster, Wiltshire
 

Been to Weymouth Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing