We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't beat the quality”

Thai Rice Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 74 Restaurants in Warminster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$24
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: We are a well established small run family business with over 11 years of service. We provide Authentic SE Asian cuisine (mainly Thai) using high quality ingredients. Main dishes are cooked fresh to order, meaning any preferences or ingredients can be adjusted to customer liking if asked for. We try to be gluten free where possible(recommended by Coeliac Society)and we do not use MSG in any of our cooking.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“You can't beat the quality”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have been taking our 2 children here as well as eating as a couple for a number of years now and ordering takeaways. We were devastated when they had there kitchen fire, so were the children. We were very happy when they reopened a couple of months ago not because there are no other decent restaurants to eat in in Warminster because there are.
I would not say this restaurant has the greatest service or the best surroundings in Warminster but as far as I am concerned the actual quality of the food is 2nd to none in the area. It is the sort of place where I would be happy to go and get the food out the kitchen myself, take back the empty plate and even wash it up as It is the food we go here for over everything else. Not only is the quality extremely good but as with all good Thai food it is very healthy so we prefer taking our children here rather than anywhere else due to this fact.
It is also very reasonably priced for the size of the portions you get sometimes our 2 children will Just share 1 starter and a Chicken Phad Thai which is enough for the both of them and works out at £5 each which to us is very good value.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Adrian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pha E, Owner at Thai Rice Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 October 2014
Thank you very much for your review. After being in business nearly 10 years and running reasonably well we too were disappointed when we had our kitchen fire and had to close for what seemed like forever. Thank you for noticing the quality of the Ingredients we use, we especially only ever use good quality meats. Our Beef always comes from our local butcher and is a very good cut of Topside, our Chicken is 100% with no salt or water added, our Pork is only from specific cuts and the Duck is always of the highest quality. As you also rightly point out Thai food is one of the healthiest cuisines to eat in the world as it is cooked differently to most other cuisines even those also in South East Asia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    19
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
446 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Modern and Pleasant”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Recently reopened after a fire it is good to see that not too much has changed.

Welcoming and helpful staff, pleasant surroundings and an interesting menu all make for an enjoyable evening out. This was an extremely good introduction to Thai food for one of our party.

Prices are very reasonable. All food is freshly cooked in house which is obvious from the quality.

Well worth a visit.

Parking is up the side by the Masons and appears adequate

Excellent takeaway dishes too, could do with an on-line presence though

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pha E, Owner at Thai Rice Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 October 2014
Thank you for your review. Yes thankfully there was not too much damage done to front of house from the fire and as we had only redecorated 6 months before it does have a more modern feel to it than it did before. You are right in that you point out all our main dishes are cooked to order from fresh this can sometimes mean in busier times there is a bit more of a wait than the restaurants that do not do this. Our policy is to always make sure that the customers who book or our already eating do not have there meal spoiled by Just taken orders and putting the Kitchen under pressure and making customers wait what we think is to long for there meal. As a small business we always try to point out booking a table or even booking a takeaway is not Just for the customers convenience but greatly helps us and does not leave customers disappointed. Yes we could do with an online web page for our business for our business to help customers but we would certainly never go down the route of companies such as Just-eat etc as our food is far to good for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We wanted something different for dinner tonight as we were bored of the usual pub food on offer by many places in this area, so we went for Thai Rice. What a magnificent decision that was!!

A great selection of food on offer and, frankly, some of the best thai food I have eaten.

Service was courteous and efficient and the food arrived quickly and it was delicious. If you are looking for something different in Warminster then you must give this place a try.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jude_the_stadium_cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pha E, Owner at Thai Rice Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 October 2014
Thank you for your review. It is always great that when someone from London comes to our restaurant acknowledges that it is one of the best Thai restaurants they have been to as there is so much variety in London when it comes to Thai restaurants that to put up there with the best of them is a big compliment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The restaurant is now open again after being closed due to a kitchen fire. If you like authentic Thai food or perhaps would like to try Thai food for the first time then this is the ideal restaurant. It is family run. The food is always fresh and delicious. The owner who works front of house will advice you about the menu if needed. The food is fresh and delicious, cooked to order by his wife.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank valashby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pha E, Owner at Thai Rice Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 October 2014
Thank you for your review. As you point out I am always happy to advise people who are either trying Thai food for the first time or want to experiment away from there usual choice. As you also point out our food is always fresh and cooked to order.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Liked: speedy service and great food at fantastic price
The location was fun, on the first floor above the bath crowd
Disliked: nothing

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Rice Restaurant also viewed

Warminster, Wiltshire
Warminster, Wiltshire
 
Warminster, Wiltshire
 
Warminster, Wiltshire
Warminster, Wiltshire
 

Been to Thai Rice Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing